Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride!

Favorite Features

  • Easy to Use
  • Environmentally safe

Sizing It Up
Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on

View Product Label

Customers Also Shopped For
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
Description:
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun ...
Description:
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun and all types of insects. Favorite Features 270 g polyester fabric Twin chest straps Hidden front surcingle Adjustable and removable leg straps Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement Generous tail flap for ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight ...
Description:
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight flysheet that is sure to keep your horse comfortable this summer. Offers head to tailProtection from insects, UV rays and dirt. Favorite Features 95% UVProtection Soft-knitted polyester Includes removable neck cover Azure ...
SmartBug-Off Ultra is ideal for sensitive horses and ...
Description:
SmartBug-Off Ultra is ideal for sensitive horses and for any horse living in an area with an abundance of insects. To help deter biting insects, this formula provides higher levels of garlic, brewer’s yeast, and apple cider vinegar than the ...
The Pyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 ...
Description:
The Pyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 horsepower electric motor-driven pump controlled by a solid state electronic timer. This timer is programmed to dispense an insecticide formulation in the form of a very fine mist at specific intervals through ...
The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills ...
Description:
The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills for the Pyranha Spray Master System. Developed over 30 years ago using the highest quality pyrethroids, HP is a premium formulation that has set the bar for effective automatic flying insect control ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Deo Lotion is rated 4.550295857988166 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love that it's Natural!! This works very well for fly control!! It doesn't cause my sensitive horse to react to the product!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works immediately. repels bugs Love this product in all its firms, the gel is great
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo Gel is great I use the deo lotion gel on my horses' midlines where the flies like to bite and also around lower legs. It works well. I have also used the spray concentrate for over 15 years and find it works as well as the ones with toxic chemicals - and it smells great!
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing and expensive After reading reviews, thought this might be worth a try. Directions suggest dilution of 1/7 but I opted for 1/5. First of all, the concentrate does not mix easily or well with water, and separates every time you let it sit. But what is worse, it does NOT do a particularly good job of repelling flies. It smells great--but maybe the flies think so too. I don't think it works for longer than 30-45 mins. I'll stick with something cheaper.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I was hesitant at first but tried it and I love it. Works as well or better than more expensive brands.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well by thought it was a concentrate I thought I was buying a concentrate test could be mixed with water It works but is expensive
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good - I'm re-ordering I just can't use chemical sprays. I'm sensitive to something in them, every time I try using a traditional spray, I feel yucky the rest of the day. So I need to use alternatives. Plus, the bugs are so bad right now, it doesn't even seem to matter what you put on: nothing stops a horse fly. I think this stuff works relatively well, at least for a short time. This stuff is a better value than stuff like the Absorbine Green. That stuff costs $20 or so a bottle, while this concentrate will get you several bottles worth. The packaging says you can dilute it up to 1:7, but as a previous reviewer said, I dilute it about 1:4. I've tried making my own fly sprays but they usually smell funky, and this stuff smells nice. Plus, by the time you buy your own essential oils, which are $$ by themselves, you're not really saving any money. This stuff smells nice and is easy to mix up.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A better dilution solution... After committing to using only non-toxic repellents a couple of years ago, and having a horse with pretty severe culicoides allergies (sweet itch, or whatever you want to call it), I have tried nearly every natural repellent on the market. I vastly prefer anything that comes in a concentrate so that I don't have to have giant bottles of mostly water shipped to me all the time- so CLAC gets a lot of points for that right off the bat.In terms of performance, I'd call it satisfactory for the natural repellents- which are never as effective as the uber-toxic ones, but hopefully won't give you or your animals brain damage if you have to use as much repellent as I do with an allergic mare.BUT... I find it works best at approximately a 1:4 dilution (I use a little less than 1 cup concentrate plus a little less than 4 cups of water in a 32 oz spray bottle), applied at least twice a day, to be effective for mosquitoes and gnats- which are the main species I need to repel in my area. At this dilution it costs about the same as most mid-range fly sprays on the market. If you use it stronger it's definitely more effective, but gets a bit cost prohibitive.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I was hoping DEO lotion would be much more effective on my two horses. One is retired but the other one I ride. I doused my riding horse with the lotion via spraying it on and it kind of worked for one ride. It also left blotches of wet spots on his hair (we weren't showing so it was no big deal). My biggest insect issue this year is a small biting/stinging fly that attacks the lower front legs and belly. Our climate this year has been vastly different from before and I'm not sure what these critters are or how to stop them. My horses have been doing lots of stomping in their stalls and turnouts. Mosquito Halt didn't work either!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient against gnats and smells great This product helps against the tiniest flies that eat my horse alive in unmentionable areas. I like the smell too. It probably should be diluted a bit if your horse has sensitive skin.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works Our trainer recommended Clac. It is working great against biting insects in MO. We also sent some to my sister in SC where she says it is great for their biting nats! A little goes a long way too.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price! This is my go to fly spray in the summer in Michigan. Works great for flies at roughly $5 per spray bottle (28 oz using 1 to 6 ratio). Just note it doesn't do much for mosquitoes. I use Mosquito Halt for that.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing outstanding for such high-priced stuff. Expected way more protection because of the description (and price), but the 1:7 ratio didn't keep the flies away any better than any other product I've used. Feel like I wasted my money. Next batch I'll mix 2:6 and see if that makes a difference. It may be all natural stuff but it's got a very strong chemical smell.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even repels horseflies I've used this product for over 15 years, and love it. There is ONE BIG concern that people need to be aware of. If you have a lot of Japanese Beetles in your area, understand that this product will ATTRACT them to your horse. I use it in the years we have low JB populations. Some horses react rather violently to a JB landing on them as if it was a horsefly. It's a dark flying insect, similar size to a horsefly. Horses aren't so good at identifying insect species - they're just worried it's going to bite them. No repellent works better, IMO.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff!!!Used this spray it in a buggy area and the bugs did not even come near my horse. This spray is awesome.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far working really well! We used this stuff years ago and for the longest time I couldn't find it. I remembered it as being potent and effective. So I ordered it. It's REALLY potent- when the box arrived I could smell it and thought that maybe it had spilled in the box. It hadn't. I was just able to smell it through the sealed bottle, the plastic bag, the crumpled paper AND the cardboard box. It's strong but doesn't have a horrible smell. So I watered it down 1:4 to see how effective that would be and determine if that was too strong/weak. It seems to work well for me at this concentration level. Repels flies well and when I manage to actually spray a fly it falls over and dies. It seems to hold up to mild sweating but I can't say for sure after heavy sweating- I usually just reapply. Very cost effective- the initial bottle is kinda pricey but when you water it down you get many more bottles out of that one.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good alternative to chemicals This actually works ok for a chemical free repellent. I got the concentrate so I can mix it appropriately acording to my horses sensitivity.
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally affordable bug spray that works Concentrated to give more effective bug prevention
Date published: 2015-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than anything else This is my second year using this stuff. You mix it as concentrated as suits your needs and it keeps the flys, but especially, the knats off. Their coats gleam and I think they even like the smell. I sure do. My vet tells me that pyrethrins break down within 15 minutes in sun light. This stuff lasts all day. And the price is right - I'm paying less than $4 for a quart of spray.
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from smart flex sr great Deo lotion not I bought this and the flies are still in love with my horse I wipe it on with a rage or sponge and the seem to love him ..
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smells great, average performance.. Bought this at a show after the horrible realization that I had forgotton to pack my own fly spray for my more sensitive thoroughbred gelding. The perks: it smells fantastic and is easy to apply, especially the lotion! Great for areas that you don't necessarily want to spray, i.e. their face. The downsides: while it was certainly better than the alternative of just going fly-spray-less, I was a bit under-enthused with the performance, especially for the price. I noticed my horse developed some irritated skin on his chest where we had applied it, which luckily was taken care of after a good bath.Final verdict? Not necessarily worth the extra money. I'll probably be sticking to the more traditional sprays, or trying Smartpak's new proprietary brand this year.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff! I was told by a friend of mine about this product, and let me try her lotion on my horses, the horses love it! Plus the smell is so good, I use it on myself! Keeps the bugs off their faces and legs, conditions their skin, gives them a pretty shine, and doesn't leave a greasy residue! It's great! I'll always have it in my barn!
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product-effective and pleasant to use I purchased this product after reading about it on the blogs/forums on smartpak's website. Several people recommended it for horses with a sensitive coat. My older Haflinger gelding has been having more allergy and coat issues this past summer. This product has been a very effective repellent for insects. It has a pleasant citronella odor, and has been non-irritating for my horse. It is somewhat pricey, but it definately works!
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from smells good We have tried several types of fly sprays, most recently this one. Unfortunately, we have yet to find one we are totally satisfied with. Maybe we are expecting too much, or perhaps our Pennsylvania flies are just incredibly aggressive.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fly Repellent I bought CLAC for my horses because it's safe enough that I can even use it on myself and my dogs. My horses have absolutely no problems with me spraying or wiping CLAC on them, it's as if they know it will not harm them. It is a good product for deterring the bugs and smells great.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for my sensitive tb! I've been buying this for years. It does not make my very sensitive thoroughbred mare break out in hives. It smells great! It works decently for not being a very harsh fly spray
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Since I don't use harsh chemicals on my horse this product is a good alternative. It repels flies and mosquitoes, and smells nice too!
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non-irritating spray for sensitive coats Bought a small bottle for my allergic Haffie, trying to rule out allergens, and saw this product recommended on a Smartpak discussion forum. Citronella smell is pleasant, and it is non-irritating, and good defense against bugs! I just ordered a bigger bottle!
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I have used this for years. My horses prefer it because it keeps the flies away but it is not harsh like the ones with alcohol.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly protection So far I have bought three bottles of CLAC this year. It's amazing how different my horses will react to a fly spray that is not horrible for them. CLAC is so safe I can use it. When I spray my horses they just stand still waiting for me to finish, but if I approach them with a horrible chemical spray they fuss and leave me. I apply CLAC in the morning and again at night around dinner time it keeps the bugs at bay. I can actually breath while spraying them without a problem which is also something I can not do with the horrible chemical sprays. I will wheeze for days. I use the cream and the roll on also. It's a safe product.
Date published: 2014-08-11
  • 2016-08-26T11:28CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_1518, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders