Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

DeNiro Salento Field Boot

DeNiro Boot Company
- Item #21091
For guaranteed delivery on Drop Ship styles by 12/25/16, order must be placed by 10/30/16
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The DeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely handmade riding boot that features DeNiro's superb performance and quality. All DeNiro Boots are made with grain calfskin leather inside and out. Every boot undergoes the unique Water Resistant Advanced Treatment (WRAT) for the leather sole as well as the outside leather. The treated leather still retains it's breathability, allowing sweat to escape, while preventing outside water from seeping in. Activated Carbon Insoles have a natural antibacterial action, while the mid-sole is made of natural leather and has a high sweat absorbent power keeping your feet clean and dry. Vibram anti-slip outer soles keep your feet secure in the stirrups, even in the worst weather.

Favorite  Features

  • Exquisite Italian calfskin WRAT leather preserves long-lasting color, durability, and water-resistant protection
  • Grain calfskin lining provides superior quality 
  • Full length rear zipper with bottom zip guard is powered by a flexible spine to preserve the shape 
  • Elastic panel along back zipper allows for a comfortable, conforming fit
  • Reinforced external leg enhances durabilty 
  • Inner sole with activated carbon absorbs shock and provides a comfortable fit
  • Full leather sole with durable Vibram outsole
  • Drop design top

Made in Italy.

Sizing It Up


Customers Also Shopped For
Dubarry Trinity Cableknit Socks feature a cable knit ...
Dubarry Trinity Cableknit Socks feature a cable knit fold down decorative top. Favorite Features 95% Cotton/5% Elastane knitted sock body Machine washable on a wool cycle up to 40 degrees Dubarry sewn on woven label. Imported Sizing It Up
Specifically designed to meet the needs of riders, ...
Specifically designed to meet the needs of riders, this sock will start your ride out on the right foot. Favorite Features Anti-friction yarns to prevent chafing and rubs Helps neutralize odors Moisture wicking Stylish detailing Made in Italy Sizing It ...
Designed for use during high impact, high speed ...
Designed for use during high impact, high speed disciplines such as cross country, the Smart Event Boot is lightweight, water repellent, and offers exceptional levels of 360 degreeProtection in addition to a breathableNeoprene lining. Favorite Features Tri-layer tendon and cannon ...
Outer Construction These boots feature an outer shell ...
Outer Construction These boots feature an outer shell made from German grade BASF TPU designed to withstand the rigors of riding while remaining flexible to move with a horse's natural movement. The dual hardness outer strike guard is carefully engineered ...
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The ...
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The Medici Paddock boot combines high-class European styling and precise elegance, with exquisite aniline calfskin leathers. This combination gives you a timeless edge to unrivalled refinement and enduring comfort. Tredstep 's specialized TMI ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der Dau Boot Stretch Spray helpsSoften and permanently stretch all leathers or suede. It helps relieve tight boots or half chaps. The unique formula willSoften even the stiffest boot or shoe, making it ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


DeNiro Salento Field Boot is rated 4.5588235294117645 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been riding in these boots for 8 months now. I wear them every ride and the leather has help up unbelievably well. I walk in them all the time. Somedays they get pretty muddy or wet, yet they still are in mint condition. However, I think thats partly due to the fact that I condition them so frequently. In general, the leather is thick enough so that it durable but supple enough so that they look nice. The Spanish top is beautiful and the fit of the calf is on point for me. When I got them, I couldn't even zip them up. When I did for the first time, I couldn't even keep them on for long because I thought I would lose circulation in my legs. However, now the calf fits very well. My only complaint is sort of strange as it has only been happening to one of the boots. For some reason, I had an issue with the zipper staying up on my left boot only. The zipper works completely fine (or at least I think) , but the little rubber zipper keeper that wasn't holding it up properly and eventually broke after a month. I got it fixed and it broke again. So then I replaced both them with leather zipper holders. Now even the leather one broke. I don't know why that would happen. The zippers work fine, the boot fits fine, but for some reason the left boot keeps on unzipping in my ride, and my zipper holder keeps breaking. It's pretty embarrassing when you're in a clinic or at a show. It's also just plain annoying in the middle of your ride! However, I still give this boot 4 stars because I don't think this is the usual case with these boot. I think it's just the unlucky left boot that I got. Other than that, the boots are great. Even though the leather won't drop a ton, I encourage you guys to size down if you're in between sizes because with time, the boot will mold to your leg. Definitely a flattering boot especially in the calf.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought these less than 6 months ago and have had problems ever since. It took 5 months for these to get delivered with my delivery continuing to get pushed back and once I got them the zipper on the right boot wouldn't stay up. I still have to stop at least 4 or 5 times during my ride to zip it up again. The only way to get a replacement is to send mine back and not have any boots to ride in for however long it takes for my new ones come in which isn't doable. With that being said they are very comfortable and look great on!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Look nice, not so comfortable I bought these boots a year ago and they fit perfectly. After about maybe 10 rides in them, the zippers broke. I had heard that DeNiro zippers weren't the best quality so I had industrial zippers put in. After a year of riding and showing in them, the leather is still very stiff and they haven't dropped a bit (normally I like that, but they still cut the back of my knees.) The leather around the ankle bunches a bit and is uncomfortable to ride in. I take very good care of them so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. They look lovely but haven't become the boots I had hoped.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible quality! I bought these boots a few years ago, and got the regular calf and short height. Since then I've lost a bunch of weight and grown an inch or two, so they don't fit very well anymore (to absolutely no fault of the boot, they hold their shape quite nicely), so I ride in them at home. Every day. Often more than one horse. And I'm pretty mean to them, I don't clean them as often as i should, or keep trees in the, I just throw them around, and whenI actually do clean them, they still look brand new! Any other boot should be unwearable by now, but these hardly show any wear. They break in immediately, and are by far some of the best quality boots out there.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! Great fit, great value and super comfortable right out of the box! Wore them once before showing in them with no problems. I also like the zipper stays. I love these boots!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful semi-custom fit at a great price! I bought these boots for show only a few months ago and I love them! As others have mentioned there is almost not break in time. When ordering I wasn't sure what size to go with because my measurements were sort of inbetween sizes. The rep recommended I go with a medium calf/regular height. I almost ordered that size but thought better of it (never size up in boots if you want a custom fit). I ended up getting the slim calf, extra tall height (originally ordered tall but was back ordered for over 6 months!) and they fit perfectly. They were a touch tight out of the box but broke in flawlessly. The extra tall is maybe a touch too tall for me (I am 5'9" and typically wear a "tall" height boot or half chap) but I really don't mind as they have dropped a bit and are not uncomfortable behind my knee at all.The only downside to these boots in my opinion is the wait time to get them if your size is not in stock. They are totally worth it though to get a semi-custom boot for under $700. Awesome bargain!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I'm impressed I've had these boots for about a month. There was 0 break in time, pretty much right out of the box they were comfortable. And they actually fit my short, wide calf! It took me 4 tries to find a brand that fit without getting something custom. Seem to be high quality. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars yet is because I want to see how long they last...am really hoping for the price they will last longer than my Ariats, which I only got 3 seasons out of.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful I haven't ridden in them (need to exchange for the size down... I just ordered wrong... True to size) but they are gorgeous. I won't get them till October tho. On back order! Cannot waittttt
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I bought these boots a month ago and I love them so much! I get so many compliments on them, the new design look just like Parlantis and they're great quality! They're a bit stiff to break in but now they're really forming to my leg. I truly recommend these boots I love them so much. They're comfy, beautiful, and great quality.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable footbed and great out of the box Got these because the Tredstep didn't work too well. I have a large right calf and can't find a boot that fits. Easy to walk in and very comfortable during the ride.
Date published: 2015-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO comfy! I ordered these boots several weeks ago, they arrived in three days! I've only ridden in them but I was walking around in them for 2-3 hours total, and I don't have a single blister! The leather is like butter and fits to your calf so nicely. I'm 5'9 and have very skinny calves and ankles so I ordered a 41, XSlim, XXTall, after getting sized and they fit perfectly! I can't recommend them enough, and for almost-custom boots, the price was perfect.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I ordered these boots over a year ago and received them as expected, but I ordered them too big. I didn't think you could return them, being semi-custom, so I showed in them all summer (which I do regret). However, I emailed SmartPak about a week and a half ago and was able to exchange my boots from a size 9, XL, extra tall to a 10, L, standard. I just received these boots yesterday and they are PERFECT! I am usually a 9 in shoes and am in my schooling boots, so I think the foot runs a bit small as well as the calf. I don't have very large calves, but a large is squeezing them (as new boots should!) I also believe the boots run bit on the taller side. I am 5'11" with very long legs and a standard fits me well, and will hopefully drop just a tiny bit.The boots I returned wore like iron. I wore them in the mud (not condoning it), my foot had been stepped on, etc. Not ever a scratch. I ride 4-5 times a week on horses that require a ton of leg and these never showed signs of wearing through on the reinforced calf.Extremely pleased with my purchase and SmartPak's outstanding customer service.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and quality! I bought the DeNiro Salento Field Boots and loved how they fit. The quality of the leather is incredible.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprising boots I ordered these boots during a Smartpak sale thinking I would give them a try even though I have an extremely hard leg to fit (short, xl calves, but boots generally gap at my ankle and knee--and I NEVER find off-the-rack boots that are anywhere near a close fit), knowing that Smartpak has an excellent return policy. The boots themselves are beautiful, with a tapered-square toe that makes my feet look a bit longer, even thought the foot fits EXACTLY (giving an elegant and more balanced look to my short, xl calf). The leather is extremely soft, without being too thin, or wrinkling, and--even though they were VERY tight when I put them on (as all new boots are)--they felt almost fully broken in by my third ride. I LOVE THESE BOOTS. I have a pair of custom Tuccis on order, and only hope that I love those even HALF as much.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot These are a great option for the price. Very fitted in the ankle, giving it as close to a custom look as possible for a shelf boot. I am in between a XS and S calf and very happy I went with the XS. My only issue is that the boot was too short. I am 6'1" and ordered the Extra Extra tall. It looks OK when standing, but in the saddle they don't come up as high on the outside as I would like. Luckily, with the seam on top, I can have height added without it being noticeable.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IN LOVE These boots are amazing! Gave me blisters on the backs of my heels on the first day but after that, they felt great. Completely broke in in about 3 rides and are as comfortable as sneakers. Beautifully made. Haven't dropped more than a centimeter. I love them!
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible Customer Service! As much as I wish I could write a positive review on these boots, I can't. They fit me beautifully and are incredibly comfortable. But if you have ANY problems with these boots whatsoever, do not expect any customer service! Within just a month of purchasing these boots, the leather broke down quite a bit, and one of the spur rests completely broke off. For any kind of product this expensive, I would expect them to be replaced. Not only did they decline my many requests to get them replaced, but it took several weeks for their representative to assist me. I am currently getting them sent off to be repaired. I was so shocked and upset that DeNiro absolutely does NOT stand by their products.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots! I love everything about these boots. Extremely short break in time which is always a bonus. Be prepare to wait about 3-4 months after ordering them! They do take forever and a day to receive them but well worth it.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Love these boots. Great fit. Took 3 days to break them in. Now I wear them all day long.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! Custom look for half the price! I bought these to replace my old, worn out customs. I wear Tucci half chaps for everyday riding so wanted something of comparable quality/look but wasn't prepared to pay $1000+. So I ordered the Deniro Salentos and couldn't be happier. I am tall and slim (5'10" with a 13 in calf) I first ordered the extra extra tall/extra slim and the boots were actually TOO tall! So I sent them back and exchanged for extra tall/extra slim which fit much better. Ideally I'd like them to be about a 1/2 inch slimmer but overall I am very happy with my purchase. These boots are absolutely beautiful for any ring and I've already received many compliments. Break-in time was quick - I was showing in them a week after receiving them! So very happy I got great boots at an unbelievable price!
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a Super Slim Leg After searching and searching - and almost conceding to buy fully custom boots, these actually fit my super slim, but very tall daughter! They were slim even in the ankle! We tried pretty much every other brand on the market with no luck.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boot w/very comfortable footbed. I just got these boots and the style and craftsmanship are beautiful. Very comfortable with a little wider space for my toes but taylored nicely around the ankle to avoid the heel slipping. That's the problem I had with other boots. The zipper is heavy duty and looks very durable. The elastic panel in the Salento style book gives a little room to adjust for different breeches or socks. The sales reps were very knowledgeable when helping with sizing. Happy with my purchase!
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots! Love these boots! The look beautiful and are incredibly functional. I ride 4-8 horses every day and these boots still look brand new 6 months later.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You cannot beat this boot for the price!!!! These are just gorgeous and are breaking in easily. I LOVE that they come in an extra extra tall. I'm really happy with the boot for the price. I bought them as a "spare pair" and I'm sure that once they are broken in completely, they are going to take over as my "good pair" (and my "good pair" cost much, much, much more than this).They fit beautifully. I don't think I could have purchased custom boots that fit any better than this.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit! I can't say how happy I am with these boots! I've owned them about a month now, and they broke in with-in a week or two. I really love the height though. I am about 5'8 or 5'9 with long legs, and they are nice and tall. I usually wear a slim calf, but they were kind of big. I had to take them in, in the calf and ankle area about half an inch. Now they really are perfect. The leather is soft and beautiful along with the stitching. I love these boots. 
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fit! I got these from my local tack store recently and could not be any happier! They are incredibly elegant, well made, and durable! I'm so excited to take these into the equitation ring and cant wait to start showing in them!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Boot! I love this boot with all my heart!  Extremely comfortable footbed, and great calf fit from the elastic panel near the zipper.  Very pretty and elegant look.  Great price for the quality.  Relatively short break in time/
Date published: 2013-11-24
  • 2016-10-22T11:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_11091, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders