Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

DeNiro Dressage Boot

DeNiro Boot Company
- Item #18848
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Classic elegance, modern features and exceptional craftsmanship make the DeNiro Dress Boots stand out among
the crowd.

Four layers of leather on the outside of the boot provide a sturdy, "stovepipe" feel, ideally suited for the serious dressage rider. The zipper is thoughtfully positioned forward of center on the inside of the boot, allowing seemless contact between your leg and your horse, while still maintaining a streamlined silhouette. A slightly squared toe offers a subtle modern feel.

All DeNiro Boots are made with grain calfskin leather inside and out. Every boot undergoes the unique Water Resistant Advanced Treatment (WRAT) for the leather sole as well as the outside leather. The treated leather still retains it's breathability, allowing sweat to escape, while preventing outside water from seeping in. Activated Carbon Insoles have a natural antibacterial action, while the mid-sole is made of natural leather and has a high sweat absorbent power keeping your feet clean and dry. Vibram anti-slip outer soles keep your feet secure in the stirrups, even in the worst weather. Zipper is made and guaranteed by YKK.

Made in Italy.

Dress Boots Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The Ariat Extreme Tall H20 Insulated Boot is ...
Description:
The Ariat Extreme Tall H20 Insulated Boot is a part of Ariat's extreme weather footwear featuring advanced technology for enduring comfort, waterproof construction and insulation engineered for maximum warmth andProtection. Favorite Features Waterproof, full-grain leather and suede combined withNeoprene shaft ...
The Ariat Men's Volant Tall Front Zip is ...
Description:
The Ariat Men's Volant Tall Front Zip is made of Premium European calf leather combined with stretch mesh upper. The Volant features the reinforced Tec-Tuff heel counter and Duratread outsole.Favorite Features Oiled leather inner calf panel Overlasted construction Leather Lining ...
The Ariat Extreme Zip Paddock H20 Insulated Boot ...
Description:
The Ariat Extreme Zip Paddock H20 Insulated Boot will keep your toes toasty warm at the barn and in the saddle this winter. Favorite Features Waterproof, full-grain leather upper Waterproof membrane construction 200g Thinsulate insulation Thermal insole Moisture-wicking lining Antique ...
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The ...
Description:
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The Medici Paddock boot combines high-class European styling and precise elegance, with exquisite aniline calfskin leathers. This combination gives you a timeless edge to unrivalled refinement and enduring comfort. Tredstep 's specialized TMI ...
Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this ...
Description:
Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only do they have a sleek looking exterior, but the Ariat Volant Tall Boot Front Zip also feature ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der ...
Description:
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der Dau Boot Stretch Spray helpsSoften and permanently stretch all leathers or suede. It helps relieve tight boots or half chaps. The unique formula willSoften even the stiffest boot or shoe, making it ...
Dressage Sport Boots are excellent boots for turnout ...
Description:
Dressage Sport Boots are excellent boots for turnout or schooling. Favorite Features Heavy-duty Coverlight exterior Cordura binding around the bottom for superior resistance to wear and tear Exceptional support with fleece lining with extra thick foam padding in the strike ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

DeNiro Dressage Boot is rated 4.696969696969697 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Boots I have had these for about a month or so. I am very happy with the quality. The leather is very nice. I tend to be a very standard size in calf size and height. These fit perfectly. They are nice and stiff, so they give you support, with a thinner panel on the inner calf for excellent feel. As they are breaking in, they are becoming very comfortable. The price was very good and Smartpak was great to work with for a second pair for my harder to fit daughter. Hers are perfect now too. I'm really pleased!!
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful boot These were my first real investment in quality dressage boots and were worth every bit- they were delivered quickly, broke in easily, and I have had them for over a year now and they still look and feel great. I know other people who bought Konigs and have had them the same length of time and theirs have already begun to wear holes. Absolutely the best and for such a reasonable price! I just ordered these for myself in the brown style now too, I can't say enough good things about these boots or smartpak!
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I ordered these boots in brown last April as I wasn't sure if I'd like them so wanted to be sure before getting them for showing. I loved them so much I ordered them in black as well just received them today. And they are beautiful just like my brown pair. Easy break in and the look of a thousand dollar boot!
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love those boots! Easy to break in and comfortable, those boots offer good leg support. Combination of quality leather: soft ankle, very stiff outer calf, and softer inner calf.I went down a size and they fit me well. I wish I ordered a taller option, since they drop quite a bit, but they still look great. Considering buying another pair!
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from diniro boots The narrow calf is not extremely slim, so if your undecided, go slim calf.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best quality for a mid-price range dressage boot. These are beautiful boots and while they didn't work for me, I have a lot of details to help others. These are soft in the ankle and very stiff in the calf like traditional dressage boots should be. The boot is clearly high quality. Other reviewers noted that they were tight in the heel and narrow in the foot. I have wide feet and didn't have an issue with that, so I think most people will be okay. The issue I had and what caused me not to keep the boots was the look. I have a bigger calf (apparently XL according to their sizing) and because the boot has a narrow ankle, the look was more hunter jumper than dressage. Meaning, classic dressage boots are a little straighter up and down and hunter boots tend to show more calf and be more narrow at the ankle. My honest advice is that if you have a slender calf, then these are the best DRESSAGE boots for the price and the calf will work perfectly. If you have a bigger calf like me and want a traditional looking dressage boot, you may need to try another brand.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! Great boots and outstanding customer service! I will be shopping with smart pak again!
Date published: 2015-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit & quality This is my 2nd pair of these boots! I ride every day & I ordered a pair for schooling. I was going to order a fully custom pair for showing, but after riding in these, I decided to buy a black pair for show.The quality is excellent & the fit is almost like custom!
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boot, challenging small details I have been professionally measured for dress boots and thought that this boot would fit the bill even though the measurements were not perfect. Out of the box, this is a gorgeous boot. The calf is wonderfully stiff, the soles, zippers, all are well made. True to another reviewer - the square toe does tend to make the footbed a bit more narrow. I ordered the sz 39, slimmest calf and the extra tall - the calf was still a little big for my 13" calves and just a tad short! I probably should have ordered the "extra-extra", however the two main dealbreakers were the zipper head pressed uncomfortably on the inside of my left knee to the point where I couldn't even comfortably wear them for more than a few minutes (such a bummer!!). Also, the ankles and calf just a bit too roomy (both issues, liklely my anatomy). So, I ended up sending them back. I'm probably a little more difficult to fit. For the $$ though, this is a nice off the shelf boot!
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous semi-custom dressage boot! This boot is fantastic! I love the support they give me and now I know what the big deal is about having proper stovepipe dressage boots! The DeNiro dressage boot is stiff on the outside but has more supple leather on the inside calf. If you are used to wearing the easy to break in, softer leather zip backed dress boots that have been on the market the last 5 years, breaking in these boots may seem difficult at first.I made the huge mistake of walking around the farm in them before riding the first time I wore them. I ended up with open friction blisters on my heels by the time I finished riding! It was bad, but it was my fault. You must take the time to break them in properly.My advice is: before you take them to the barn, sparingly apply the conditioner provided with the boot to the ankle, heel and top of the foot of the boot (not the outside of the boot where it is made to be stiff). Put the boots on while you are watching TV or reading a book and flex/point/make circles with your feet repeatedly to break them in. I had to do it for 30 mins a day for a week before I could ride in them without pain. I have yet to dare to walk around the farm in them again. That said, I've had them for a month and I now love riding in them.I found the fit guide to be very helpful. I did call SmartPak's customer service to get advice since I was between sizes. They helped me pick out the perfect fit!Bottom line, if you have the opportunity to splurge on these boots do it!
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have the look of a Custom Boot I bought these for my daughter as her previous pair were done in, and show season is here. It is almost impossible to find a short dress boot, yet alone one in a wide calf. Not only does DeNiro have these, but they wisely place the zipper on the forward INNER calf where it won't have to take the abuse of a rear zipper. The wonderful Italian leather is supple, and should finish break in easily. These are a classic style that just say DRESSAGE.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely beautiful!! I ordered mine and within a week they were here, and they are absolutely gorgeous! Nice classic and elegant boots, the measurements for the sizing was very accurate, and they fit me like they're made for me! I'm tall but have small feet (5'8" and size 6-1/2 to a 7) and I went with the sevens but the multiple sizing options with calf and height they offer were perfect. Can't wait to show in these! I will definitely be ordering the brown pair to school in as soon as possible, absolutely love these boots, and appreciate the really fast service!!! Thanks smart pak!
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy to find off the shelf boots that fit! I originally purchased the standard height on these boots and had to return for the short version. So glad I did. These boots fit like custom. They are my first pair of dressage boots. I have always had custom field boots as I ride Hunt Seat. Now adding dressage to my skill set and have been looking for an off the shelf boot that would fit my wide calf and still be short enough, as I am 5'2". I am glad I found these boots! They run true to the size chart and are well constructed. I have ridden in them now twice and there has been very little break in with them. I also love the square toe as it gives my foot more room inside. I had never heard of this brand until I found them at Smartpak. Love the return policy at Smartpak. Makes purchasing boots on line easy!
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!!! The quality of these boots (e.g. leather, heel construction) is fantastic!I've ridden in them about 10 times thus far. It took about 3 rides for them to drop a tiny bit and for me to learn to keep my legs down so that I didn't have any sore points.I wear a size 7 shoe and the foot bed of these boots is a little bit of a longer size 7, but I have no complaints.I'm an Intro Dressage rider who wanted traditional Dressage boots that look great!! The toes are slightly squared, which is a nice, slight contemporary touch. I got what I wanted, and they are worth the money!!Smart Pak's return policy is great, so I felt comfortable trying two pair of dressage boots before selecting these. Also, Smart Pak has free return shipping.My trainer likes them a lot and said she will consider buying a pair too. She typically purchases dressage boots that cost over double the price of these DeNiro's. In other words, their quality and appearance are stellar!!
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DeNiro Dressage Boot I love these boots - they look and fit great, and have broken in very quickly.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing boots The adage you get what you pay for is so true. Excellent boots. Worth the price in spades.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot!! I bought these a two weeks before Christmas, I ordered a small calf which turned out to be too large. Seamlessly SmartPak switched out the return with an extra small calf and I cannot be more pleased! The extra small was still a little large but I expected that since I'm not nearly as fit during the Winter.The quality of the leather is pretty good! I love the softer feel on the inside of the calf and then the reinforced back spine and outside of the calf. It's taken about 5 rides to break in all the way, they're great!I will say though if I want to be overly picky, the little metal DeNiro button on the top of the calf is laid on a piece of leather, one of the boot's little piece of leather is probably a millimeter too large.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Heel is too hard and uncomfortable! I ordered these boots and think they are great quality leather and workmanship--unfortunately, the heel of the boot is really hard, and is shaped in a way that it presses into my heel and makes them impossible for me to wear for more than 5 minutes. I have had Koenig boots most of my life, and thought I would give these try…the Koenigs are not at all uncomfortable in the heel area, and I hadn't given the heel area a second thought. In these Deniro's, when you put your hand in the heel area, you can feel that the shape would cause discomfort. It's really unfortunate, as I think these boot are great in every other way. I am sending them back.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Worth it--No Regrets! I purchased these boots at the beginning of the year and have waited a few months to review, simply to see how well they held up and to prevent myself from giving a glowing review simply because they were new. Well, six months in and I STILL feel the same way about these boots as I did when I first got them.Like a few reviewers have mentioned, these boots have very little break-in time. They were comfortable right out of the box, and in addition to that, they feel as if they have been custom-made to my foot and leg. I have NEVER been so comfortable in a tall boot. I have owned Petries in the past and was never comfortable in them--in the saddle or out. DeNiros are marvelously luxurious while still maintaining the "stovepipe" feel that we look for in high quality dressage boots. I feel that I can move freely and easily apply subtle aids while still being supported.These boots are gorgeous, and you will certainly not regret the purchase! As someone who seldom splurges on myself, I do not regret this purchase in the slightest. They fit well, are comfortable, and are holding up to a fair amount of wear and high expectations! I anticipate having these boots (and, if budget allows, another pair!) for many years to come!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots Great for showing. These clean up well and look very classy. The boots are well made with quality material and they are holding up very well. The fit is great, I went off of my measurements and the size chart. There is virtually no wearing out of these boots and I have used them for over 7 months.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non Custom Boot, Custom Fit Wow!! I LOVE these boots!! Being only 5 feet with an athletic build, I am difficult to fit so I typically order custom boots. I went with the Extra Short, extra wide size 7 DeNiro Dress Boot. They fit like they were made for me! Fast break in time, slim ankle, beautiful high Spanish top! I ride horses from training level to Grand Prix and these boots help keep my leg in perfect position. I would highly recommend these to anyone who wants an elegant boot at an affordable price!
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WARNING! Problems abound! Nightmare experience with these boots. I waited 4 months for them, and loved them when they FINALLY arrived. They were very very beautiful - Gorgeous stiff outer calf, super soft foot leather, and fit me like a glove. I was delighted! But then the problems started.First, the break in was excruciating. The seam where the foot meets the heel crosses directly over my ankle bone, so even though the foot leather was very soft, the SEAM was hard as iron, and was excruciating to break in. Many months of hobbling around.Then, once the ankle got soft enough where my foot fell naturally against the heel, the heel is absolute IRON. I read a review that mentioned softening the heel with a rubber mallet so I asked my boot guy and he helped me, but it didn't help at all. after 6 months of wear - and I ride 6 to 8 horses a day, so I do mean WEAR the heels are still extremely hard and painful.Finally, the top of the zipper sticks out when you are in the saddle, and it will damage your saddle!Also, the snap will unsnap when you are riding and the zipper will unzip.I took these boots first to my local boot repair place, and finally sent them to Wellington Florida to a REALLY Good boot guy! In my opinion the best in the country! He said they were a "disaster!". His opinion was that the zipper was placed so far forward that no matter what you were going to have problems with the top of the zipper. He also could not believe how much hardware there was at the top of the boot. There is a huge mound of leather there! A big bumpy snap, and then a huge metal tassle sticking out to rub and scratch your saddle.After months of effort to break in these boots, and sending them to a VERY reputable and experienced shop...... I am giving up. The boots are very painful, and they still unzip while I am riding. Ridiculous. They are the most beautiful boots! But they're a wreck.The only saving grace is that Smart Pak has been AMAZING and says they will STILL taking them back, after all this. Thank you smartpak! Go with something else. Save yourself.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Boots Very nice boot. Used a bit of boot stretch product above ankle to open it up a little and they became very comfortable in just a few rides.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous boots for the price! I've had many custom made boots but I didn't want to spend another $1500+ on a pair of boots (the last ones never fit correctly.) These boots are fabulous, nice leather, elegant finish, and for me... a near perfect fit! They are close fitting in the ankle, but a shoe maker showed me how to soften them up with a mallet. Even he thought they were $1000+ boots!
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots These boots fit really well. It took me some time wearing them in the house before I tried to ride in them. Now after two months of riding I love them. They are stiff along the back, but the leather has an interesting supple quality to it. What I like most is that they are slim in the ankle. I would never buy another brand after these
Date published: 2011-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Nicely Made Boot I ordered these boots according to measuring guidelines. Once I received them and tried them on they were really too small, especially through the ankle. The length was true to size but they do run narrow in the foot and extremely narrow through the ankle. I have a small ankle and foot. The calf height was fine. I would definitely order the larger size if you are between sizes. Otherwise, they are a beautifully made boot. Just overall run a little narrow. I am ordering them a size up.
Date published: 2011-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful boots I was reluctant to buy a pair of dressage boots with a zipper as I have heard complaints from friends about how easily they break. My last pair of Ariats without a zipper have lasted many years but they were no longer making them in a short height and without a zipper. Knowing SmartPaks wonderful return policy I decided to try the DeNiro boots and I am so glad I did. They fit like a glove with very little break in time and the boot height is perfect for my short leg. They are semi-custom so there are several measurements to take, but the price is excellent! They have a beautiful, fit around the ankle. The leather is beautiful and they are very well made. The zipper on the inside front of the boot is very comfortable and doesn't show when you're riding.
Date published: 2011-03-08
  • 2016-08-31T11:05CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_8848, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders