Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Deluxe Grazing Muzzle

Item #13693
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one.

Favorite Features 

  • Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature
  • Durable rubber bottom with small opening limits grass intake while allowing unlimited water
  • Padded for comfort
  • Lightweight and resists rubbing and chafing


Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse, or Large

Sizes run slightly large so please order a size down if your horse may be in between sizes.

Customers Also Shopped For
Washable maize fleece browband and jowl Miracle Collar ...
Washable maize fleece browband and jowl Miracle Collar Fleece Covers provide extra cushioning andProtection. Browband cover simply slips over Miracle Collar's browband. Jowl covers attach with self-gripping VELCRO Brand closures. Will fit medium and large Miracle Collars.
A great tool to help with weight management ...
A great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper, this muzzle limits your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. This muzzle easily attaches to your own leather or breakaway ...
Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and ...
Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and humane, yet allows your horse to eat freely? The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle Limits unwanted behavior, such as cribbing and biting, not eating and drinking. Ultra-lightweight aluminum grill and nylon webbing is ...
The French Style Cribbing collar is the highest ...
The French Style Cribbing collar is the highest quality at an affordable price. The French Style Cribbing collar is an effective deterrent against cribbing. If selected, engraving will be on the crown. Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving. ...
Beautiful leather Nutcracker Cribbing Strap with adjustable buckle ...
Beautiful leather Nutcracker Cribbing Strap with adjustable buckle and a "nutcracker" hinge to prevent cribbing. 1" wide. One size. Dark Oil. If selected, engraving will be on the crown. Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving. Made in the ...
The Miracle Collar features a patented, anatomically correct ...
The Miracle Collar features a patented, anatomically correct fit which allows it to be worn comfortably and applies pressure only when the horse attempts to crib. As a result, horses can wear the Miracle Collar without pain or discomfort while ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is rated 3.968421052631579 out of 5 by 95.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too large, yet too small. Bought the horse size grazing muzzle for my mare who has a smallish head. Had to take the straps up all the way on the side/cheek, but the strap that goes around the throatlatch is too tight, even when let all the way out. It's going to take an extra double ended snap to make it fit safely.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit easy to put on Very durable and the best fit I have found...I use the mini size for my Shetland Pony.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does the job, but rubs My horse has had a Best Friend muzzle for several years, and she managed to make the hole at the bottom large enough to warrant buying a new muzzle. I thought this muzzle would be the same as that muzzle, however have noticed some rubs on the back of her chin from her pressing down to graze. This did not happen with the Best Friend muzzle as I think the diameter was wider, both are cob sized.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have had this muzzle a month but my horse can't wear it anymore until I get a sheepskin pad for him. His nose is raw and it is loose enough. Otherwise it has worked fine.
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't use After 3 days my gelding couldn't figure out how to graze with it so I had to send it back. Good quality, seemed true to size. He spent the 3 days trying to rub it off (on the ground, the fence, a tree, me...) He did get it off once. Maybe the hole in the bottom should be a bit larger?
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no more rubs!! this is super comfy on my guy. i love this product!
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality It's affordable and great quality. It does rub wrong on my mares face and she seems comfortable in it. Also very durable
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disaapionted I bought this for my super fat horse. It started out really well. He easily figured out how it worked and was losing weight. Then I noticed that it had started to rub under his chin. I tried paddin it but it didn't work. The muzzle part was a bit big around his nose so maybe that was the problem. Overall, nice muzzle just wish it didn't rub.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absurdly small Barely a cob sized muzzle. Not the Best Friends muzzle. Way too small and poorly made. I have no idea where the "runs large" comes from unless it's from before, when the muzzle offered was actually a quality item. Avoid.
Date published: 2015-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe Grazing Muzzle! I was worried when I first ordered it. Looked big and seemed much longer that the other muzzles. Fit perfectly for my draft horse. Doesnt rub and gives her nose extra protection from the sun and flies. Made very well and worth the money. Going to order one for my pony.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from looked too large This Deluxe Gracing Muzzle looked too large when I opened the package. I returned it in exchange for the less expensive grazing muzzle. As always, Smart Pak was very nice.
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I actually bought this muzzle to keep my playful horse from destroying his own and his buddy's blanket during turnout (his buddy is wearing one, too). It has worked like a charm and is allowing them to be turned out together again (neither enjoyed private turnout). I've had to have the stitching replaced once after only a week but my horse is pretty hard on stuff.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable enough for my full time pasture guy. Well, I wish I could say this product has worked out but my guy broke it... twice. He is a little playful but I never actually saw him rub it on anything so I'm not sure how it happened. The first time I was able to have my friend stitch the one broken piece back together. A couple weeks later multiple connections from the rubber broke and it looks like I can't fix it again.The pros: the fit was great. It looked quite comfortable on him, and after a couple days he acted like he didn't know it was even there. He always was happy to stick it nose right into it. And for the few weeks he had it on his belly did trim down a bit.Smartpak has great customer service though so I will contact them and see if there is anything I can do. Otherwise I may need to try another brand.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than Drylot Time I've used a grazing muzzle on my pony for a couple of years now. He really appreciates being able to be turned out with the big horses while still keeping his weight in check. This is the first grazing muzzle I purchased from SmartPak. I noticed that it has a deeper muzzle then some of the other brands and the lining is made of a different material. My pony seems to like the deeper muzzle because it doesn't sit on his nostrils the same. I am concerned that the lining might cause some rubbing. Time will tell.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed and made This muzzle is a great value...when you consider the consequences of a piggy mare left to her own devices...but the size is off. I had previously used a Best Friend Muzzle and our little eating machine had managed to eat the hole in the muzzle to a larger size...and eventually managed to break the link thingy that keeps it on her head. I ordered this muzzle from Smart Pak when I noticed the wear and I chose the same size she had worn in the Best Friend muzzle...she is small and wears cob sized everything else...(except her girth!) The Smart Pak muzzle cob size, although still made well, was too small and our poor piggy mare had a bloody chin from rubbing after two days (about 8 hours per day) of wearing it. So I called Smart Pak and they graciously provided me with a horse size and that one fits perfectly. So my advice would be to order the larger size if in doubt. I also put a piece of sheepskin on the vertical strap under her chin to keep the rubbing down. She has worn this new one for several weeks and the rubbing on her nose and chin is minimal. Best of all, her weight is optimal and consequently she is sound and happy.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle Beyond my expectations!'didncut the hole a bit bigger but 6 horses are keeping them on, they aren't overheating or overgrazing the pasture! Love them!!
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective weight control Fits my Quarter horse just right. Easy to adjust on his head with no wearing on his hair.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greedy mare proof! My mare is a food hound. She will blow up like a balloon if left to her own devices. So in order to let her have any access to pasture, a muzzle is necessary. I put hers on only at night on the hot days, and she has a circular movement she has perfected to snorffle all the grass she can through the hole. This slows her down yet keeps her occupied. The worst part of using the muzzle was the look on her face the first time I put it on her. But she is smart and she soon figured out I wasn't going to remove it just because she looked pathetic and focused her energy on how to get the most grass through the hole that she could.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is NOT a Best Friend Deluxe Grazing Muzzle I thought I was ordering Best Friend brand grazing muzzles, these are NOT them! This is a SmartPak brand muzzle made to look similar. The quality and make are not the same. The muzzle portion is much smaller than the Best Friend and the fit is smaller.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Darned good grazing muzzles! I have used these sturdy, safe muzzles for several years now to help manage my EMS horse. I really like them!
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both vet and farrier impressed Amigo is suffering with grass founder so needs to restrict his grazing. This muzzle fits well (one inch below his mouth) and is easily adjustable. It took three ten or fifteen minute sessions for him to stop trying to rub it off. He now wears it eight hours on pasture with his herd and all nightwith free choice hay without the muzzle in his stall
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Change in product FYI - this is no longer the Best Friend deluxe grazing muzzle. I accessed my previous orders in my SmartPak account and ostensibly ordered the same exact thing again, but it is now a SmartPak product. I decided not to keep it because I thought the bucket seemed too flimsy and prone to rubbing. Cannot say if it would work for others, but I didn't want to run the risk.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits smaller than Best Friend I am ordering a size up because the cob size is rubbing my horse's face raw.  My horse was a cob in the Best Friend sizing.  If you were previously using best friend, be aware of the size change.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Aid! I have ponies and always have one of these muzzles on hand if their girth size gets out of hand! I live in a lush environment and I think it's important for my ponies to have plenty of pasture time. Without a grazing muzzle, some would not maintain good body condition. There are muzzles that aren't made as well as this is.....a well made muzzle will remain on your pony,so it can do itsjob :)
Date published: 2013-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purchased this muzzle for our miniature donkey. I was concerned the fit may be too large. It fit perfectly, with good space around his nose and muzzle. He has no problem drinking water and is able to graze just fine enough, but limited enough to aid in control of over eating the lush grass.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle This is a decent muzzle. Better than another I had tried. The first day he got it off twice. Than also the second day. The next day I put a halter OVER the muzzle and it has stayed on. The stitching is ripping out already in places. I hope it lasts.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nobody likes a diet, but... This is the second Deluxe Grazing muzzle I"ve owned, and having bought other brands would certainly rank it above others out there. However, some of the stitching on this particular muzzle began to unravel within a week of wear, (others of this brand did not and this mare tries HARD to get this thing off), the muzzle has caused rubs, so some sort of covering is needed. Best Friends has replacement snaps and covers for this muzzle on their website! Also, when the muzzle gets wet, the adjustment pieces WILL slip, allowing the muzzle to drop, so duct taping them in place is also necessary.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strong rubber odor This grazing muzzle looks well made, and I believe it would fit my horse, but it has such a strong rubber odor that I think the fumes would be at best unpleasant and at worst unhealthy for a horse wearing it for hours at a time. Or even minutes.I am trying to air it out before deciding whether or not to return it.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor quality, high price More expensive than the Best Friend grazing muzzle, and the quality is horrible.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grazing Muzzle After my big boned 16 hand QH destroyed a cheaper grazing muzzle I invested in this one. It has held up very well, and I am happy with it. It has left a little rub mark in what I would call the 'temple' area of his face, but the other grazing muzzles left rub marks on his muzzle/bottom lip. I had read that this muzzle runs large and I disagree, I think it runs true to size. I got the extra large and I know there are bigger horses than my guy, the size below would not have worked. It is very adjustable, I'm very happy with it, a little high in price but compared to the others I had first, it is worth it!
Date published: 2013-05-20
  • 2016-10-27T12:51CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_3693, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders