Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet Ride - Long with Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #12788
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride.

Favorite Features

  • Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader™ pasture fly mask
  • Can be worn over or under your bridle
  • Will not impair your horse's vision
  • Provides coverage of nose and ears


Sizing It Up


Customers Also Shopped For
The environmental solution to pesky flies! Fly Predators ...
The environmental solution to pesky flies! Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure areas ...
Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect ...
Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective. Favorite Features Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs Eco-Safe for the entire family Not oily or ...
Ecovet is a alternative to traditional fly products ...
Ecovet is a alternative to traditional fly products containing pyrethrins or essential oils. Research has shown that certain fatty acids act as insect attractants, while others are repellents. Ecovet uses a proprietary mixture of naturally occurring fatty acids that confuses ...
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
This finely woven neck cover offers comfortableProtection against ...
This finely woven neck cover offers comfortableProtection against flies and insects. The unique zebra print design is theorized to add additionalProtection against flies by utilizing patterns in nature thought to confuse and dissuade insects. Favorite Features Finely woven material Confuses ...
The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrumProtection ...
The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrumProtection from a wide range of flies and mosquitoes. A breakthrough combination of five active ingredients helps ward off even the most resistant insects, while giving the horse's coat a healthy, oil-free shine. ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet Ride - Long with Ears is rated 4.583333333333333 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief for bug sensitive horse I really like this fly mask for trail riding. My horse is very bug sensitive and was very annoying with the head tossing on a trail ride. Particularly if we were just walking and the bugs were in his face. I bought this and it completely fixed the problem. Also, the mesh over the eyes is thin enough that it doesn't seem to impair visibility.It is very large - I bought the warmblood size for my draft cross horse and it is plenty big. In fact maybe a little too big but it works. The nose comes down all the way past his nostrils just a bit. It is stiff enough that it doesn't lay against his nostrils (a good thing), and provides full coverage against the bugs.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riding with bugs is now ok This fly mask is worth its weight in gold. My horse went from miserable to comfortable when bugs were in the air.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly protection Complete head coverage - keeps flies off entire face.Great fit - My horse has a big "everything" and is hard to fit.Comfort - Fits loosely without slipping around.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly Mask I found that the color of the fly mask I received is not the same as the one on the internet.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask I do like this mask, but I thought the mesh over the eyes would be a lighter color for better visibility. Instead, the mesh is black. I would have preferred a gray or white color instead.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Mask! Not just for riding I love this Mask! I use it for my Fox Trotter who the flies won't leave alone. It fits well using the size guide. Some reviews mentioned that it ran big so I ordered the Arab/Small Horse size but it fits a little close to his eyes. I've got the Horse size now and it's perfect. So see-through that I can leave it on him over night (if I absolutely have to) and he can still see very well. Nice, soft lining around all the edges and the nose comes down far enough to really give good coverage. Very flexible ears.
Date published: 2011-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product This is my second crusader quiet ride and I love it. My horse hates bugs around his face and with all the trail riding we do it keeps him very happy and me too!
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Because I use my fly masks every day when I ride and it is summer and the horses get sweaty I have washed them twice on the gentle cycle in my washer and they wash fine. I recommend them to anyone. Also the fit is good, I have 2 cob size and 2 horse size
Date published: 2011-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not at all like it used to be The crusader fly mask (long with ears) is made of really stiff material and was sized much larger than in past years. I am not planning to use it as it looks uncomfortable for my horse and I doubt that he can really see through it well enough for a ride. It does look like it is really durableI ended up ordering the short version and it is made of much more flexible material and looks like it has much better visibility. I cannot imagine why Crusader made such a drastic change on what was an excellent product
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I absolutely love this flymask! It does its job and looks good doing it! I ordered it with a little monogram which looks great too! Let's all the UV in which is what I was looking for because my sensitive dw gets fungus all over his face with some of the heavier flymasks like the Kensington one (which I also love but can't use!) I don't know if this fly mask will hold up as well as the Kensington does, since it is so thin, but even if it doesn't I'm still glad I got it.Its great to use while riding too :)Overall I am very pleased with this flymask!
Date published: 2011-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freedom to ride! This is an excellent product. It has allowed me to increase my riding opportunities to include those bug infested hours/days. My horse is uber sensitive and would be a prancing, hopping, hot mess if he didn't get his "beauty mask". He stays very calm with this on and does not object to wearing it when riding. He has a refined head and the Cob/Arab size fits perfect.Some issues to be aware of. This mask is not the best for riding at dusk or in heavily shaded areas. I find that in these situations my horse will tend to eye or spook at things that normally he could recognize and would ignore. The mask is like wearing sunglasses... so in low light it limits vision.
Date published: 2011-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab fly mask! Nice quality, durable, no complaints whatsoever. I opted for the free embroidery and love having my horses's name on the nose. Thanks Smartpak for being so awesome!
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quiet ride is correct name This mask really works - the first time I used it there were 10 - 20 flies sitting on the mask and my horse didn't seem to mind at all - no more head shaking. Fit is ok - the mask sits very close to eyelashes/eyes but my quarter horse seems ok with it - I'll watch for irritation on longer rides.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have had my Cashel Long with Ears for two years. Before I got it, I could not hardly ride on the trails due to my horse tossing his head. He is a thin-skinned TB and the deer flies and black flies would send him into frenzy.Now, we don't head out for the trails without his flymask. I put it on over his bridle and our rides are enjoyable now. The head-tossing completely dissappeared. Even after two years, the fly mask is in great shape. I accidently ripped a small hole in it a few days ago and decided to purchase a new one. While I was at it, I decided to let everyone else know what a great product this is!
Date published: 2011-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the long nose mask butterfly loves her new masks all the other horses look at her and want one.
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I have used this mask on every horse that I have ridden and they all love it! It has been through the front load washer 3 times in less than two months and is holding up very well.
Date published: 2011-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever The crusader fly mask was exactly what our 18 hand Hanovarian needed to stop his head shaking while being ridden. Of course it can not be used while showing but our horse oddly enough only head shakes at home. The warmblood size was a perfect fit.
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What Happened to These Fly Masks? SInce my last purchase of a crusader quiet ride mask, the company has changed the material and fit - FOR THE WORSE-. The material is very stiff - so stiff that I coiuld not get the folds out sufficiently to lie on my horse's head and the sizing is way off - the horse size that I bought (the same size I have bought for my horse many times before) was way too big around the face. Bring back the old design and fabric for the quiet ride mask!!!!!
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for trail rides! I use this mask on my horse when we go for trail rides. He is bothered by bugs. At first, I tried a version of this mask without the nose piece, but he would still try to itch his face and shake his head. After using this mask, we have pleasant, quiet trail rides where he doesn't seem so miserable.
Date published: 2010-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crusader Flymask quiet ride Attaches nicely, my horse looks very silly in it but it does the trick! Seems well made.
Date published: 2010-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love LOVE! I love this fly mask, where I ride we have really bad fly's I have one horse where the bugs bug him out and one other that could careless but I use this mask on both of them! I ride everyday and this mask is now on its second summer and still looks GREAT!! This is def. a summer must have!
Date published: 2010-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for trails I use this all summer long on trail rides. My horse can see fine through the mesh and she is much happier. It fits nicely over the bridle.
Date published: 2010-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these fly masks I use these all spring and summer. Wouldn't ride without them.
Date published: 2010-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice fly mask I really like this fly mask. The photo you have is a little misleading because the mask is actually dark not clear on the horse's face like in the picture, but that won't stop me from saying nice things about it.I bought the mask for my foundered horse who has to live in a run-in. I bought it because it is a finer material than the regular fly mask and it is working well for him. I have bought the Crusader fly masks in the past and I have been pleased with them so that is why when I needed fly masks I went with the Crusader again.
Date published: 2010-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Love the fly mask - my horse is very sensitive to all the early evening insects that gravitate towards his ears, eyes and muzzle. This product has really made a difference.
Date published: 2010-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evening riders, you need this They did it. Found a way to SAFELY cover a horse's face so they can still see clearly, without distraction. I have been able to get back out on the trails in the evenings again, because this full face mask completely protects the ears and nose. Both of my horses wear it without reservation. I can even jump in the waning light of evening, the visibility is that good.Sizing: If your horse has large ears, go for the larger size. You'll want to check carefully that the netting does not touch the eyelashes, but this product is designed beautifully and it WILL stay off the eyes if it's not pulling too tightly across the face. Better to go bigger than smaller if your horse is between sizes. The horse size will fit a cob/small horse, for instance.
Date published: 2009-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps Bugs Away, but Might Restrict Vision This is a great option for keeping the insects away from the face without chemicals, but it seems as though my gelding's vision is impaired. He is sideways jumpy as though he can't see stuff until we are close to it. Still, as I'm out on the trail for hours at times, I will continue to use it on the worst bug days.
Date published: 2009-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what I expected the mask is darker than in the picture, I thought it would be much clearer for vision but its black. not as rugged as other masks and the ears were just a bit tight. when you add the shipping costs its not the best bang for your buck by far.
Date published: 2009-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product. Light weight, but effective. Love the space for the forelock. I use it for turn out and trail riding. The longer nose protects my horse's white nose from the sun. thanks!
Date published: 2009-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped the problem I have a Thoroughbred with "Seasonal Head shaking". This mask eliminated most of the violent shaking and made him happier, which in turn, made him rideable when the flies and the sun were out.2 BIG THUMBS UP
Date published: 2009-06-16
  • 2016-10-26T13:03CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_2788, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders