Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Crochet Ear Nets

Item #17004
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. 

Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. One size.

Customers Also Shopped For
Coolmesh Ear Nets feature a crochet net with ...
Description:
Coolmesh Ear Nets feature a crochet net with CoolMesh ears that allow for natural air ventilation to keep ears cool and comfortable while preventing insect annoyances. Imported.
The Schockemohle Silent Ear Bonnet serves double duty ...
Description:
The Schockemohle Silent Ear Bonnet serves double duty keeping the bugs out of your horse's ears and helps to keep your horse focused on his job! The ears on this crocheted fly veil are lined withNeoprene to help minimize loud ...
The USG Ear Bonnet is a high quality ...
Description:
The USG Ear Bonnet is a high quality and fashionable ear bonnet. The high elastic earProtection made of elasthane adapts perfectly to the ears and therefore offers optimal wearing comfort. Allows you and your horse toEnjoy your ride without the ...
Maintain a professional and polished look while keeping ...
Description:
Maintain a professional and polished look while keeping flies at bay. The EquiFit Ear Bonnet keeps the ears, poll and head cool and dry with its multi-dimensional air-mesh. The EquiFit Ear Bonnet is the finishing touch to a winning uniform! ...
An elegant way to keep flies out of ...
Description:
An elegant way to keep flies out of your horse's ears, the handmade Pessoa Crochet Ear Nets w/ Swarovski Crystals is perfect for show season! Favorite Features Genuine Swarovski crystals embellishment Elegant metallic stripe detailing String attachment Handmade in Europe ...
The USG Baroness Crystal Ear Bonnet is both ...
Description:
The USG Baroness Crystal Ear Bonnet is both stylish and practical! Designed to keep the flies out of your horses ears while in the saddle, this fly bonnet features coordinating trim and durable crystals for extra sparkle whether you are ...
The Pyranha Spray Master System Hose and Nozzles ...
Description:
The Pyranha Spray Master System Hose and Nozzles is the attachments to add to your Spray Master System. The kit includes 5 Nozzles, 100 ft tubing, 25 nail and 25 ties.
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Crochet Ear Nets is rated 4.521739130434782 out of 5 by 92.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Ear Net I bought this ear net for my 15+ hh Morgan. She has a more delicate face and smaller ears. She loves it and it looks nice on her. Only drawback is the large ears. Easily remedied with a bit of sewing, though.
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low price and great results I was not sure if my mare would shake her head till it flew off or not, so I figured for the price I would try. She didn't and it works great! Eats are a little too big but keeps the flies out.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These crocheted "bonnets" are working great. We have an abundance of nasty deer flies this year and my horses are so much more comfortable wearing this protection. It fits my warmblood perfectly. The ears are a little long for my paint but then who cares if the flies aren't biting them. Have just had them a month but they are holding up well.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a bargain I bought the tassel option. Compared to nets that cost triple, this is a deal. My horse has an average horse size head and it fits well.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Functionality! For this price, this bonnet has impeccable durability, so far using it and washing it once a week, There have been absolutely no signs of fraying. I love how simplistic it is, no frills. Very professional.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ear bonnet I have a tenancy to lose ear bonnets over the winter or generally packing things away. This one is great for the price, and at a price point you can have one in every color or lose it every winter without your husband cringing come spring when you need a new one.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fo trails My horse likes this especially for trails to keep the pesky insects off. Easy to put on and fits great.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Several friends have these and thought I would try it. It is nice that I don't have spray ears before I ride.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $10 Very Nice. It fits my mare perfectly and is very well made. No one at the barn believes how little I paid for it!
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! My husband thought our horse Ricky would benefit from ear nets to keep him from tossing his head in annoyance with the flys when we trail ride. These ear nets are effective, and they're a great value for the money. The grey color looks great on our grey gelding.The ears are a little big, but overall I am very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical and effective I purchased the inexpensive ear net to try on my OTTB for trail rides. He usually shakes his head pretty badly when we run into flies, but this does the job for keeping the pesky critters out of his ears. The ears are maybe a touch too long, even for his big head, but he doesn't look ridiculous in it, and it's nice enough to use at schooling shows if necessary. Definitely worth a try if you're looking for an inexpensive fix!
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Justice has large ears and this product fit him wonderfully.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the Price This ear net was fairly well made and fit prett well for the price. My mare has really big ears and still had enough room to wiggle them around and be expressive with her ear position.I like the way it looks on her and would wear it to special events without reservation.
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Ear Net I bought this last summer for my sensitive OTTB, who gets really stressed about flies on his ears and face. He loves it! This might sound silly, but when I go to put it on, he drops his head and stands completely still for me to put it on (a definite departure from his usual fidgety self). I swear he knows that it keeps the flies off. And it greatly reduces the head-shaking and distraction during our rides. The ear portion is a bit big, but that really isn't a concern for me as a schooling ear net. It's held up well for being so inexpensive, and I will definitely order another when the one I have wears out.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good value for price Not as nice as the one without fringe and sized bigger. If you need a larger ear net this one is for you.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I bought this product to use on my horse when I put ear poms in (for use out in the cross country field). It looks great on him & fits well. The only reason I gave the "fit" category 4 stars is because the base of the ear opening could be a little larger. But other than that, an excellent buy!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits my Driving Pony looking for awhile it's hard to fit a small pony, 11hh, in anything. Bought this thinking I would use it as a template to make my own. Turns out it fit perfect except for the ears that are about three times longer than we need. Easy fix with a sewing machine. Haven't had it long enough to judge duriability but the construction quality is good.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ear bonnet for the money For 9 bucks this is by far the best cotton ear bonnet I've seen. Fit my 16.2 OTTB fine, with room to spare for horses with "radar" ears. Well made, couldn't ask for anything more!
Date published: 2011-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great deer fly protection in nw indiana the summer deer fly make riding a challenge - this ear net is awesome - i put it on under the bridle and never have any problems - the horses really appreciate the ear net saving their ears from the deer flies - i rode without it once and my gelding shook his head the whole ride - not alot of fun for either of us - always have it handy now.
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase This ear net fits my warmblood perfectly. I tried another product previously but the ears just weren't long enough - the net didn't sit on his poll. This one fits great and I like the tassels too!
Date published: 2011-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good quality i was very surprised at what good quality this was and how nicely made. its a tiny bit large for my cob-sized horse's head, but i just bought it for trail riding to keep flys off and to keep his ear poms from being shaken out.
Date published: 2011-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the Price This ear's on this net are a big large for my horse but I think I can modify them so it will fit better. Otherwise this is a great quality ear net, and It's a really good price!
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This product is great. The ears fit my TB nicely and has a nice long throat latch for comfort, plus looks great!
Date published: 2011-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Generously Sized! Ear net was better than my expectations for this price range. Soft crochet cotton, with generously sized nylon ears. My OTTB has a long "horse" size head and this net has room to spare in the ears, yet doesn't look overwhelming on his head. Would recommend!!
Date published: 2011-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They're great! The fit is just right, in fact, they are almost snug. My horses do not have big ears, so on a large horse they might be a a bit snug. They have kept the bugs out of their ears, and our recent trail rides have been much more relaxing. Quality seems good, have only had them a short time, but for the price they look great.
Date published: 2011-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I've used this ear net for 4 years and it is still holding up!! My horse's ears are a little small for it but it gets the job done. I'm going to retire this one and get him a new one eventually though!
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit for my large mare Couldn't ask for a better fit for my mare. She likes to wear her "hat" when we go out! Other reviews made me worried about sizing. But ear length is perfect for my Lippizan/Friesian cross.
Date published: 2011-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase!! Definite favorite & what a great price! I love that there is a tassel free option at this price point. Very impressed overall with the quality & durability. It is made with a thick weave which makes it feel comparable to some of the $40 options. It fits my warmbloods' ears perfectly & absolutely stays put throughout my entire ride. I can see it being too large in the ears on horses with smaller ears, but if that's the case, any ear net will be too large unless it's custom made. Very pleased with this product, it's great quality & awesome price.
Date published: 2011-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Although this is pretty good quality for the price, the fit is not too great. The ears are fairly large, Even on a rather large boned TB the ears are big. On my Quarter horse... Lets just say dumbo.
Date published: 2011-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok Ear net for the price... I needed a new ear net since my last one was falling apart and since this one was cheap, I thought I'd try it. Luckily my horse has big. long ears so that that part fit, but the lower crocheted part rides up her face during our ride. My friend tried it on her horse with slightly smaller ears and it looked ridiculous! For any future ear net purchases, I'm sticking with Lettia or Pessoa.
Date published: 2011-02-01
  • 2016-09-26T12:21CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_7004, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders