Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End

Item #18155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap.

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
The Flat Nylon lead comes in seven great ...
Description:
The Flat Nylon lead comes in seven great colors to choose from! With a 30" brass plated chain this is a durable, great everyday option that will last you for years to come! Favorite Features Coordinating Colors to the Rockin' ...
Big D leads are durable and long lasting. ...
Description:
Big D leads are durable and long lasting. Favorite Features Manufactured usingHeavy duty nylon and polypropylene for extra strength Exclusive bolt snap and chain are guaranteed not to breakSizing It Up 5/8" x 9'. Chain measures 30".
These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn ...
Description:
These fantastic cotton leads are an economical barn staple! These leads are carefully braided at both ends to avoid fraying with a 30" brass plated chain, making themHeavy duty and meant to last. At the same time the cotton remainsSoft ...
This durable cotton lead rope isSoft in your ...
Description:
This durable cotton lead rope isSoft in your hands and makes for a great necessity to have at the barn. Favorite Features Soft cotton rope Brass bolt snap 15" chain Sizing It Up 3/4" cotton rope 8 1/2' long 15" ...
No horse's leather halter look is complete without ...
Description:
No horse's leather halter look is complete without the leather lead. This beautiful Havana lead with a white fancy accents is perfect for shows or just around the stable. The padding provides ultimate comfort with no rubbing in your palm. ...
Supple English bridle leather lead with a solid ...
Description:
Supple English bridle leather lead with a solid brass 24" chain and snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 7'L x 1"W. If you ...
The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to ...
Description:
The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to you or your horse. When a solid-tied horse spooks or falls, it can panic - then something breaks or the horse injures itself (or both). Quick-release knots and panic snaps put you ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End is rated 3.4794520547945207 out of 5 by 73.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from small its a good quality lead rope but very very small for PONIES only
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lead Rope It is not as substantial or thick as I expected and there is a lot of metal at the snap. Not as long, either. However, the lead rope was a good value for the price.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect lead great length and thickness, with a quality snap! perfect for around-the-barn use. I don't bring it to shows because I use an extra long lead for grazing outside the ring. I got the navy and white and love it.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice lead I am very happy with this lead. I use a rope halter w/ it and it works very nicely!! Very happy w/ it as it matches her black and pink halter. I use it to hold her while she grazes and trust me she pulls VERY hard when I try to take her away from the grass, so I can tell you this is a durable lead.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality cotton lead I wanted some cotton lead ropes that were small enough to be manageable for my young daughter, and these are it. Easy to tie and hold. Work just fine!
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for mini horse! I am always on the lookout for short cotton leads for the minis. The hlage diameter cotton 10 foot leads with heavy snaps are just too much with the short horses. These are lightweight and a good length, making them great for the minis. I wouldn't expect them to hold a fullsize horse, though, especially as a tie-rope. For my purposes, they are a good solution. The colors aren't a big plus for me, solid white or navy would be fine. I would prefer a different type of attachment at the snap end, as I don't fully trust the "H" clamps.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, handy lead These lead ropes are the best because they are short and narrow, so they are easy to tie and you don't feel tied up when holding them. And they come in great colors!
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke with Pressue I hate to leave a bad review, but one of the first times I used this, my horse was a bad boy and, as I threaded this lead through a loose ring to tie him, he backed up, put pressure on it (with me holding the other end) and the rope busted loose from the snap. Not too thrilled that he tried to get away, or that the lead broke! I loved the color of the lead (black and pink!), but I would only use it for leading around the barn/familiar situations or with a "I never behave badly" horse. I won't buy this again unless it's for a dog, but I have read some other reviews that say they would not even use for for a dog! Also, I didn't consider the length when purchasing, but it certainly feels too short. If your horse startled, you wouldn't have much time to react and stay with him without letting go of the lead. I hope SP either markets these for dogs or stops carrying this item.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worse excuse for a lead ever This is wiithout a doubt the cheapes, most useless thing I have ever ordered for a horse. I have a golden retreiver dog and the hardware on this would not begin to hold HER much less a horse. Would not even last as a mini lead. This has destroyed the comfidence I used to have in Smart Pak. Please save your money.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from unbelievable poor quality..yuck I really CANNOT believe Smart Pak would sell something like this. Someone in quality control is alseep at the desk. This lead isn't even 5 1/2'... the hardware is a joke...the ends are wrapped with a puny piece of electrical tape. The snap isn't even large enough to hold my DOG at bay. Not worth a dime as a lead line. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY. USELESS ITEM IF YOU HAVE A HORSE!
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An overall good leadrope These are great leads, cheap in price, but they last for years. I love all the colors as well, a different one for each horse.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great im a young rider an d i olny have a small pony so its hard to find shorter leadropes also they come in really cool colors
Date published: 2011-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best lead in the barn! I use these leads all the time, they are my favorite. Just throw in the wash when they get dirty, last for quite a few years. Great all around lead rope!
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead I really like this lead rope. The colors are bright and fun. I love that it is shorter, thinner and lighter weight than most lead ropes because you don't have to carry around a handful of heavy rope. It is not really a practical lead rope to tie your horse with just because it is so short but it is great for leading for that reason.
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these! It's a very short, very simple lead. It's not much longer than the distance from a 16hh horses chin to the ground which is why I buy them! If the horse gets of the lead, they don't get tangled! Also, its cotton and short so even if they yank on you, you're not getting rope burn! Clasp is good and solid. I had this on a pony who got loose and when they took of they stepped on it a few times and the ends frayed. Oh well. $7. I keep a safety supply on hand.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST LEAD EVER I have used this lead on a daily basis and it is great i have TB and i even have a 2yo stud that loves to try to pull and eat his lead and he broke a chain lead but not this I also have small hands and its hard for me to hold the thick leads but no issues with this i am 5'2 and use it on a 17H OTTB and he holds his head as high as he can and i still have alot of lead for him to spook and not take the lead out of my hand i will only buy this lead my first one i got 10 years ago and still in use today
Date published: 2011-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cool colors, bad design I was very disappointed when I received this lead rope. It was very thin and too short, it hardly looked like it would withstand much use. I ended up returning it.
Date published: 2010-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kind of Short I know it says in the description that its 6 feet, but I guess I'm used to a longer lead. Love that the black and hot pink matched her halter, though. Will use it until it wears out.
Date published: 2010-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great. Loved all the color combo choices. Great length for moving my horses around the barn as well as going to shows.
Date published: 2010-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for the price not the best leadrope. It works great for my kids and their pony, but not what you want to lead a larger horse.
Date published: 2010-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would not use this product for a lead rope. Very short and thin. Would make a great dog leash!!!
Date published: 2010-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft And Comfotable I enjoy the feel of this lead rope very much! I love the variety of colors, my only complaint is I wish it was a little bit longer!
Date published: 2010-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like these lead ropes, they fit well in my smaller hands, but they are much shorter than other standard leads I have, which suprised me!
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Lead Rope The lead ropes are very colorful and seem very sturdy. I prefer my lead ropes a little thicker and longer than these are. But the colors are fun, inexpensive and colorful. They match some rope halters I had very well.
Date published: 2010-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kinda Short Lovely rope. Soft and easy on the hands, but a touch too short to tie with.
Date published: 2010-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope I was somewhat disappointed in this lead rope. It had what looked like masking tape wrapped around the end and up near the snap and I had ALOT of trouble getting it off; in fact I did not even try on the end of the rope. It is really short too (I probably did not read the description well). I like the color combination and I like the feel and thickness of the rope.
Date published: 2010-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from a miniature lead rope i didn"t expect this to be so small. i can't really use it.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead Rope for the price Pretty colors to choose from & seems durable enough for daily use.
Date published: 2010-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from short and sweet This is a typical short cotton lead with a mediocre snap. This is perfect for the well behaved horse that doesn't require a strong lead. This lead is more along the lines of a dog leash than a lead line but I prefer the short length for my plod along 30 year old TB mare.
Date published: 2010-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok if you have a...... Love the colors and the price but its way to short to be a horse lead rope . If you have a dead broke to would work great . But for someone who has a spooky or hot headed horse I wouldn't recommend that you buy this lead rope .
Date published: 2010-01-17
  • 2016-08-30T11:40CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_8155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders