Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen Pro II Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16855
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This 

Just when you thought riding couldn’t get any “cooler.” The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removable cover has a visor and mesh front that will keep air flowing. 

Favorite Features 

  • Soft headband is interwoven with silver ions throughout the lining, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
  • Revolutionary Grpx™ Technology has built in grippers that help this skull cap fit like a glove
  • Kite marked to both PAS015 and BSEN1384.  ASTM/SEI F1163-15
  • Silver or Black

Imported

Sizing It Up



Helmets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the ...
Description:
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the Samshield XC Helmet offers a chic modern look, coupled with incredible airflow, and a fit designed to prevent pressure on the forehead. Favorite Features Pure carbon fiber external shell provides unbeatable strength-to-weight ...
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
Description:
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
Description:
The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Favorite Features Front air ...
The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
Description:
The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The ...
Description:
The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The Helmet" where tradition meets sport! Customize your look- from a glossy or nubuck shell, to your barn colors. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Innovative ...
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest ...
Description:
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level ofProtection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated toProtect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic logo is positioned ...
Add a little sparkle into your everyday life ...
Description:
Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede ...
out of 5
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Charles Owen Pro II Helmet is rated 4.961538461538462 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very protective helmet This is not my first Charles Owen, nor will it be my last. I bought this helmet a little over 6 months ago and had my first fall with it at a show. In warm up my horse slipped and fell on me, when he went to stand back up he stepped on my foot, my side, and my head. This helmet did it's job and saved my life. Without the helmet my horse's studs would have done quite a bit of damage. Very thankful for Charles Owen's helmet technology because without it, who knows if I would be here writing this review.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight and comfortable I bought this to replace my prior helmet after a crash. I knew from the sizing I would be border-line, but the 1/2 size larger was definitely too large, so I went with the smaller size, as suggested by the size chart, which was tight, but within two weeks of riding in the heat it fit perfectly - snug but definitely not too tight anymore.I have not noticed any significant difference (good or bad) in ventilation from my prior helmets- I guess I just generally accept that summer riding = sweaty hair. I like how secure it feels while still being lightweight and without looking like a complete mushroom, and I like that it doesn't obstruct my vision, and I love the super soft chin strap. My prior helmet's strap was stiff/uncomfortable, and forced a bit too far forward for me, so I am happy with the switch (although still thankful to the other one for keeping me head in one piece!).
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb fit, very soft leather harness. I was looking for an upgrade from Tippary schooling helmet and am beyond pleased with this choice. Doesn't feel heavy when wearing & air vents keep it comfortable. I have Charles Owen show helmets so I ordered the same size and it fits like it's custom made.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! Great fit and looks great! I ordered the silver one but it was too bright, black was a better choice for me.
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet we've owned Bought one for myself first, and found it to be very light and comfortable. I bought a silver one for my husband who gallops at the racetrack, it looks so slick!
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight and comfy! I bought this a month ago and am so happy! When I got the box, I questioned whether it was the right item because it was so light! I love the ventilation and the silver coating, it keeps me so much cooler. It's also very comfortable, I forget it's even on. Great helmet, would certainly buy again!
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I purchased this helmet as both a schooling and showing helmet and I absolutley love it! It fits amazingly and it breathes very well. I did have to go down a size from my previous Charles Owen so that's something to note. Overall this helmet is the perfect addition to an eventers wardrobe or if you just want to be super safe and comfortable while riding!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and very comfortable helmet. I bought this for my son after he fell and cracked another helmet. He is very pleased with this one. It not only provides excellent protection but looks very nice as well.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I love this helmet! I've owned a several different brands so helmets, and this is definitely the most comfortable. It breathes well, fits well, looks good, and even the harness is great. I highly recommend this helmet.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, comfortable helmet! Recently purchased. Fits snug and is comfortable. Chin strap is soft. Definitely would recommend.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Compliments! I bought this helmet for my granddaughter who competes in eventing. She loves this helmet and has received lots of compliments on it! I like it best because it gives her head the protection that is needed. Great product!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever! I outgrew my JR8 charles owen helmet and wanted to try a skull cap type helmet. I ordered one size up and it fit great. thanks!
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfortable helmet. I have had 2 J3's prior to this purchase but after buying an AYR8 I realized the J3 didn't fit me very well. I love the AYR8 and the Pro II fits very similar. Like all the Charles Owen helmets, super quality.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not great if you want your hair in your helmet. I actually ended up returning this helmet. I have long hair and keep it french braided most of the time. This really changed the fit and stability of the helmet, to the point that it truly did not feel like it fit or would stay on my head when I had the braid coming  out the back. That said, without my hair in it, although slightly large, it felt very protective and like it would save my head from a significant impact.
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I bought this in July and have used it for numerous show this year. I absolutely love how light weight and comfortable it is. Good quality and will buy Charles Owens from now on.
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! This is a great skull cap!! Not nearly as bulky as the CO 4 star and still very safe and comfortable. This helmet was more true to size as well. I've only had it a few weeks but really like it so far. Top safety ratings and that awesome eventing look :)
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Skull Cap Don't bother ordering or trying any other skull caps! This one is light and fitted to my head. I've tried other skull caps and they are ridiculously heavy and bulky, not this one! Perfect for an eventer! I've taken a couple falls with this helmet on, including 2-3 times on the cross country course (I know I should replace it with a new helmet but it holds up really well)! The only thing is that it can be difficult to get the cover on.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, breathable, durable helemet. Oh how I love my CO Pro II, let me count the ways:1 - Great fit for a variety of head shapes. I think my head is a bit more round than oval, and this works great for me. For comparison, the AYR8 is my other helmet and I think the Pro II fits just a tiny bit better (less oval).2 - Breathable, I don't tend to sweat as much in this helmet as I have in others.3 - VERY comfortable; I can wear this helmet all day (and I have, sometimes by accident!)
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to catalog order this and was so happy it fit perfectly from the measuring of my head at home. Fits great. The helmet cover that came with it was kind of cheap and the brim was bent from being crammed in a box, but I use my own cover and rubber band anyway so I didn't mind too much
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! I got this helmet for Christmas to replace my original pro skull cap that is over 6 years old. I love it, the improvements are wonderful, the inside is soft and the harness is a lot more comfortable. Highly recommend this helmet.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Helmet!! I put a ton of research into buying my helmet. I have an odd shaped head, don't laugh. And was tired of always having to push my helmet up during SJ or XC. This helmet is AMAZING! It's incredibly comfortable, with no pressure points. My favorite thing about it is the visibility, especially for XC!BUY THIS HELMET! You will not regret it! Another great thing, it is a Charles Owen, register it and if anything happens to it, they help you get a new helmet. Great Company!
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple the Best IF you event you need this helmet!!! The visibility with it is fantastic! I can finally see no matter where I look. I can't even begin to say how comfortable this helmet is.The trick with it is to tighten the back tie after you put the helmet on and to untie it every time you take the helmet off. It will keep the tie from stretching and your helmet in great shape.
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I recently purchased this helmet and am very glad I decided to do so. Not only is it very, very comfortable and good quality, but it is very cool to wear. My head doesn't get anywhere near as hot as it used to, and I can actually feel some of the airflow coming through the vents when I'm out galloping around cross country. It is a very big helmet on the outside, but as far as I can tell it fits normally and it is also lightweight. It looks very smart and I couldn't love it more.
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! This helmet was a great summer alternative to my AYR8. Fits the same but was cooler in the heat and humidity. I am glad I got this helmet and will probably continue using it for schooling even when the weather cools off.
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable helmet. I had been riding in a Charles Owen JR8 for about a year and while I loved the helmet itself and the fit I always felt like the visor was blocking my view. I purchased this helmet as my "everyday" helmet to school in and love it! Very comfortable fit and I like the harness much better than the nylon one in my JR8. Very nice helmet.
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super light helmut I really like the Pro Racing II and I got it in the cool silver color. It makes wearing a helmut on a hot day less taxing!!
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Charles OWEN Another great Charles Owen product. I found that this helmet was a bit more ROUND than oblong in fit as compared to the Hampton, but it still fits well and is comfortable. A quality product.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I've had my old helmet for years and wanted a new/updated version. This helmet is great. Comfortable and fits perfectly. I love the vents in it, especially for hot summer riding!
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and sleek! It fits exactly like the GR8, but with the added protection of a scull cap.Incredibly light weight!Love it!
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Charles Owen Pro Racing helmet This helmet is of great quality and is super comfy. it is very durable and the gr ypx system system makes the helmet feel super secure, however it sometimes gives me headeachs it still is very comfortable. The vented helmet cover is great but i dont like the harsh texture of the helmet, it is so abrassive it is quite difficult to fit the cover on. i bought mine on clearece for 151 and is was worth it. the harness is super soft. i over recomend this helmet to any one looking for a sporty looking helmet from charles owen.! 5STARS!
Date published: 2012-06-28
  • 2016-09-27T12:35CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_6855, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders