Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen Helmet Cleaner

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16134
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any dirt and grease from the inside of your hat, ensuring it remains clean and pleasant to wear.


Sizing It Up


Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Customers Also Shopped For
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UVProtection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily Imported Sizing It ...
Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet RideProtecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader pasture fly mask Can ...
The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure withHeavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined with ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Charles Owen Helmet Cleaner is rated 4.607142857142857 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Cleaner! I tried numerous other methods to clean my helmet with DIY solutions but this cleaner really did the trick. It is easy to use and took off all the spots from dirt and sweat on the helmet.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results This product made my helmet fresh and feel very clean. It also aliviated my breakouts from a sweaty helmet.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helmet Help Here The spray does smell good and does help eliminate the odor in your helmet.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good cleaner Bought for old gray charles owen helmet. Cleaned up well.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for the tack trunk! Excellent product for both the helmet and rider's head!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says The Charles Owen Helmet Cleaner definitely cleans out your helmet and gives it a fresh smell! My Charles Owen JR8 felt brand new after using this product. Buy this and don't bother with the Charles Owen Deodorizer. This got rid of the sweaty hair smell.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful This was a great buy and so happy I chose to get it along with the Deodorizer.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet cleaner I used this on my Charles Owen Ayr8 helmet and dirt just wiped off. I had to give the helmet two treatments because I hadn't cleaned it in years and many wearings. I am very pleased with how my helmet now feels and smells (as in smells good).
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An easy way to clean helmets I have sensitive skin and am also prone to acne on my forehead and hairline--spending hours in a helmet is hard on my skin. This product seems to clean well (I have also tried swabbing the inside band of my helmet with laundry detergent, rubbing alcohol, etc.) and is easy to use. It is not fast drying, however. My helmet has to sit overnight to dry. Quality of these aerosol cans is variable; sometimes they seem to cease to work before the product is used up (annoying!).
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works surprisingly well, but sprayer clogs up I bought this as a hopeless, last-ditch attempt to spruce up my aging helmets that are. The first can that was delivered wouldn't spray. I tried soaking the cap and the top of the can in hot water, tried running water through the sprayer piece, tried replacing the top with a WD-40 sprayer...no luck. Thankfully, SmartPak is great about these things and sent me a new one. No problems with the new one and it actually works surprisingly well. This is gross, but the tag that has dealt with the heat and sweat and dirt of 5+ years (yes, I know I need to replace) looks brand new after treatment where it previously looked like it was *ahem* growing mold spots. The upholstery, while still trapping dirt in some of the mesh pores, looks and FEELS dramatically cleaner and the whole operation smells better. Worth the ~$10!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Clean I was skeptical, but this really took the smell and grime out of my helmut. So far so good...!
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For All Sweaty Heads! The foaming of this product is a bit intimidating, but it takes the odor out of my helmet nicely.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Really works. I am now buying this as a gift for my trainer and friends. Spray the inside of your helmet, wait a minute, wipe with a damp cloth, then wipe the dust off the outside of your helmet with the same cloth. Your helmet will look great.
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well! Good to know I can effectively clean my helmet while maintaining it's integrity! Easy to use and leaves behind a light fresh scent. And who doesn't love a clean helmet?
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Cleaner Great Service This spray really cleans and freshens your helmet. Smells great too! The nozzle quit working on my first can after one use, but Smartpak quickly replaced it. Awesome customer service as always!
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Such a lifesaver After getting this product, I actually WANTED to put on my helmet! Thank you smartpak!
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A HORSE SHOW MUST HAVE! I love this stuff! It made my helmet odor free! I'd say its a horse show must have!
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a Horse show must-have! When i ride I sweat like a pig. My hair is soaking wet and my helmet tends to be wet and smell. Gross, I know. I have been gone the past week to a show and after I was done with my classes I was organizing all of my stuff. I had made a comment saying how my helmet smelled and my friend rachel had brought this stuff. she let me use it and I was amazed! My helmet looked and smelled so clean! I was so happy! Its a must have for shows and at home too. It also works for hairnets! Because we all know how sweaty and gross those get too!! Its a must have! And I love how its foam like shaving cream. You can see all the dirt and grime that comes off of your helmet when your done!!! Its gross but cool. Couldnt live with out it!
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stinky helmets I purchased this to clean my helmet that was a little stinky from sweat. The first can I got had a nozzle imperfection and would not spray. Smartpak VERY quickly replaced this for me with a new can. Now my helmet does not smell!! Yippee
Date published: 2011-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I wear my helmet at least 6 hours every day, and in the summer you can imagine what it's like at the end of the week. Good thing I found this great product! Gets all the sweat, grime and makeup out of my helmet.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned brown back into pink! I never thought the stains on my CO helmet would come off, and this cleaner made it happen! I am soooo happy! I have a CO brown with light pink skunk stripe, the light pink had become dingy tan:( With 1 application and a little elbow grease my helmet looks like new. It removed so much dirt. Terrific product!! Will buy again!
Date published: 2010-03-23
  • 2016-10-24T12:39CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_6134, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders