Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen GR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #12415
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. This helmet is both sleek and sporty with its low profile design. Available in a variety of colors, the GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre suede material that has been treated to afford it protection against marking and scuffing so your helmet continues to look great for years to come.

Favorite Features

  • Low profile design and gently rounded brim for a flattering look
  • Press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak with another discreet logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Harness is reinforced with nylon for additional strength, safety and security
  • Silver ions are interwoven throughout the lining in the headband to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN 1384. Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15.

Sizing It Up

Charles Owen helmets are sized using metric measurements (Centimeters). We advise using Centimeters when determining size.



Helmets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, ...
Description:
Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision. This helmet is made from anti-scratch Polycarbonate outer shell to keep it show ring ready at all times. The front air inlet allows ...
The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
Description:
The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
Description:
The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
We Love This Engineered to give you total ...
Description:
We Love This Engineered to give you total confidence in your upper bodyProtection, the Kontakt 5 meets the latest and most comprehensive 2009 bodyProtector safety standards. A slim line appearance is achieved through tapered shoulders and rounded chestProtection panels. Ventilation ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet ...
Description:
The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision that will get you noticed in any show ring! The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside ...
Why We Love ThisThe Troxel Liberty features an ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Troxel Liberty features an ultra low profile design with dial fit technology and a classic high gloss finish created for schooling and all-purpose riding. Large vents provide superior ventilation for a cooler, more comfortable ride.Favorite Features ...
The GPS First Lady 2X helmet is the ...
Description:
The GPS First Lady 2X helmet is the first helmet developed for ladies! Same technical assets and same comfort as the Speed'air model Features aeration, safety, light weight. Favorite Features Large visor designed toProtect skin against sun Metal GPA badge ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Charles Owen GR8 Helmet is rated 4.698795180722891 out of 5 by 83.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet!! I absolutely LOVE the GR8. If you are looking at Charles Owen's, go with this one. The JR8 fit my head wierd. The GR8 Is also really good for fitting alot of hair under which is a problem for alot of competing junior riders. Hands down, best helmet around.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen is unsurpassed in quality I love every CO helmet I have ever owned! Fit is great, and they are stylish!
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cool I love this helmet so much! At first I didn't think that is was worth all that money because I also have a IRH and it works really good and it was used... when I started to look into this helmet I really started to like it so I got it! It was a really nice helmet! I don't think I should've paid that much money for it though, like it really didn't do any thing special for me.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Great helmet. Fits awesome. I ordered it 1 size bigger than my head measured so I could put my hair up. I have thin and long hair. It fits perfectly!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Helmet! This helmet is gorgeous. Very sleek and stylish yet durable and strong. It doesn't make your head look funny like some other show helmets do. It was pretty true to size. I measured my exact size then ordered the next size up for when I put my hair up. I have long hair, thin-medium hair. The helmet has plenty of room but is still snug without cutting off any circulation!
Date published: 2011-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet This helmut fits my head like a glove. Snug, and doesn't make me look like a bubblehead, especially as I have a very narrow face. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a very comfortable fit, and a professional look.
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp helmet for the show ring This helmet is very attractive and looked incredibly sharp with my custom hunt coat. The fit is wonderful and the low profile keeps you from the dreaded "mushroom head" look :)
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It appears to sit high on your head (looks a little funny), but the quality of the helmat is very good.
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet After a fall from my horse, I had to replace my old helmet. I changed brands to buy the Charles Owen, but it's a better fit than my old, pricier helmet.
Date published: 2011-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GR8 Buy I bought tis during helmet safety week at a Great price. The harnes and chin strap are comfortable. The ample padding is a bit snug but is soft enough that I feel it will conform to mt head over time. If one has a lot of hair to tuck into a helmet consider going up a bit in size. Is is a professional polished look in the show ring.
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mid-Range Helmet I've had a GPA Titium for years now, as a "show-only" helmet because of how expensive and high quality it is. My everyday, beaten-up helmet, however, has needed replacing for a few months now. I was looking to upgrade to something more affordable than another GPA, but would be similar in quality, as well as function as a back-up show helmet in an emergency. About a month ago, I got my new CO GR8.I'm very happy with the quality, fit (I have a very hard-to-fit and large head.), and comfort of the helmet. It is relatively breathable (for not having air vents), since it doesn't cover as much of the skull as other helmets.On the other hand, it makes me look a bit like a bobble-head. The biggest problem I have with the GR8 is that I have a difficult time putting my hair up. My hair is quite long, and, with the shallowness of the helmet, it is hard to look tidy in the back. Small things like these are acceptable when considering cost.
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I've had this helmet for 2 years & it looks great in the show ring & is durable enough to be worn everyday. Its extremely comfortable & easy to clean, highly recommended!
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helmets What can I say, it's a helmet. I ended up returning it because I didn't like the way it fit. It sat purched ontop of my head. It wasn't very low profile....
Date published: 2011-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I love this product! It fits great and feels awesome.
Date published: 2011-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable, durable show helmet Helmet is very comfortable but can be a little warm in the texas summers. I've rubbed and scuffed the helmet and marks have not shown so far. The low profile looks a lot better than more traditional styles. I've bought another one as a gift for a friend.
Date published: 2011-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Helmet! I've always had trouble finding a helmet that fits. I have a narrow head and other helmets tend to slip side-to-side while I'm riding. I tried a friend's GR8 and it fit perfectly, so I bought one for myself. Not only does it fit nicely, it looks sharp and is very durable. When I first got it, I always kept it in a helmet bag and took really good care of it. After a while though I got lazy and knocked it around, got it dirty, etc. and it has held up to the wear and tear beautifully. Before shows, I take a damp tack sponge and wipe down the outside of the helmet .... every show someone asks me if I got a new helmet, because it looks brand new again. Definitely worth every penny!
Date published: 2010-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! I recieved this helmet as an early Christmas present as both my schooling and showing helmets were at/over five years old. I had my eye on the helmet for quite a while, and was thrilled to be able to purchase it during a very nice local sale.Once I found the correct size, I was easily able to enjoy its comfort. It's soft, squishy, and fits great. The harness isn't annoying in texture and doesn't get in my field of vision like the excess strap of my old schooling helmet's harness.The helmet is gorgeous, classic yet modern looking without being too "in the moment" of fashion. It has a look that will last, especially if you go with the more tradition black/black color.
Date published: 2010-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without it I am buying my third one in 7 years! I had an accident in the first one falling off my 17.3hh horse onto my head. I am positive I am alive today because of this helmet. I recently had another accident in my second helmet. My head never hit the ground, but I believe in replacing helmets after every major accident. I forgot how old the helmet was because it aged so well. It didn't get smelly or start too pack down too much over the years so I forgot how old it was until I fell and did the math. I love how it fits and its low profile. I trust its construction far more than other brands. I will definitely be buying it again!
Date published: 2010-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Life!! Not only is this a gorgeous and well crafted helmet, it is very functional! I recently fell off a 16.5 hand horse directly on my head. As a nurse, I have no doubt that I would have been severely injured without my helmet (that I always wear and I ride dressage). The helmet looked no worse for the wear and my head was totally fine!Also looks very snazzy. Almost all the gals at my barn have this helmet or the other Charles Owen (Hampton)
Date published: 2010-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight - forgot it was there Old helmet is in the trash after I got back from my first ride in this helmet. It was so light weight and comfortable I forgot I had it on and it never moved on my head to remind me I was wearing a helmet. Good purchase.
Date published: 2010-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! The Charles Owen GR8 Helmet is definitely worth the money! For most eventers, function definitely trumps fashion, but that doesn't mean I want to look like a bobble-head in my dressage pictures. The GR8 offers subtle style without being obnoxious or trendy. The low profile is very flattering and it really looks awesome on a variety of riders. I also love that the harness is low and wide enough in back to cover any stray hairs that won't stay in the hair net.
Date published: 2010-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfort Was hesitant to purchase because I was worried it would be too hot of a helmet to ride in, but surprisingly it is not. The comfort of this helmet is amazing. first time I have had a helmet that I can tolerate thru all 7 rides a day. Really love it
Date published: 2010-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, but could breathe better You see this helmet all over the rated and unrated show circuits. While I feel that this helmet is comfortable, another brand "breathes" better on my head. By that, I mean I feel that it's sweatier under this helmet than under my other, regardless of the weather. But overall, would definitely recommend this helmet because it is well made, cleans easily between the schooling and show rings, and is more affordable than some other brands! I've found that I'm the same size in the GR8 and "another particular, more expensive brand."
Date published: 2010-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet! I recently bought this, and I am in love with it! This helmet is so comfortable and low profile. It is about half the size of my clunky IRH!
Date published: 2010-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet! I love the look of it! However, if dust or anything gets or sawdust gets on it, it is rather hard to get off. but if kept nice.. it will be great
Date published: 2010-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen GR8 Helmet I recently purchased the Charles Owen GR8 helmet before the start of show season. My trainer recommended that I buy this helmet for the shows since it is professional looking. Even though it is a little pricey, I decided to go to SmartPak and buy one. And I absolutely love it! It is really comfortable and has a low profile so that I don't get that "mushroom" head-look. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend!
Date published: 2010-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd GR8 Helmet - Because its so GREAT! This was a replacement purchase for my first Charles Owens GR8 Helmet. LOVE it. It fits very well, and OMG - flattering, too. And although I read someone's review that they thought it got too hot, I ride in San Diego - Poway area where it easily gets to be 90's in the summer. Hot head was not a problem. (Reason for replacement: A mouse made a nest in it, and I wasn't putting it back on my head!!!)
Date published: 2010-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Owens helmut Fits great and looks attractive, hard to find in a jumping helmut!
Date published: 2010-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second GR8 Helmet. Love the fit, very comfortable.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and GR8 fit I have last season's color scheme of brown with a pink stripe. I have a small and hard to fit head and this helmet was a perfect fit and very comfortable. The weight on this helmet is heavier than the IRH's striped helmet, but I am a rider that appreciates a more solid helmet and I am comforted by the slightly increased weight. This helmet brushes off easily, and the harness system lies in the correct spots on the head and neck and is easy to put on and take off. My only complaint would be that it doesn't breathe while in use, and it holds in odors. The simple solution to the odor problem is to use Fabreze.
Date published: 2010-01-01
  • 2016-08-25T11:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_2415, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders