Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16857
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic.

Developed for the equestrian athlete the slimline helmet uses advanced modern materials and incorporates the latest in thermoregulation for helmets to keep your head cool. The leather harness incorporates the revolutionary Grpx™ technology. The harness is coordinated to the specific colors within the range to give that complete finished look.

The brim is gently rounded to flatter the face and a press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak. Another embroidered logo features on the back of the helmet to replace the traditional ribbon. The super soft headband is embedded with high tech silver ions, providing built-in antimicrobial protection, helping to keep the helmet hygienic and free from smells. 

Favorite Features

  • Microfiber suede side panels
  • Mesh centre for maximum air flow
  • Grpx™ technology to create snug and secure fit using scientifically designed grippers
  • Antimicrobial headband to keep helmet hygienic and free of smells
  • Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384

Sizing It Up


Helmets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
Description:
The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with aSoft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. The ...
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the ...
Description:
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the Samshield XC Helmet offers a chic modern look, coupled with incredible airflow, and a fit designed to prevent pressure on the forehead. Favorite Features Pure carbon fiber external shell provides unbeatable strength-to-weight ...
GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline ...
Description:
GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline Collection by GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 years experience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a level of ...
The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
Description:
The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The ...
Description:
The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The Helmet" where tradition meets sport! Customize your look- from a glossy or nubuck shell, to your barn colors. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Innovative ...
Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
Description:
Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8 Leather Look the latest choice in equestrianProtective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8 requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbialProtection against sweat and ...
Add a little sparkle into your everyday life ...
Description:
Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede ...
out of 5
99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is rated 4.733812949640288 out of 5 by 139.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought this helmet a month ago and am loving the fit. I haven't worn it in the heat of the summer but I think it will be fine.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Helmet-Perfect for Shows and Schooling! I had struggled with finding a new helmet for quite some time. I have an oval-shaped head and tried 9 different helmets (my head must really be shaped like a brick!) before I landed on this one. The fit is great. It starts out a wee bit snug but the padding adjusts within a ride or two. Helmet looks great as well. I can wear it schooling or for shows.The reason this is only 4 stars is the chin strip/harness. For the price, I would expect a beautifully sewn harness out of quality materials. This is fake leather with raw edges on it-disappointing given how much this helmet costs.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet I bought this helmet as an upgrade from the Charles Owen JR8. At first glance, it is a very attractive helmet. I always put my hair up in a hairnet when I ride and the harness in the back is quite helpful. The air vents help, but they don't make a big difference. The outside of the helmet can be cleaned using a damp rag, Ive found that quite helpful.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another amazing Charles Owen helmet Got this helmet for christmas and I've been using it ever since! Very good quality, just wish it was easier to keep the dust off! Still love this helmet though!
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable helmet Nice comfortable helmet. I grow up not always wearing a helmet. This helmet saved my mothers life.. I would recomment this helmet to everyone.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just OK..... I love CO helmets on everyone else... but they just don't work for my oval head. Lots of space on the sides, and just uncomfortable. This one also gave me the definite mushroom head! I have found the IRH long ovals work better for me, along with the (sadly) spendy Samshields. I will be sending this back for an IRH instead.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen AYR8 My daughter moved up from braids to hair-under-the-helmet so a new show helmet was warranted. She loves the styling of the helmet and I like the added security and the vents to help keep her cooler. The GR8 didn't look as attractive on her. It was great for her to be able to try both helmets at home via Smartpak.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing helmet Best helmet I've ever worn and with every penny never been so happy with a helmet thank you smartpak for the best product ever
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Helmet! This is my second Charles Owen AYR8 helmet as my horse tripped and went down with me and thus I sent the helmet back as they suggest you do when a fall occurs.SmartPak was amazing in sending me another helmet quickly. This fits my head very well and does offer some cooling affect.
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love my new helmet. Great brand!! I recommend to all.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgraded from my GR8 I am a lover of Charles Owen, amazing quality and safety. I have ridden in a GR8 for a few years and decided it was time to upgrade and I'm so happy I did. Fits more snugly around the back of the head than the GR8 but I still ordered my same size and I love it. Looks great, feels great!
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Pretty! I can not say enough good things about this helmet! Its light, comfortable, easy to clean, doesn't hold stink, and looks beautiful on. I did find it to run slightly large, and ended up buying a 71/8, instead of my usual 71/4. All in all, a great helmet at a great price!
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet again, CO doesn't disappoint I've been a Charles Owen wearer forever. And as I'd expect, I have no regrets ordering the ARY8. I've had the GR8 for years but recently moved to the Deep South and it just happened to be time for a new helmet! The fit is perfect (I have a more oval head that brands like GPA didn't really work for). I tried the OneK but didn't like the aesthetic or fit of the chin strap at all, so it was promptly returned. So far, I'd definitely say the ARY8 is overall cooler than the other traditional CO helmets. However, no, the ventilation is not equivalent to driving down a highway with the top down.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love! Love! this helmet I bought this helmet for my daughter for the performance, she loves it for the style.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Help Received this helmet as a gift and I love it. It's very well made and looks great on! The vents make it pretty cool and breathable as helmets go. It fits really well and is light and comfortable enough that I forget I'm wearing it! I'd definitely recommend this helmet to anyone looking for quality and comfort in a helmet.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I have needed a new helmet for a year or so. I've never had a fall, but I kept putting up with my IRH. I decided to switch to CO bc the IRH was either too big and sat low on my ears or too small to even get on. The CO is amaaaazing. It feels so secure on my head. Even with out the chin strap, the helmet is going no easily. It looks great, too. Feel so much better wearing it then the IRH.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great and so comfortable I used it last weekend at a show and it was perfect.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new Fav...CO Never had a CO and my trainer recommended the JR8 but I have such a round melon that I had to go with the AYR8 and I love it super comfy and love the look.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice looking Really cool looking helmet but unfortunately not great for my shaped headed! If you have more of a round head then this is the helmet for you :)
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish it fit my round head I was really hoping this helmet would fit, but my head is too round. This one is more for the oval shaped heads. Overall it is a nice helmet and I was sad to send it back.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The most comfortable helmet ever I was told about this helmet by my insurance agent. Hmm, maybe she is just hedging her bets on me. Anyway, she said it is exceptionally comfortable. I had been riding in a Tipperary mid-line helmet that I paid around $200. It is fairly comfortable, but this one is 3 times better for comfort. My only complaint is it is kinda hot, but I was wearing it on a hot evening in 90 degree heat. It isn't nearly as hot if I am riding faster like during my barrel run, so I think as long as I'm going fast, I'll be cool. More motivation to go fast, I guess. I rated it at 4 stars due to the hot factor, but it is worth the money for the fit. I am hard to fit with a narrowing at the temples, but I needed no additional padding to fit this helmet. It just molds to my head.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking helmet! The AYR8 helmet is very flattering and comfortable with a great fit.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit After a bad fall, where my previous helmet slipped to the side, I tried on this helmet and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent fit and comfort. My only concern was heat build up on hot, muggy days. Once you put it on, you forget about it. Yes, it does feel great when you remove it, but you don't feel like you are baking while riding. Chin strap is very comfortable.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased! Riders knows not all helmets are the same the AYR8 has a great fit and a stylish look! I'm loving it!!!!
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet This is a very nice helmet, comfortable, and attractive.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my life I was in a very bad accident and shattered and crushed many bones. My head was not among them thanks to this helmet. It is the only helmet I'll ever buy again. Worth every dime.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove! Best fit I've ever experienced in a helmet. I've only worn it twice thus far, but I feel secure and completely protected in it. I recently wore it cross country schooling in high heat for 3+ hours and barely sweated underneath it - definitely a great buy!
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've ever owned I absolutely love the AYR8. The fit is perfect and it's comfortable enough to wear all day. I bought the helmet in brown and it's actually darker than pictured (it most likely appears lighter due to camera flash).
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and classy looking This is a quality helmet and beautiful too. Great craftsmanship. The reason Im only giving it a 4 star is bc it didnt fit my head shape...it pressed my head badly at my temples. I also wished it had a removable liner. But aside from that the navy blue looked stunning with my navy show coat.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've owned!! I was skeptical on buying such a pricey helmet but I promise you, it is SO worth it. The helmet is so lite and comfortable you can barely even feel it on your head. It is very supportive and looks professional. Also, the air vents are superior. I haven't used it yet on those hot summer days but so far it's keeping my head cool(: Everyone at the barn is jealous!
Date published: 2014-02-06
  • 2016-08-25T11:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_128
  • loc_en_US, sid_6857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders