Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Cavallo Simple Boots

Cavallo Horse & Rider
- Item #16712
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Cavallo Simple Boots are multi-purpose hoof boots that are excellent for all-terrain hoof protection for the barefoot horse. Allows natural expansion of the hoof wall as well as increased blood circulation. Absorbs shock so your horse's legs don't need to! Also provides comfort for chronic pain, hoof sensitivity and helps with rehabilitation from injuries, abscesses, navicular disease, laminitis/founder, punctures, sole bruising and contracted heels. Adds protection during trailering and breeding and works great as a "spare tire" when a shoe is lost. Lightweight, simple to put on and remove, and stays securely on the hoof. Shaped for the natural hoof (needs no inserts or shims). 

Favorite Features

  • Simple front fastening with industrial grade VELCRO® brand closures
  • Genuine leather upper
  • Mould-in back flap for bulb protection and abrasion resistance
  • Durable construction using waterproof thread, rustproof metal and high performance TPU outsole
  • Soft leather foam-filled collar
  • Outside tread pattern supports the hoof wall
  • All-terrain tread minimizes build-up of mud, sand and debris. Excellent traction while still allowing natural movement
  • Built-in sole relief: Raised inner rim takes pressure off sole, bar and frogs

Imported

Sizing It Up

Black.  Sold in pairs.  Sizes 1-6.

Customers Also Shopped For
An All-Purpose, water-resistant boot that is durable enough ...
Description:
An All-Purpose, water-resistant boot that is durable enough to withstand everyday use without compromising flexibility. Favorite Features Features a breathable VenTECH lining which promotes air flow to the horse's leg Water resistant exterior Recessed stitching and an extra-strong PVC padded ...
Why We Love ThisDubarry's iconic signature boot is ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisDubarry's iconic signature boot is now available in a slim fit! The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years ...
The Pajar Kimi II Ice Gripper Boot provides ...
Description:
The Pajar Kimi II Ice Gripper Boot provides premium warmth and waterproofProtection with the ultimate grip to give you sure footing in winter's worst conditions. Imported. Favorite Features Made from a high denier nylon with taped waterproof seams and wool ...
The Ice Horse Big Black Boot takes the ...
Description:
The Ice Horse Big Black Boot takes the hassle out of cooling a horse's hoof! The unique tri-fold design wraps the horse's foot in ice from the Coronary Band to the toe, providing cold compression therapy for the treatment of ...
At the introductory level, Woof Wear's Sport Range ...
Description:
At the introductory level, Woof Wear's Sport Range performs well for a variety of disciplines. All boots are made from 5.5mm PX closed cellNeoprene for impactProtection and flexibility.Favorite Features PVC strike pads are padded for extraProtection and provide a durable ...
The stylish Dublin River Boot offers comfort and ...
Description:
The stylish Dublin River Boot offers comfort and functionality at an amazing value. Favorite Features Waterproof all leather foot Water-resistantSoft Redskin leather Pebble Nubuck upper Waterproof RCS Touch Tech sole provides better traction & lightweight flexibility Drilex lined calf and ...
The Bogs Classic High Boot is comfortable footwear ...
Description:
The Bogs Classic High Boot is comfortable footwear for the most uncomfortable of situations - keeping your feet warm and dry all day long. Bogs is an industry pioneer in breath-ability. Engineered four-way stretch insulated upper actually breathes. BOGS unique ...
out of 5
93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Cavallo Simple Boots is rated 4.558139534883721 out of 5 by 86.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoping they work I bought these boots with an unconventional use. My horse pulls his front shoes in the field no matter what combination or bell boots, combo boots, and over reach boots. The Cavallo boots fit great when he was due to be shod, but after he was done they were too big. He is inbetween sizes because the 2s were too small right after he was done. That is frustrating, but again I'm not sure they are meant to be used over shoes. He did step on the back of one of them the second time he wore them and gave it a "flat tire" like some one stepping on the back of your shoe. I think they would be better if they came up higher in the back.
Date published: 2013-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time boot owner I haven't had these long and have never tried boots before. My mare is barefoot with great feet but I wanted some extra protection for trail riding. I measured her feet and she fell into a size 3 range but ordered the 2 because some people said they ran big. I could not get the 2's on so returned (Smartpak was great) for a 3 and they fit perfectly. The literature does say that they should "pop" on and if you need to force them then they're too small. She didn't mind them first off but did seem to trot off funny for a few days until she got used to the feel. Very easy to put on and so far they stay on. I do think the velcro straps could be better - I feel I need to pull them tighter but can't! Cavallo was recommended by my farrier.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank goodness! I ordered these boots after reading other reviews on smartpak and I am not disappointed. My 6 yo OTTB recently tore off a shoe and took a lot of hoof wall with it, and subsequently suffered an abcess in her heel.Tacking her shoe back on was not an option, so I ordered these boots. During the day, I used a hot animalintex poultice pad inside the boot, which fit perfectly and held it secure.I was very impressed with the quality, durability, fit and versatility of these boots. I dont know how we lived with out them!
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't fit These are very nice boots but i couldn't get the right fit for either of my horses. i ordered all the sizes and they were too big or too tight. i think they would have worked great and the quality was excellent. i wish they had worked for my horses.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective I'm not sure if his soles are unusually thin or he's just accident prone, but my 18 yr old OTTB incurred 2 hoof abscesses in one year. My farrier suggested these types of boots, so I tried several brands and styles before I found these. Beautiful and simple! No screw drivers or difficult snaps, and the break-in period was really short; I had to wrap his heels with vet wrap for about a week before the leather softened. The boy has issues with people handling his feet, but he doesn't mind putting these on. I usually boot him only when he's out in a relatively rough pasture or on the trail and they are holding up great. They run a little large, though, so check your measurements.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Purchased these when we took my horses shoes off in the fall. The first pair fit like a glove but rotated when he walked on the barn aisle. Replaced with the next larger size and they were great for riding in my stonedust arena--until my horse's feet grew. Missed riding for 3 weeks due to my job and hurricane! Next chance to ride, his feet had grown and the boots were difficult to put on. As I put the first one on, he put his foot down and split the boot. Moral to the story is that these are wonderful boots if you can get the right fit for your horses feet!
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good to have when shoes fall off I had to send the first pair of boots back for a smaller size (received promptly with no problems) - and used one when my horse lost a shoe shortly thereafter. Boot was a little hard to get snug around the top, but stayed on in turnout (off in stall) for 3 days. Horse was comfortable and( has to normally wear wedge shoes/pads) didn't require any Bute. If these boots hold up, I am sold on them!
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works Easiest boot to put on, stays on, and doesn't shift. Provides excellent protection for my recently barefoot horse. Doesn't interfere with her normal action either. Would recommend to anyone considering boots for their horse. Have used happily with another horse previously, so it was an easy decision.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over all a good buy These boots fulfill their promise of comfort and protection. I should've listened to a review I read online about them running a size large. I had to send the first pair back because they were too big, even though I went by my farrier's measurements. My horse is wearing them 24/7 with the exception of a daily cleaning out and hoof conditioning. They seem to be holding up well. A little fraying on the edge of the flaps that fold over. I see a thread that wasn't tucked into the seam. But doesn't seem to be coming apart. I did brake my horse in slowly to them and he hasn't gotten any chafe or rub marks. Its nice that I don't need metal shoes anymore but there are always pros and cons with any product. Happy Riding :-)
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These ARE good boots I bought a pair of Cavallos several years ago for my husband's trail horse who was recovering from a hoof abscess. I didn't want to put shoes on her, but I wanted to ride her and the boots were a great solution. I just bought another pair for my young dressage horse who paws something fierce in the trailer. They protect her hoof (and my trailer!) from getting too banged up. The only hard part is sizing. I wish I would have purchased one size down for her. She measured right on the line between 4 and 5, and I went with the larger size. In hindsight, I should have gone with the smaller. Since I don't ride her in them, it isn't a huge deal. They are holding up well to her insults...they are a well-made boot.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Protection This is my second experience with Simple Boots having used them on a horse I owned before. They are extremely easy to put on and provide excellent protection for a newly barefoot horse. The only negative is that I actually ended up purchasing two pair because the pair my horse actually measured for ended up rubbing the bulbs of her heels. Getting a size larger corrected the situation and I'm very pleased with the product overall.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cavallo boots Retraining my draft cross ex-buggy horse for dressage is slow anyhow and wasn't being helped by continuously losing his shoes in turnout this summer! We're experimenting now with keeping him barefoot. But as his feet grow out, he has been tender-footed on any surface other than grass and consequently short-strided in my stone-dust riding arena. So I'm trying these boots for riding. They are easier to put on than other brands that I've tried in the past when one of my horses has lost a shoe. So far there has been no irritation to his heels or pasterns but they do tend to collect small pieces of stone. I don't think this would be a big issue in the pasture but I don't want him to wear them all the time. He is much more comfortable now for our short training sessions. The only change I would like to see is a more beveled edge along the front to help him "break over" in stride. He wears a size 2 shoe. We found that the size 4 boot was too large but size 3 is just right.
Date published: 2012-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boots. I think they will hold up in our Virginia weather. The drainage is a nice feature- no rocks just some mud and shavings got into the boots. The heel is set wide but I slowly broke my horse into the boot so he wore his own heel bulb marks. still watching him closely for any sores b/c I am leaving them on 24/7 with the exception of cleaning and airing out.Happy trails!
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stayed on, but rubbed The boots were thick and strong, and they were easy to put on. They seemed to be big, but fit snuggly at the base of the hoof. They stayed on well, but started rubbing just above the coronary band after about five miles of riding. They were fine for three miles, so they might be okay as an emergency boot.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best boots! These boots are high quality and perfect for riding my barefoot horse.
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boots Only tried once, but these boots seem to fit OK. They are loose, a little clunky, but they don't rotate. I think my horse will like them better once I get the gel pads in.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than shoes! I bought two pairs of these for my barefoot mare who keeps getting stones and pebbles in her feet causing abscesses regularly. I was initially planning to have her shod but my farrier recommended Simple Boots instead and he was right, they are much better than traditional shoes and are much cheaper! No more worries about pulled shoes creating more problems than good. The sizing is very critical - I had to order a size smaller for the hind. She wears these 24/7 but I take them off daily to make sure they are clean and haven't caused any sores on her pasterns (tried the Cavallo Pastern Wraps but they didn't hold up). She did have to wear them for a week straight while I was out of town and surprisingly they made it! They stayed on and didn't get turned around or torn up. They do tend to collect bedding inside them through the drain holes, so I make sure to clean them out before putting them back on. I do wish that they had the toe break-over like the Cavallo Sport Boots, but unfortunately those do not fit her hoof shape. I wish Cavallo made both the Sport and Simple boots in both hoof shapes - these are made for the more round foot where the Sport Boots are made for the more narrow foot. We'll see how long they last, but any longer than a few months and they will have beat the pricing of shoeing anyway!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! Functional even after a flood! This is my horse's 2nd pair of Cavallo boots. I know these boots are designed for trails, but whenever my mare loses a shoe or has any kind of hoof problem, I put these on her, and she never misses a minute of turn out. My first pair of boots are a couple of years old even surviving being swept across the barnyard in last year's 500 year flood. They are still functional!
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, hard to fit The quality is great on these boots, but the sizing chart is a bit inaccurate.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I have a horse with sensitive feet. Even when shod he tends to tippy toe around. I thought about putting pads on him, but decided to try these boots instead. They're great! First off, they fit him very well. Second, they seem to be very well made (I'll see how well they wear over time) but, best of all, he's sounder than he's even been. I've ridden him over rocky terrain and through mud and have not had a single problem.
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Life Saver! I truly cannot say enough about how great these boots are! My OTTB suffered from a terrible series of hoof abcesses (he's been off the track for over a year now and his hooves are just now healthy from having not been taken care of). One of the abcesses was so bad that it went from the coronet band all the way down his hoof and out the bottom. It hollowed out the space underneath his hoof wall and he lost a huge portion of the hoof wall. The vet wanted to leave the hole open for a while for cleaning purposes, but the farrier was worried that leaving it exposed would result in more hoof loss due to wear and tear on the edges of the hole. These boots were a PERFECT solution and I don't know what I would've done without them. Not only did they provide the protection he needed, but they also stood up to the wear and tear of my very hot OTTB once he started feeling good enough to gallop full-speed around the pasture again.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to put on and remove; stays put. I would not recommend using it over long periods / long rides. Made the mistake of leaving it on overnight due to a missing shoe and hard ground. Rubbed horse's heel raw. Otherwise, works fine and has held up really well - we use them on occasions when shoe is missing.
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Careful of sizing Borrowed a set of size three's, slightly too big, sized using instructions and chart and bought a size 2. Have to admit got the size 2's put them in my trunk for when I might need them, pulled them out when my mare pulled shoe and NO WAY would a 2 work. I should have stuck with the slightly bigger 3. Advise - go size bigger than chart dictates.
Date published: 2011-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boot review The Cavallo Simple Boot is just that...simple to use. However, the two outside velcro straps caused me much concern and worry when I used them for the first time. We were riding in wet conditions and the outside straps kept coming loose. Several times I had to dismount to strap them up again and it became annoying. However, the boot did stay on and I stopped worrying about the outside straps. The inside velcro was strong enough to keep the boot on and the balance of the ride went well. I would recommend that the outside straps be redesigned to be one large velcro strap, however.
Date published: 2011-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT when missing a shoe! Bought these for a horse that continually pulls a shoe during turnout - stays on overnight to protect his bare hoof. Easy to put on / take off; no rubbing - love it!
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! My horse was unable to wear shoes for about six weeks. I used these boots to protect his hooves, until I could ge shoes back on him.These boots stayed on and held up, even though my horse tried to take them off multiple times.
Date published: 2011-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever My older appy mare injured herself this winter in the deep snow. She ended up on stall rest and consequently foundered. She couldn't even move but with the Cavallo boots and laminex, she is doing great! She hasn't walked so good in years. Thank-you Smartpak for saving my beloved friend.
Date published: 2011-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cavallo Boots I recently joined a mouted unit and my horse Rolex has never needed shoes. Since the terrain we would be riding on would be mostly asphalt and concrete he was going to need shoeing. I researched forever for an alternative to shoeing. A friend of mine recommended the cavallo shoes. I was very impressed with the perfect fit . They are easy to put on and off , there was no rubbing and my horse did not notice they were on. Well worth the money.
Date published: 2010-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for barefoot horses So with going barefoot, comes the issue of going on trail rides with stone paths, slick roads after rain etc. My thin-soled mare is a completely different horse once I get these boots on her. They are easy to put on too. The fit is the part that got me a little bit. After a trim she is a perfect size 2. Six weeks later though and she is a size 3 (her feet grow a lot!). So I needed to get the 2nd pair to get me through those last few rides until the trimmer arrived. You can buy studs for these now too but I have not tried them yet.
Date published: 2010-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy With Boots My two horses are bare foot all the time as we live in an area where it is soft and sandy. Several times a year we go on week long rides in the mountains and in some rocky areas. Previously we had to shoe them prior to leaving and they always seemed sore for a day or two after removing shoes. The added cost of the shoeing was always a sore spot for me so we started looking for alternatives. Someone recomended getting boots. I was very skeptical and talked with several industry professionals, Ferriers, and read reviews until my eyes could stand it no more.We settled on the Cavallo Simple Boots We used them for the first time last week. It added about ten minutes per horse extra tackup time and about 20 minutes tack off time. (washing the boots and setting out to dry took the extra time). The boots worked very well, our horses were never bother by the rough terrain,the boots stayed on through the mud, swimming in the lake, steep hills and really protected their hoofs.The boots did not hinder the horses. they were able to walk, rack, pace, and canter as if they were bare foot. They were as sure foot as ever.I am very pleased with these boots.I would suggest having boots on hand to test fit. Proper boot fit was my biggest issue and went to great lengths to measure the hoofs, Had the ferrier come by and measure to double check, made tracings of hoofs.... we got it right on two and wrong on two. Luckily the Tack store we bought from (Black Bottom Stables and Tack)were really good about exchanging the boots for us.I would recommend the pasture raps that are sold by Cavallo. There was some minor rubbing on the rear feat at the back of the pastern.
Date published: 2010-08-19
  • 2016-08-24T11:21CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_6712, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders