Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Cavallo Simple Boots

Cavallo Horse & Rider
- Item #16712
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Cavallo Simple Boots are multi-purpose hoof boots that are excellent for all-terrain hoof protection for the barefoot horse. Allows natural expansion of the hoof wall as well as increased blood circulation. Absorbs shock so your horse's legs don't need to! Also provides comfort for chronic pain, hoof sensitivity and helps with rehabilitation from injuries, abscesses, navicular disease, laminitis/founder, punctures, sole bruising and contracted heels. Adds protection during trailering and breeding and works great as a "spare tire" when a shoe is lost. Lightweight, simple to put on and remove, and stays securely on the hoof. Shaped for the natural hoof (needs no inserts or shims). 

Favorite Features

  • Simple front fastening with industrial grade VELCRO® brand closures
  • Genuine leather upper
  • Mould-in back flap for bulb protection and abrasion resistance
  • Durable construction using waterproof thread, rustproof metal and high performance TPU outsole
  • Soft leather foam-filled collar
  • Outside tread pattern supports the hoof wall
  • All-terrain tread minimizes build-up of mud, sand and debris. Excellent traction while still allowing natural movement
  • Built-in sole relief: Raised inner rim takes pressure off sole, bar and frogs


Sizing It Up

Black.  Sold in pairs.  Sizes 1-6.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Veredus Magnetik Stable Boot Evo include 28 ...
The Veredus Magnetik Stable Boot Evo include 28 Neodymium magnets which develop a power of 2400 Gauss each to promote healing and reduce swelling. Magnetic energy stimulates the production of Elastin and Collagen, which are essential elements for rebuilding tissues. ...
Finally, a convenient source of dry cold therapy ...
Finally, a convenient source of dry cold therapy for injury prevention and management that is cost effective! Top quality ReitSport Cold Bell Boots include removable Cryopak cooling cells that stay cold 23% longer than ice, providing a convenient and reusable ...
Over 50 years of reliability behind these effective, ...
Over 50 years of reliability behind these effective, therapeutic boots. The quiet running industrial compressor produces aeration around the coronet that massages, reduces swelling and aids in injury recovery. Water depth and temperatures can be varied, and medications (water-soluble) can ...
As an incentive to conscientious horsemen who realize ...
As an incentive to conscientious horsemen who realize the benefits of booting all four legs, a Value 4-Pack is offered which contains a full set of both front and rear VenTECH Elites at a substantial savings. Combining the high level ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric infused with ceramic powder, to reflect the horse's own body-warmth to create a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate discomfort associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints and ...
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue.Neoprene outer ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Cavallo Simple Boots is rated 4.550561797752809 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Tracking Out !!!! I purchased these boots a few weeks ago with a little hesitation. Having a 19 year old quarter horse who never wore shoes let alone boots I wasn't sure what to expect. I bought since his feet seem to be more sensitive as he aged. He loved them. He moved forward and I could see that he had more spunk in his stride. I highly recommend buying the boots rather then paying for horse shoes.Thanks
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Boots, Very durable! I bought these boots for my gelding to wear through the fall and winter while he took a rest from having shoes on. Since he needed support 24/7 he wore them for long periods of time, with a few days off in between. They survived rough turnout, including mud when it rained and two winters with heavy ice and snow! I had the same pair for two years and even as rough as they look, I can still use them in an emergency (I have the new Trek model now). We can walk, trot, canter and I've even jumped him up to 2'6 in them without any problems at all. They are a great boot.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSu3WGAKNzQ (Video of him hand galloping in his boots)
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots I bought these boots a few weeks ago and both myself and my horse love them. They are easy to put on tan stake off. My horse Hershey seems to be very comfortable in them and enjoys them.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cavallo Boots I just bought these boots and only used once. They are easy to get on. They did not fit as flush around the top (coronet band) area as I thought, but I went on a 1 1/2 hr. trail ride and they stayed on fine. I bought them to use on the horses I don't keep shod, and I only use them on the front. They worked perfectly. We have hard packed rocky ground, and they protected the hoof as expected.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boot I bought these boots for my gelding who became lame and he has been able to walk normal while his foot heals. I do recommend that one cut the straps to the required length and use the "keepers" that come with them since if the velcro gets wet, the straps have a tendency to come undone. I wish SmartPak had the size 0 since my mare needed this size and I had to order the size 0 from Cavallo
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love so much! These boots have made a world of difference for my old guy. He has thin soles, and the hard ground has caused accesses and continuing foot pain. So much more comfortable, and walks, trots and even canters (at 29) with no pain.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I have a founder prone Mustang that is walking on her soles. Theses boots worked great to help alleviate her discomfort.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought these boots for my mare. I hope to use them for trail riding and the occasional covering to keep bandaging on the hoof. These boots are a great quality and a size 2 fit her perfectly! I am very happy with my purchase and look forward to having these boots for many years!
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit and price! I bought these for my retired gelding. They fit him well and work great for easy trail rides. No issues with rubbing or the boots getting lose. Sizing is accurate.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I do a lot of riding on the pavement, so I wanted something to help protect from road concussion. These are working great for my horse, and she seems to like them. They run big though, so if you are measuring and have any doubt about size, go DOWN.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots These are very nice boots for horses. Easy to use and install... But it runs big. So go a size down is my suggestion.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for road riding Bought these because we are having one of the wettest years ever. I live in a neighborhood, so we're riding on the roads a lot to get dry ground, and I was worried about concussion injury. So far, no rubs even though my horse's skin is wet every time she has them on, and she hasn't been sore at all, even on 1 hour rides on pavement with trotting and cantering included.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from luv these boots! This is the first time I ordered boots for my horse. Last time she was shoed she was cut back to far and couldn't walk and in a lot of pain. My vet told me to order her a set of boots - my neighbor had some Old Mac they were the correct size but it took forever to get them on! I was wore out before I ever started riding.and they could only stay on the horse for 8 hours. I needed some for 24 hours at a time if necessary. When I got the boots they were so simple to put on! Then it was muddy and had to go thru some deep mud - thought this will tell if they are worth the money - knew they would come off but they didn't. Since then still have crossed a lot of creeks and mud places and they were secure!
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! My horse just refuses to keep his shoes on in turnout. His feet are really paying the price and I think I'm personally supporting my farrier's 401k. I bought these on his recommendation a few weeks ago and so far, they're working! Easy to fit, easy to take on and off and seem to be holding up well. My horse is totally unbothered by them. I did have a hard time figuring out a size and landed on a size 5. Not sure the measurements are accurate on the packaging. For reference, he's a 16.3 h Holsteiner and 5 fit. Another horse about his size in my barn has the size 6. I think warm bloods are going to generally fall between those two sizes.
Date published: 2015-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought these boots for my 28 year old quarter horse gelding a couple of weeks ago. I like to keep him barefoot during the winter months but this year he is having some trouble with soreness in his front feet. These boots seem to be helping him a lot. It only took him a short time to get use to them on his feet. The boots seem to have alleviated his pain considerably and he is moving around his turnout pasture much better. He does have arthritis in all his limbs so movement is very necessary to keep him from getting stiff. These boots do seem to run a bit wide but are pretty true to size in length. There are instruction videos on the internet that show how to fit a horse to these boots. I myself would not ride in them unless the fit is exactly right. For turn out, they are great! Very easy to put on and take off.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved our sore feet! Was in a BIG hurry to get some relief for my Reiner. Bad shoe job left him bruised, sore & "soled". The vet pulled his shoes and packed him for us but we needed some support ASAP. These arrived VERY quickly and were just as we expected. Met the need perfectly and within a few days we were able to get him moving far more comfortably. Will keep them for sure for hauling and show emergencies.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buster browns! We have horses with feet that chip easily. I do lot like to put shoes on their feet and for the price of 1 shoeing , the girls can have a new pair of " Buster Browns"! Yes I am dating myself!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item Fit perfectly and my gelding doesn't seem to mind them at all.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used them on a trail ride and during a lesson I bought these hoping to use the during the transition between shoes and barefoot (winter) I wanted to be able to take a lesson with them on and also trail ride. I have done both without issue. So they were perfect for what I needed them for. I haven't had the opportunity to take them through mud yet - so I have no input for that experience. But a representative assured me going through mud would not be a problem.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought these a few weeks ago for my horse that has been nerved in his two front feet. These boots work great to protect his feet. They are easy to use, and seem quite comfortable for him. Very please that I can now take him trail riding.
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to put on/off I bought these a month ago because my barefoot horse was good sore on the hard ground. Boots work amazing, sizing is true to size and they are easy to get on and take off. I have done flat work in the arena with them on as well and they are working great for my horse.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! Been using these boots for about 2 weeks now...my horse had an abscess and vet wanted his sole protected while it heals so he's worn them 24/7 on both front feet. I'm very happy with them so far, they have stood up to 24/7 wear and haven't rubbed him at all. They seem to be quite comfortable for him too. As other reviewers have stated the outer velcro straps are too big but they stay on with no problems. The only other issue I've found is that even with the drain holes, they do hold in moisture but with occasional applications of a thrush product just to keep things dry, I haven't had any issues because of that. So, as I stated, so far, so good! :)
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection Great proection- use these on our barefoot pony at shows when the walkways are stoney.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This boot stays on! I have many others that I have to go looking for in the field after they are turned out in them. These stayed on.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong, didn't slip for fall off! Although they're more expensive than some other options, they are definitely worth it. I can turn out my girl after she pulls her shoes and not worry about her losing the boot or messing up her foot.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Velcro needs work The Velcro inside the boot is wonderful (so far) but the straps come undone (outside). The "clips" they provide do nothing as they are hard to get on (nearing impossible) and then hard to remove the strap. Otherwise so far so good. Just got them about a week ago. Would I recommend? Maybe depends on the use. Grasses, dirt and etc. get stuck in the Velcro. My horse does seem to enjoy them and doesn't mind them at all.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not only Simple but Easy to put on This is my second pair of Cavallo Simple Boots. I have found them the easiest boots to put on when a horse looses a shoe and the blacksmith can't get here right away. They seem comfortable to the horse and prevent the hoof from getting torn up until a new shoe can be put on.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sadly this boot did not fit my horse and needed to be returned. The return was hassle-free and easy. My horse needed the "sport" boot and Smartpak does not carry that.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple but great I bought them a few weeks ago and they work great now that I have taken the shoes off I ride a lot and the road wears his hoofs down so i got them to keep from wearing the hoof too far down Love them 
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Answer To My Problem! I keep my mare barefoot year-round, but her feet are tender, and whenever I rode over gravel or asphalt, I could tell she was hurting. She always hesitated before stepping onto the surface, and she tried to keep to the side of trails whenever possible, on the grassy part. I researched these boots before I decided to try them, and they were the answer! Once she found out her feet no longer hurt, she was willing to go anywhere. Trail riding was pleasant for both of us again! They are a little tough to get the right fit at first, even with careful measuring (although SmartPak was VERY accommodating while I tried different sizes---thanks!), but once I had the right size, I was very pleased with them. They are easy to put on, and stay put. I love these boots, and so does my mare!
Date published: 2013-10-16
  • 2016-10-23T11:56CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_6712, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders