Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Carr & Day & Martin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #10080
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with an immaculate oil-free shine. Contains citronella to help repel flies. 

Favorite Features

  • A specially designed bottle to help apply the product exactly where you want it.

Made in United Kingdom

Sizing It Up

600 ml.


Customers Also Shopped For
Voted by the Horse Journal as the top ...
Voted by the Horse Journal as the top pick for finishing sprays, Hi Gloss adds defined highlights to muscle and accentuates all colors. A light oil spray, it is a quick and easy way to get that last minute sheen ...
This silky, perfectly balanced formula rich in natural ...
This silky, perfectly balanced formula rich in natural botanicals gently conditions while nourishing the delicate pH balance of a horse's skin to promote proper skin health as well as a thicker,Softer, healthier and more beautiful coat, tail and mane. The ...
Created exclusively by Shapley's, Show Touch-Ups are color-enhancing ...
Created exclusively by Shapley's, Show Touch-Ups are color-enhancing sprays designed to safely and effectively conceal stains, scars, blemishes, and flaws. Show Touch-Ups cover completely and will produce a wide range of color depending on the number of coats applied. The ...
Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer for manes, tails and ...
Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer for manes, tails and coats is a therapeutic lanolin enriched concentrate that assists in replacing vital oils to the hair and skin.Favorite Features Daily use helps to control dandruff and dry skin. Great for help with ...
Feel good knowing you are lathering your horse ...
Feel good knowing you are lathering your horse with the same healthy products you use on yourself!Warhorse Equine Shampoo & Conditioner is an innovative, multifunctional, high performing shampoo richwith nutrients and fatty acids from food grade, well knowningredients. Humble and ...
Patented 5-in-1 Miracle Groom formula cleans, conditions, detangles, ...
Patented 5-in-1 Miracle Groom formula cleans, conditions, detangles, deodorizes and shines. Works without soap or water to remove stains and brighten colors. Miracle Groom leaves a natural feel - no slick or greasy residue buildup and easily combs out ropes, ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Carr & Day & Martin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is rated 4.799242424242424 out of 5 by 264.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once a week tail spray!! This is my favorite tail spray because you don't need it every day. The new sprayer is interesting, it's continuous somehow.........
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New bottle new formula??! Been using this product for years and absolutely loved it (past tense). Got the new version in the black bottle (used to the white bottle), and the new product smells horrible, like strong industrial chemical fluid, and actually makes the tangles worse. The tail is so coarse after using, (and smells terrible) I had to wash it just to get rid of the tangles and smell. Hoping it's just my bottle (end of vat?) but not going to pay the $$ to replace a full bottle to see if I just got a bad batch.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product!!! I absolutely love this product!!! I've tried MANY mane and tail product, but this one keeps the tail conditioned and detangled for days. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is I hate the new design of the spray bottle. The nozzle often clogs or breaks easily.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff!!! Best tail conditioner on the market...keeps my gelding's thick tail tangle free and silky soft. Smells divine as well...an absolute must in every grooming tote!!!
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Silky! This conditioner makes combing manes and tails a breeze! It is easy to spray on with it's wide and fine mist spray. It makes the mane and tail very silky and soft. Plus the smell is great and helps keep insects away. Love it!
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product -poor packaging The product is very effective at detangling and conditioning the mane and tail. The pump, on the other hand, is useless. It worked 3 times and now I have to buy a spray bottle to transfer the product so I can use it. Others have had the same problems. The manufacturer seriously needs to look into providing a different spray bottle.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! This is the best tail conditioner I have ever used! It's a bit pricey, but worth the extra money! I have a paint with a mostly white tail and this really does keep his tail clean!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my secret weapon! Everyone is always asking me what my secret is. It's this glorious, magical stuff that turns a crispy tail into flowing, shiny, and soft! Limited breakage, smells delicious, can't recommend it enough! Still getting used to new bottle, seems to be a nice improvement on the old design.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great product, bad sprayer I love this product, but really dislike the new sprayer. It broke after about 10 uses. I can't unscrew the top to get the rest of the product out (which is most of the bottle), so I will have to cut it open. I would not buy it in this package again.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same excellent product; light-duty sprayer? I've been using this product for more than 10 years. It's fantastic and worth every penny! I bought the new bottle design and after a half-dozen uses, the sprayer broke. I think it's a very innovative design, and the continuous spray is very cool, but maybe not quite up to the rigors of barn use. I transferred the remaining product to another sprayer, so NBD, but just keep in mind you'll want to be careful with the sprayer. Still a 5* conditioner!!
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I've always liked this product . Haven't purchased it in a while and I don't like the new fancy sprayer it has now . Hard to use but the product seems the same.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! This product makes manes and tails feel like silk. It makes brushing very easy. The sprayer allows you to apply it evenly.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Conditioner and set angler! I've been applying to my mare's mane every two weeks and keeping in a braid in between with weekly brush outs. Her hair is so soft and no longer breaks off when I brush it. It also makes the hair "grippy", not slick, so it is easier to handle when braiding.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! effortlessly remove knots and tangles Sprays on easily and works immediately through tangles, knots and even on extremely dry, unconditioned hair. Leaves mane and tail shiny and beautifully flowing, even if you didn't have the time to wash the mane and tail prior to grooming. I really like this product. I feel there's less breakage and I'm no longer ripping out the hair just trying to gently brush through it. It works quickly and your horse doesn't get bored and aggitated as he previously would when he felt his hair was being ripped out even with gentle brushing. Also, the product does not have any funny or overbearing scent to deal with.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this product not expecting much but simply to try it because why not right? I will now never use anything else to condition my horse's tail. It doesn't make his tail sticky the way some other conditioners do and his tail stayed silky without needing to be re-sprayed for several days. This product exceeded my expectations and I will continue to re-purchase it when necessary.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Continues Flow I have used this product for several years. I almost didn't recognize it in the new bottle. It holds less product than I like. The advantage is, it gives you a continuous, broad spray. You can cover the mane in almost one spray. For the tail you can start at the top and work your way down, or spread the tail out & spray left to right.I spray the mane & tail first; then I leave it, while I pick the hooves. When I come back, it easily brushes through. When I use it every day, brushing is quick, easy & smooth.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome! I love this stuff! My horses tail had never looked so good. Makes the tail soft and full. Won't use another product again!
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner I watched a video from smartpak on Facebook and the girls in the video said how much they enjoyed this mane and tail conditioner so I thought "lets give it a try". I LOVE it .It took a little getting use to the spray action,kinda like a can of hairspray but with a trigger. Smell GREAT and works wonders too
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells wonderful I love this product for my horses thicknow mane and tail it doesn't build up and leave a residue and it getseems knots out very easily which is a must with the thick hair.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I just got my delivery and this stuff is amazing. Made my horses manes and tails look so amazing. Made them feel so nice and tangle free. The manes and tails look thicker with this product i love it.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have loved having this stuff in my tack box. It makes it so easy to untangle tails with minimal breakage. I've been so happy with this purchase! It might just go in Christmas bags this year along with my other favorite products!
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Main & Tail conditioner This conditioner is AMAZING and I really does last for days. Many of the students in my barn find the new continuous spray feature quite fascinating.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK I decided to try this product for helping condition dry tails in our arid climate. I have been using it for a few weeks and when applied daily, it does condition the tails. I had to use quite a bit and often in order to get the desired result. It does not leave any unwanted residue which is good. I will keep using it and hope I see better results soon. I like the spray mist controller and it is easy to squeeze. With such nice packaging and SmartPak video I thought the scent would be really pleasant but it is not great and little more like fly spray.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best mane and tail conditioner I bought this last year. It wasn't called "Silk", but I have a Tenn. Walker with the thickest and longest mane and tail. Nothing had worked for the last 14 years til I bought this. Dirty or clean, this makes caring for his mane and tail so easy and there is no breakage now. Will try the new "silk" and let you all know. But, I doubt there would be any negative results. Happy Grooming out there.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing else like it!! So happy with this product!! I've never seen anything else work as well. The difference was immediate and amazing!!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this about a month and a half ago for a new rescue horse at the barn that needed some love and my horse the rescue had a really damaged mane and tail and was very muddy after we gave her a bath we sprayed this on her mane and the next day it was amazing how big the difference was. I love this product and use it on my horse and I just love the way it works.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice bottle I have used this a few times, and have to say it doesn't seem to do anything. I gave it 2 stars because I like the bottle and it smells ok. The misty spray can be hard to direct.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it…. great conditioner. Not a silicone product. Helps mane and tail grown strong. Smells good.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Detangler I Use! I've used this detangled for years. If you use it after washing the tail, it provides a beautiful finish. I even works to detangle and let you brush out a dirty tail! AND it smells wonderful.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great conditioner used this product for at least 8 years and found continual success love it no residue easy to comb through promotes healthy hair on mane and tail
Date published: 2016-03-11
  • 2016-10-24T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_242
  • loc_en_US, sid_80, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders