Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Carr & Day & Martin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #10080
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with an immaculate oil-free shine. Contains citronella to help repel flies. 

Favorite Features

  • A specially designed bottle to help apply the product exactly where you want it.

Made in United Kingdom

Sizing It Up

600 ml.


Customers Also Shopped For
Voted by the Horse Journal as the top ...
Voted by the Horse Journal as the top pick for finishing sprays, Hi Gloss adds defined highlights to muscle and accentuates all colors. A light oil spray, it is a quick and easy way to get that last minute sheen ...
This silky, perfectly balanced formula rich in natural ...
This silky, perfectly balanced formula rich in natural botanicals gently conditions while nourishing the delicate pH balance of a horse's skin to promote proper skin health as well as a thicker,Softer, healthier and more beautiful coat, tail and mane. The ...
Created exclusively by Shapley's, Show Touch-Ups are color-enhancing ...
Created exclusively by Shapley's, Show Touch-Ups are color-enhancing sprays designed to safely and effectively conceal stains, scars, blemishes, and flaws. Show Touch-Ups cover completely and will produce a wide range of color depending on the number of coats applied. The ...
Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer for manes, tails and ...
Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer for manes, tails and coats is a therapeutic lanolin enriched concentrate that assists in replacing vital oils to the hair and skin.Favorite Features Daily use helps to control dandruff and dry skin. Great for help with ...
Feel good knowing you are lathering your horse ...
Feel good knowing you are lathering your horse with the same healthy products you use on yourself!Warhorse Equine Shampoo & Conditioner is an innovative, multifunctional, high performing shampoo richwith nutrients and fatty acids from food grade, well knowningredients. Humble and ...
Patented 5-in-1 Miracle Groom formula cleans, conditions, detangles, ...
Patented 5-in-1 Miracle Groom formula cleans, conditions, detangles, deodorizes and shines. Works without soap or water to remove stains and brighten colors. Miracle Groom leaves a natural feel - no slick or greasy residue buildup and easily combs out ropes, ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Carr & Day & Martin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is rated 4.799242424242424 out of 5 by 264.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST product for tails - EVER I have used this product for years, and the new packaging is wonderful
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Detangler! I have two Gypsy Vanners...so to say there is a lot of grooming is an understatement. My one girl has a double mane and a tail that is triple the size of a regular horse. This is the only thing I have found that allows me to brush through her wavy mane and tail without pulling hair out. It is like magic. It is light and leaves no greasy residue. I highly recommend it for easy brushing out.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!! I've been using this for years. It works great. Smells very nice and isn't sticky at all.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! Bought this after recommendation from a friend at the barn. I love that it keeps the tail tangle-free for a few days before it needs to be reapplied. My QH gets a very dry tail in the winter, and this definitely helps bring life back into it! The only problem I've had with it is that the sprayer on the smaller sized spray bottle broke and I couldn't use it. Had to get another bottle and transfer the product.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice misting nozzle This seems to be a good product. My mares tails look beautiful when finished and it makes for smooth and easy combing. Nice.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me : ( This product was recommended by some knowledgeable friends but it didn't work out for me.I as looking for a silicon-free product that wouldn't dry the hair. I found it to leave the tails sticky and prone to collect more dirt and debris from rolling horses! I have switched to yet another tail detangler that works much better or my guys.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works well, great smell, and I like the new bottle design!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Love this stuff keeps manes and tails nice. The new bottle is great, like it much better than the old one.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I have horse with a very, very thick tail. So far this is the only product I have found that works to detangler it easily and keep it that way. We love the fresh smell too!
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What is great is now better I love this product, it keeps my horses tail super soft and untangled without drying it out. I only have to use it once a week, if I do not wash her tail. The new packaging emits a mist which saves on product and is more evenly distributed than the old spray bottle. Tip - let it dry before you brush.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful conditioner!!!! Easy to use spray conditioner conditions with less mess and waste of product. Conditions well and lasts a few days. My horses tails were less dry and brittle and easy to comb through with less breakage. Nice scent is a plus!
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product I've used for tails My pony has a huge tail, enough tail for three horses. This is the only thing that doesn't have to be used daily to keep her soft and manageable, and won't dry out her dock like the showsheen does. It's expensive but worth it.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting! We have older, pastured geldings, but we like to groom them to check for ticks and injuries. The Canter Silk keeps the 39 year old from tangling and losing precious tail hair at his age. His part curly horse breeding gives him a coarse, wavy mane. The Canter Silk makes the mane manageable without pulling and lasts longer than many products we have tried over the years.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tail product Love this product!! Only need to use sparingly and it keeps the tail nice and soft and shines for over a week. Can actually brush her tail with my fingers. No snapping of long hairs - very nice product!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love that this is a spray! I did not read closely enough when I ordered this, and didn't notice it is a spray. Which is perfect to apply and really works well. It doesn't last for days, but what does? Smells great too.
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky smooth results that do last! I decided to try this one based on the good reviews. So glad I did! It does wonders to make the mane and tail hair silky soft and it helps repel dirt and dust for days after using. It's a little expensive, but the results are worth it.
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more knots Was using Mane and Tail but this is my new favorite!
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best. I panic when I run out of this stuff.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One application works for days! Bought this to help my QH regain his softer silkier tail after a long hard WI winter. Amazing results! It is a bit expensive for an everyday product, but definitely worth it for those challenging times and show weekends!
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky Smooth Conditioner Great product that leaves the mane and tail silky smooth! Best I have ever found!
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from leaves hair silky soft! I've used this product for two months now and for four horse shows and it keeps hair shiny and soft. It does not leave the hair feeling heavy or greasy.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great detangler This is a great product. Smells good. Softens and conditions mane and tail. Love this product!
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable results! Love this stuff. I started using it as part of my daily routine on both my horses full body and their coats are gorgeous, shiny, soft, and no residue!
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane and Tail Spray Around I would recommend this to any horse person out there! I used it on my Friesian for many years - great way to keep a thick tail soft and tangle-free.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I call it my "Magic Conditioner"! I bought this product after it was featured by one of the SmartPakers (I think it was a blog post?). I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I have a paint with a thick mane and tail (we ride at a hunter/jumper farm and he has an "illegal" long mane that I keep braided over, clean and tidy!). This product truly does what it claims-- a few quick sprays and his mane (and tail!) are silky smooth, easy to pull shavings out of and RIDICULOUSLY soft! I even used it on a draft cross (who has a RIDICULOUSLY think and long mane that was knotty and full of tangles) and in less than 10 sprays- her mane was detangled, shiny and BEAUTIFUL. I highly recommend this!
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST! I bought this on recommendation from my braider after getting a new custom tail. She said this was the best product to use on the fake tail as well as my horses tail. It is GREAT! Smells so good I would use it on myself. I'm ready to throw away all my other conditioners and detanglers! It costs a little more than most of the others, but it is worth every penny!
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great conditioner! I use this product exclusively on all 3 of my horses.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My favorite product ever! I've used this for a while now and it makes my horses tail very soft!!
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Protecting Precious Tail! I have a TB with an extremely thin tail, where no amount of patience and banging will make it look full--so I value each and every strand. With using this Conditioner, I am still able to brush his tail without concern of ripping a hair out. It is the perfect detangled and shine booster, without making the hair look oily or heavy. Totally worth the price and I would still buy even if it was 2x the cost!
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I finally tried this product after hemming and hawing over it for like a year. I have a half arabian that I show hunter pleasure in arabian breed shows - A long, luxurious, intensely maintained tail goes with the territory. Lets just say I will not run a brush through this horse's tail without this product in it. It leaves hair super soft, light, flowing, and gorgeously shiny. I even used this product at Nationals this year and his tail looked GORGEOUS.
Date published: 2014-09-13
  • 2016-10-25T12:30CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_242
  • loc_en_US, sid_80, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders