Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Big D Magnum Heavy Turnout Blanket

Big D
- Item #16480
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout!

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor
  • Durable 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining leaves the coat looking smooth
  • Toasty warm 300 gram fiber fill lining
  • Tailored shoulder gussets together with the VELCRO® brand and double front closure prevent sagging and rubs
  • Blanket twisting and turning is minimized with adjustable surcingles and removable leg straps
  • Longer cut, self closing tail flap protects the hindquarters from wind.
  • Fleeced wither

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Protect your horse from winter's worst with the ...
Description:
Protect your horse from winter's worst with the ultimate in turnout armor!The SmartPak Ultimate High Neck Turnout Blanket has all of the same great features as the original SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, including aHeavy-duty nylon shell that resists rubs and ...
The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
Description:
The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
One of Horseware Ireland's best selling turnouts! With ...
Description:
One of Horseware Ireland's best selling turnouts! With a fit like any other blanket available, this blanket will be your horse's best friend to battle winter weather. Favorite Features Waterproof & Breathable with Anti-Bacterial Lining Tough 1000 Denier Ballistic Nylon ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
Description:
The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer ...
Why We Love ThisThe Rambo Vari-Layer Supreme Turnout ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Rambo Vari-Layer Supreme Turnout offers a smarter way to blanket your horse! Vari-Layer technology provides added warmth with less weight providing more comfort to your horse. Horseware designed this blanket with additional layers of thermobonded fiber ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an ...
Description:
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an innovative design engineered to naturally move with the horse and ensure the utmost in comfort! This durable blanket is made from 1000D ballistic ripstop nylon and backed by a 4 year guarantee! ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Big D Magnum Heavy Turnout Blanket is rated 4.615384615384615 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Quality at a great price. Great fit for my horse.I have always been happy w Big D
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fits like all my other Big D blankets and as always very satisfied.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these blankets!!! I've had mine for 5 years!! They fit both of my Paints very well and they seem indestructible. Both of my horses have been pasture boarded for the most of the time and they have lived with many other blanket destroyers. Great value!
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! Perfect! I was very leary on what I would get with this blanket. Will it fit? Is it sturdy? Will my horse destroy it like he did the last one? My horse has had his new perfectly fit blanket on for 3 weeks now. It is AWESOME! It has held up very well & I'm very glad I purchased it. It also kept my horse very warm during -40 below weather. Yay!!! :-)
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnum turnout blanket Love this turnout! I layer my blankets as you never know what kind of weather you are going to get in Wisconsin. I just wish Smart pak would offer some of the more prettier custom colors available from Big D like the plaids and Burgundy rose pattern which is exquisite! Magnum outlasts Sterling and Sussex cheaper Big D turnout blankets. I would rec. the Magnum if you have a young horse and/or one that rubs.  
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for our quarter horse - and warm bloods too. I have several Big D American's which I bought for my warmbloods and love - tailored fit and beautiful color/quality.  I get constant compliments.  With the addition of a quarter horse to our equine family we added a Magnum Heavy.  Lovely.  More compliments and clearly so well made.  We have only had it for a month so it must still stand the test of time, but by all appearances we expect great results. 
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE QUALITY BLANKET I PURCHASED 2 FOR MY QUARTER HORSES. I ORDERED BY THE MEASUREMENT, THEY RUN LARGE BUT HAVING STOCKY HORSES THE EXTRA IN THE SHOLDERS AND BUTT IS NICE. THEY WILL WORK WELL WHEN I GO TO THE MOUNTAINS OR BEACH AS THEY WILL FIT OVER THE BIG D MAGNUM I HAVE FOR THEM (THAT DO NOT HAVE GUSSETS) FOR THAT EXTRA WARMTH.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I love this blanket, super durable, stands up to roughhousing, and looks great on. My only wish is that it came with hood attachments. Then it would be perfect.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Turnout Blanket Usual Big D quality and easy return on one that was too big (tho credit took a couple weeks to come thru in January). I thought there would be more insulation in it, given that it's the heavy style, but our use is over regular blanket in extremely cold weather anyway.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality What a fantastic turn-out blanket! I can not even tell you how sad it made me to return this item. My problem that did not allow me to keep this product was that the blanket went too far up the neck. I have a western pleasure horse with long mane, I would have no mane left if my horse wore this turn-out. WISH they made one that fit closer to the withers so it does not rub off mane.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Quality for $$ This blanket seemed well-made, and was rated highly. Our horse had it less than 1 month when it was torn on the INSIDE. The outer shell is nice, repellant, and it is warm. The inner lining is cheaply made and was obviously torn too easily. For almost 200$, I expect more.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality blanket This was nicer than expected. The warmblood horse I bought it for is very angular with a topline like a dairy cow. It fit her great and didn't rub her shoulders , withers or hips. This is a roomy blanket with long sides. It looks GREAT too. The outer shell is tough and the inner lining is smooth and coat polishing. I'm going to get a second one.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New blanket Well, it looks good. Durability will be proven next winter - my pal is HARD on blankets! One great thing - the handle on the bag got torn (I think in packing). I called customer service, and surprise! not one but TWO replacement bags - which will gladly put to use. THANK YOU
Date published: 2011-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made turnout blanket! I just purchased the heavy turnout blanket and sheet for my Quarter horse who loves to play rough n' tough with his herdmates. The workmanship is great and I like the 2100 denier fabric (difficult to find) I like the color combination too. I was lucky enough to order these items when you offered a special price on embroidery. His name adds a nice personal touch! He measures 74", but I ordered 76" as previous reviews state these blankets run a little small. The 76" is perfect for him. Thanks Smart Pak!!!
Date published: 2011-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will stick with they run a little small This blanket is feedlot tuff, It stands alone for quality and workmanship, others asked about this product.
Date published: 2011-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I absolutely love this blanket. My OTTB has had it for at least two full winters now and the ripstop has worked well!! He is turned out daily with a 3 year old and the two of them are constantly playing! It keeps him warm even in the worst of weather (and he is a thin skinned, short coated guy). The only bad thing I can say is that it doesn't come in a variety of colors (and I really like to color coordinate)!
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty good stuff blanket runs a little small, but excellent workmanship
Date published: 2010-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well, since you asked........ When I ordered this blanket it was on back order. I ordered the color blue. So, I waited for the blanket to come. When I got it the color was black. That's okay. I've only used this blanket once so far and with the exception that it weighs a ton I quite like it. That might be because I needed a size 86. I got it for a horse who is rough on his clothes, no dainty blankets for this one and this blanket appears to do the trick. The blanket fits true to size and looks like it will hold up for whatever Leo wants to try to do to it.
Date published: 2009-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite a blanket! These blankets were the heaviest we could find at 2100 denier, which was important to us because we leave our horses outside all winter, save the coldest days (below 0 days/nights), and we needed a blanket that could stand up to the herd. The blankets seem to be great quality, though I'll know for sure in the spring!! Heavier duty and has the same fill as all the Rambo blankets, but only $200!! The fit is great for our horses - we have three Arab crosses and a quarter horse, but I can see the roomier cut working on a warmblood. No rubbing after 96 hours with the blankets on. I'm pretty happy with them at this point!
Date published: 2009-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very heavy duty So far I have been very happy with this blanket. It is super heavy duty and very attractive. I find that it fits true to size.
Date published: 2009-02-05
  • 2016-09-26T12:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_6480, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders