Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D Devlyn Heavy Turnout Blanket

Big D
- Item #16484
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Only a blanket from Big D could have this many features and not be custom! Long-wearing turnout has a waterproof and breathable 1200 Denier rip-stop exterior. Tailored shoulder gussets fit the natural curve of the shoulder. VELCRO® brand and double buckle front closure reduces shoulder rubs. All stress points are reinforced, seams are double sewn and heat-sealed, rear darts are tailored not just folded over. The 210 Denier taffeta show lining reduces coat damage. Navy or Forest Green with coordinating trim. 

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • Stuffed with 300 grams of fiber fill
  • Removable elastic leg straps and surcingles keep blankets from shifting
  • Fleeced wither 

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
Description:
The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and ...
Description:
Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. All of the great features ofThe SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offersProtection against the elements and cold winter drafts. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Sheet offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
This sheet does a great job ofProtecting your ...
Description:
This sheet does a great job ofProtecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating.Favorite Features 11 oz. medium weight nylon mesh Closed front Adjustable nylon ...
Why We Love ThisThe Rambo Vari-Layer Wug Turnout ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Rambo Vari-Layer Wug Turnout offers a smarter way to blanket your horse! Vari-Layer technology provides added warmth with less weight providing more comfort to your horse. Horseware designed this blanket with additional layers of thermobonded fiber ...
The Rhino SmartPak Collection Stable Blanket will keep ...
Description:
The Rhino SmartPak Collection Stable Blanket will keep your horse looking stylish while staying cozy and warm in the barn this winter. Created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland. Favorite Features Soft, anti-static microfiber lining keeps your ...
A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, ...
Description:
A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, andProtection against cold and weather. Designed for horses with a narrower build, the seamless design helps prevent mane rubbing and is perfect for thin-skinned horses. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1000D ballistic ...
out of 5
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Big D Devlyn Heavy Turnout Blanket is rated 4.896551724137931 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FIT THIS BLANKET FITS MY HORSE SO WELL, I AM CONFIDENT HE IS SAFE AND COMFORTABLE WHEN PLAYING IN THE PASTURE. SUPER SMART LOOKING BLANKET
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great blanket I bought this blanket recently for my 26 year old quarter horse. he can be difficult to find a good-fitting blanket for, as he has those big quarter horse shoulders and he also has withers that are a bit prominent. I had tried many other blankets that were advertised as being cut for quarter horses, but none of them fit him well...most sat on top of his withers and made him sore and cranky. He hated this last blanket he had so much he'd pin his ears when I put it on him. Enter this excellent blanket. Great price, hangs lower so better coverage in the tail and side area, and put together really well. It fit perfectly from day one and he's a happy boy now. You can't go wrong with this blanket. Super warm and sturdy too.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! This is my first season using this blanket on my horse. It is definitely heavy and for colder temps. It's beautiful and holding up perfectly. It's easy to put on and take off and fits my guy very well. I would absolutely recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this blanket! I've used Big D blankets for 20 yrs. but this is the first turnout blanket I've purchased. It fits my Quarter Horse mare well, but unlike the Big D Kodiak or All American styles (more fitted) this one tends to shift to the side over her back. I wish that it had wider leg straps as the narrow elastic straps twist into a tight cord after a couple days wear. Other than that it is a very nice blanket that keeps her warm and clean and shiny. Well worth it's price!
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellant Blanket I bought this blanket just before the "polar vortex" was about to hit us. I was so glad I did. The blanket is one of the best made I've seen. Velcro at the chest helps keep it snug w buckles on top of that. The back leg straps are elasticized where it attaches to the blanket to give as the horse is moving. A really nice feature I thought. The top comes way up the neck past the withers w fleece to prevent rubs. This is the highest I've seen in a blanket coming up the neck ...again a very nice feature. The cover over the tail is nice and wide w a pleated fold. I don't know about durability because I have only had it a week. But I must say this is an Excellant product. I will be buying another one to replace my other horses blanket for next year. I highly recommend this blanket.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! Very nice blanket. Good quality and fits my paint mare very well. Highly recommend it. 
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket This blanket fits my wide bodied Quarter Horse very well.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS TURNOUT I bought this turnout last year when I bought my horse. He is over 17 hands, but was a little thin when I got him. This blanket hasn't ripped and has never rubbed. I have the Big D Espree Sheet for him too. Love them both and am looking to get another one for him!
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Customer Service The Big D Devlyn blanket is of highest quality and we know it will keep our horse warm on the trailer ride home after shows. We found that they do run slightly large, but no worries, Smartpak made the exchange VERY easy and their phone operators were cheerful AND knowledgeable. A hard combo to find in this age of outsourcing. Thanks so much. Our next order will be from Smartpak.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Durable Turnout Gorgeous color, fantastic quality, and great fit! We are ordering these turnouts for the rest of our barn.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Big D products I purchased the Big D Devlyn blanket after researching for a year. My quarter horse mare is tough on blankets and the 1200 Denier rip-stop is holding up. The fit is great and it always stays in place. I have a sleazy hood on my mare, so i'm not sure if the fleece prevents rubs. The taffeta show lining keeps her coat clean and shiny. I will always look at Big D products in the future, i'm very happy
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic Value What a fantastic turn-out blanket! I can not even tell you how sad it made me to return this item. My problem that did not allow me to keep this product was that the blanket went too far up the neck. I have a western pleasure horse with long mane, I would have no mane left if my horse wore this turn-out. WISH they made one that fit closer to the withers so it does not rub off mane.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BigD Devlyn Turnout My horse is an Arab Quarter Horse cross. Big D's fit well and I believe the Devlyn Turnout will hold up. She's nice and toasty in this blanket. Thank you.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket This is the first blanket that I've ever bought and I am really pleased. It fits my horse terrific. He had it on for three days and it stayed in place and didn't rub him at all. It was easy to adjust and goes on and comes off easily. We had a snow storm after we put it on him and it kept him dry and didn't soak up any of the moisture.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME BLANKET I originally just bought my horse the Espree turnout sheet, since it is a perfect sheet for the IL fall months. I loved it so much I just ordered this one and love how it fits! I haven't had to use it yet, but if it's anything like the sheet I plan to have it for a long time.My trainer's horse can't wear blankets cause he shreds them. She is buying the sheet and blanket I have b/c she doens't think he will be able to tear them as easy!Highly recommended!
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough Well Made Turnout I will always purchase this blanket for winter. Best quality; best price. Fits well; looks great and my horses have freedom to run and play without slippage. Cleans up easy; washes well; tough and durable. I am always able to re-use this turnout for several years for each horse.
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I just purchased this blanket about three weeks ago, and my horse has worn it every day. At 300 grams of fill, this is warmer than his other turnout blankets, but not so heavy as to smother him for our coastal weather. The front buckles are very sturdy, and the fit is superb. I like that the cut is longer on the sides.
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% satisfaction! This is a great blanket. I have a 17.1h retired show mare who thinks she is near hypothermia if it's below 40 outside! It is hard to find a blanket in an 86 that is nice and long in the barrel and this one is!! She is pretty hard on blankets out in the pasture and she hasn't even put a snag in this one!! I recommend this blanket to anyone!
Date published: 2011-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Item I had tried several blankets for my 21 y.o., on the small side, quarter horse. None of them seemed to fit. Enter Katrina from SmartPak, recommending this blanket. It fits him very well and seems to be superior to the other blankets. No back seam, tail flap sewed on, not velcroed on, fleece on the wither, quality fabric etc. Since I ordered late in the year, I can not recommend a durability rating, but it seems like it will be very durable. I would recommend everyone having an issue with fit for a smaller quarter horse to talk to Katrina.
Date published: 2010-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made product! Great quality, very well made, and a perfect fit! Will purchase more. Big D blankets are exceptional. (this is not my first nor will it be my last) This heavy turnout is just perfect for northern Minnesota's cold weather! We get temperatures in the -30'F below zero and this blanket works well!
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Satisfaction This blanket is fantastic! Completely satisfied. We just got them in time for the "Blizzard of 09" and all the horses really appreciated them.
Date published: 2009-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than promised This blanket is doing its job! Keeping my horse dry, warm and comfortable, no rubs no binding. Fits great and is well made. Customer service from SmartPak was excellent, blanket arrived a day earlier than promised.
Date published: 2009-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket This is a very nice blanket at an affordable price. It unfortunately was a bit too small in the shoulder/ neck area for my horse,but I definitely would try it again for another horse.
Date published: 2009-10-20
  • 2016-09-27T12:36CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_6484, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders