Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Baker™ Halter

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13046
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The famous Baker™ Plaid is now available in halters! The Baker Halter features a full leather crown piece. Brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, the Baker Halter is made in the USA. Original plaid.

Coordinates with our Baker Leadline!

Favorite Features

  • Famous Baker™ plaid
  • Leather crown piece
  • Made in USA

Please note, all breakaway halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Customers Also Shopped For
Gone are the days of switching halters and ...
Description:
Gone are the days of switching halters and bridles. The Tory Leather Combination Halter & Trail Bridle is two products in one. For someone who leisurely rides or one who wants a trail bridle, this bridle is a perfect candidate ...
WithHeavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand ...
Description:
WithHeavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand polyester Blocker Lead Rope is an excellent option as a lead and works perfectly with any of the other Blocker products. Sizing It Up 12' long rope Imported
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed, featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully ...
Keep your horse comfortable during transport with a ...
Description:
Keep your horse comfortable during transport with a Sheepskin Shipping Halter. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Double stitched 1" shipping halter has an adjustable double buckle crown, throat snap for easy on, ...
This halter received the royal treatment with the ...
Description:
This halter received the royal treatment with the addition of the Newmarket pattern. The Rambo Newmarket Halter is made with durable polypropylene webbing and cozy Newmarket fleece on the headpiece and the noseband. Adjustable crown and throat clip made for ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Baker™ Halter is rated 4.554347826086956 out of 5 by 92.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love this Very pretty, runs a bit big. Lovely colors for bay/black/greys
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This halter is awesome! This is the second one I've purchased (the previous one was purchased for a large horse.) It's super cute and looks good on almost any color horse. My only complaint is that the noseband isn't adjustable.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely baker design and sturdy hardware! I bought this a few weeks ago and its been holding up really well! The leather crown piece is soft and supple,
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks great but breaks too easily. The Baker Breakaway halter looks great and works well...perhaps too well. The leather strap, which is very thin, broke the first time I used it. My horse barely pulled and it broke. Then I had to go catch him because he was loose. Thankfully, I brought a back up halter. I'll be looking for a thicker replacement strap. Not sure I would purchase again.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought in 2013 - still going! I own a large hanoverian warmblood with a stocky build. I tried 4 halters before this one, and this is by far the best fitting. I purchased the halter from SmartPak in 2013 and have used it as an everyday barn halter since. We are going on our second leather crown piece (our stall & pasture partner is 1yo and uses the ends as a chew toy) but the nylon and hardware are in perfect condition. As usual, a Baker product that fits and lasts. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fit The halter fits well, is well made and the hardware is good quality, heavy duty brass. Overall, I am very pleased with this halter.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I have had the hardest time trying to find a nice, well-fitting halter for my Belgian/QH mare. She is very hard to fit! Her head is too small for an oversize, but most horse size halters were too tight in the throat. I decided to order this because I love Baker products, and since some of the reviews said the horse size seemed generous, I felt like it would work. This halter fits her perfectly, and has held up to her beating it up everyday as well. I will say that it is more generous than your average horse size halter, so take that into consideration when picking your size.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the halter but hardware has rusted fast My guy has been using this daily for 9 months. It seems to run true to size: he is a 17 hh WB with a thick throatlatch and the extra large fits him well. I love the halter, but the hardware (especially the throatlatch snap) has started getting rusty. When I looked up the item to write this review I noticed that the hardware is "brass-plated" rather than solid brass, which must be the issue (?). It is kept either in the barn or under cover outside, so it doesn't sit in the rain for hours. I'm bummed because it's a nice-looking halter but I won't buy another one. At that price I would expect the hardware to last as long as the nylon does.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dapper My handsome little palomino looks like a real dapper dan in his new halter. I bought it for attending shows as it has the thin break away leather crown (for safety). I had a brass name plate added to the cheek to prevent it from disappearing while in my class. The nylon is not soft and I would not use it as a daily halter. The designer look, though, makes it perfect for the occasional trip out, as we are all equestrians first and fashionistas second.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks great! fits perfectly! gave this as a gift to one of my best friends for her TB gelding. it fits perfectly & looks gorgeous on a dark bay!
Date published: 2015-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Baker Style I purchased this because I love the 5/A Baker style and reputation for durability. With spring coming, I wanted his halter to match his turnout sheet. Some of the prior reviews I read mentioned the thin leather -- but that didn't deter my purchase. I can always replace.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baker Halter Good Buy Purchased this as a turnout halter for a fairly large headed horse. It fits well, I really like the English chin. My only complaint is the leather crown piece was very flimsy making it hard to slide the halter on and off.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit Halter appears to be of high quality. Fits very nicely & looks great.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handsome halter! I wanted a halter that would be safe and durable for turnout and daily use... and I also wanted something that would look handsome on my gelding. This fit the bill! The leather crown is on the thinner side... but it's still quite sturdy. Nice quality, seems to be wearing very nicely.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker halter I bought this 3 weeks ago and I love it. It is sturdy and well made. The fabric and leather breakaway are really nice. Love it!!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker Halter This is a must have for each of my horses for turn out. Love it.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great, has that BAKER look of luxury This is a great halter for the price. Baker has an air of luxury and horse people recognize that. It looks much more expensive. I like the safety and look of the leather head piece and the cleanable body of the halter.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Great The leather looks way better in person I was pleasantly surprised. It looks and fits great for an everyday halter.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look!!! It looks really good on my Chestnut mare and love the safety!!!
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Baker!! As a Baker fanatic, I had to get the Baker halter and lead for my collection of all things Baker! My horse looks great in it and of course it's of great quality. I get a lot of compliments on it.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I love this halter, it looks very handsome on my boy. Smartpak delivered on time, as usual. Love Smartpak!!!!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't live up to my expectations I love Baker products but was a little let down by this halter. I ordered the large horse size for my 17 hand warmblood. It was so big that even with the crown piece on the tightest holes it hung really loosely under his face. Maybe it would have fit a very large draft horse. I could have exchanged it with SmartPak's free shipping however I just wasn't in love with it. The nylon is thin as is the leather. 
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love. Love. Love. This halter is a great, everyday barn halter. It looks very nice and I love knowing that my horse can go out in the pasture with it on and if it gets caught it will just break away. I've turned my horse out, groomed, trailered, and bathed her in this halter. It still looks great and is holding up amazingly! It also fits really well.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this halter - Baker never ceases to amaze! I just wish it came in a Cob size - it's definitely too large for my petite mare's head. Otherwise, great halter at a great price (especially for a Baker product)!
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baker halter Love the Baker plaid, crown leather piece single leather and I feel like it may need to be replaced down the road soon. But overall I love the halter.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter I've only had it for about a month, so I don't know how it will stand the test of time, but so far so good. It fits my horse perfectly and it hides dirt well. It gets lots of compliments too.
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Durable, Looks Nice after Six Years! I bought this halter over six years ago as a nice halter that my horse could wear around the barn. I use it daily and it has been used on three different horses with cob to oversized heads and it fit all of them very well. The halter still looks amazing and all I have replaced is the leather breakaway top after my horse has a moment.I love the brass and I love the snap at the cheek. Makes it easy to get on an off. The durability of this halter will make me buy it again. If this one ever wears out! Worth the purchase price.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday halter Bought this Baker halter for 2 of my young Holsteiners, love the leather breakaway crown, it fits both horses lovely. Would buy another..
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter! Very happy with the quality of leather and nylon part of this halter. Not too stiff yet holds its form!Am wanting to get one for each of my horses!
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter! my mom gave this to me for Christmas and it was at the top of my list! I adore the traditional baker plaid, as well as the tartan. the crown piece does seem a little thin, but the rest is exceptionally durable:) The first time I put it on my horse, he rolled in it and it stayed fairley clean, and did not slide off or hurt him or anything lke that! I only wish that the crown piece was a bit more durable because it get very dirty, but nothing a little leather conditioner cant fix! I also wish it came in Tartan to match his blanket!
Date published: 2013-03-17
  • 2016-09-26T12:32CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_3046, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders