Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Antares Elastic Breastplate

Antares
- Item #14726
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements.

Complete adjustability and comfort for your horse. Classic blue and white elastic portion (1.5" wide) provides extra give in shoulder area. Wither straps have removable snaps as does the running martingale fork and the portion that attaches to the girth. The wither pad and the girth attachment are generously padded with soft calfskin. Decorative signature Antares stitching on the wither pad and Antares stud at the center of the neck portion

Favorite Features

  • Complete Adjustability
  • Elastic portion for extra give in the shoulder area
  • Removable snaps on the with straps
  • Removable snaps on the running martingale for and the portion that attached to the girth
  • Well padded with soft calf skin
Made in France

Sizing It Up

1 (Cob), 2 (Full) or 3 (O/S).

Customers Also Shopped For
Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
Description:
Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Perfect match for the Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle and ...
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is ...
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Traditional style with raised and fancy stitch accents. Stainless steel hardware. ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully designed and manufactured to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with ...
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the ...
Description:
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the Edgewood Standing Martingale is vegetable tanned in the U.S. and has elegant and traditional styling. Favorite Features Raised fancy-stitch Rich chestnut finish that oils beautifully Crack resistant leather Smooth, nicely plated back ...
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. The Imperial Standing Martingale is a quality addition ...
out of 5
93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Antares Elastic Breastplate is rated 4.689655172413793 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my horse great! Bought this for my 16.3 warmblood. He loves it and it looks great on him.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great breastplate too short martingale I bought this breastplate a couple of years ago. It has held up well and fits my large 17'2" thoroughbred gelding well. However- the martingale attachment is WAY to short and if used would function more like draw reins. I didn't buy it for that feature - so I am still pleased with the item- but for the price it would be nice to have a functional attachment.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best quality; stands the test of time! I love this breastplate! It functions perfectly, easy and efficient to put on, and does its job! The leather is well padded and soft and noticeably extremely high quality. I recently purchased a second one to replace my old one. My old one was a few years old... And still worked just as perfectly as it has since day one. The color did fade a little but it has withstood grueling weather and use with no issue. The elastic stayed intact and has not stretched! It definitely does run a little big; my 17.2 warmblood is in a 2 with plenty of room to adjust! I highly recommend this breastplate; not just because it's gorgeous, but for the quality and usage you will get from it. It's second to none. It is pricey, but will hold up much longer than the cheaper versions.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I bought this breastplate a couple weeks ago, and was a little doubtful after reading some reviews. Honestly though, it's a great product and I love it. Get compliments everywhere for it, and it looks great on my horse. Does run large, as I have a 16.1h Dutch WB who fits cob easily.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this BRILLANTLY engineered breast plate This Antares breastplate(BP) is my favorite piece of tack. The BP is masterfully designed for quick and non cumbersome tacking up. The leather is beautiful and the elastic holds up. I bought my first Antares BP about a year ago and it is holding up beautifully. Having just purchased a larger horse I did not hesitate buying a second larger Antares BP. Yes the BP is pricey but you will be so happy with the product!
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this!!! I love this breast collar. Unlike other breast collars it keeps it's form instead of stretching out over time, it does a great job at holding my saddle in place on a horse that (even in a saddle that fits her perfectly) cannot manage to ever have the saddle stay where I was it to be. It is also easy to clean and looks great! I am constantly getting compliments on it wherever I go.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice elastic breastplate! Very lovely elastic breastplate. Pretty colors, leather was super soft out of the bag and high quality. Great idea with the clips--much easier to take on and off.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breastplate I do not write many reviews, but I had to for this. It is a lovely, lovely breastplate. The leather is so soft and such high quality, and the navy/white is really sharp on my bay horse.I originally ordered a size 2 for my light boned 16.1 TB gelding, and was surprised to find that it was too small for him, especially after reading the other reviews. For reference, he takes a ~medium tree saddle and wears 78" Rambo blankets. The 3 fits perfectly and gives me more flexibility for use on other horses.The only thing I would change is the snaps that connect the breastplate to the saddle. They are kind of dinky and seem breakable to me, and I found them hard to use. The snaps on the Hartwich Smartpak breastplate are much, much better and I have ordered some similar ones to replace the snaps provided on the Antares.In summary - expensive, but worth it!
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced for an elastic girth Quite disappointed with the price of this breastplate! For this amount of money I could buy many other things. I know Antares is known for its amazing quality which is why I wanted to try this product out, after using it for quite some time nothing amazing stood out to me, I was not blown away with this product.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Product! I have had this breastplate for over a year now and it looks like brand new! Just make sure you clean the leather every time you ride, it keeps looking great. I also found the leather to be really supple and it matches my horse fantastic! (He's a chestnut). It is a great price for what you get!
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy A friend suggested this breastplate to me, and I'm glad she did!It's definately worth the money, its such a beautiful breastplate!I read the reviews and noticed how some people said it didnt oil well, so I was a little skeptical when I started oiling mine but it ended up oiling fine. Mine has no spots at all, and it darkened very easily after one coat of neatsfoot oil. I've had it for about a month now, and so far no problems here.It does run large. I bought a cob-size for my stocky large pony (pony sizes are too small for her) and it's a little loose on her. But to be quite honest, it doesn't bother me since its so nice! I get a lot of compliments on it, and people are pretty quick to notice it's a nice breastplate. I'm so glad I spent the money on it, and I hope it lasts me awhile!
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breastplate I found This breastplate is gorgeous and matches my antares saddle perfectly. As an added bonus the sharp blue and white elastic and padded leather makes my new guy look great! I looked at a lot of breastplates including other top brands and more budget friendly brands. This is by far the nicest one I found as far as quality and features go. It does run huge though so factor that into your ordering. I have a 16.3hh tb and he wears a 1. Can't comment on durability since I just received it a few weeks ago but love it so far.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and functional I have been very impressed with this breastplate. The craftsmanship is lovely; it looks very classy and sharp. The fit is great, both in the cob size I bought for a connemara and regular size for a 16.1 h jumper. The leather is breaking in well. Overall a very nice purchase, though it is a bit expensive!
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GORGEOUS AND WELL MADE LOVE IT. Fantastic quality and gorgeous. Can't comment too much on durability yet but not worried. Very well made. Also gets an "aah" from people who appreciate beautifully made tack...like me. :-) Fits my 17.3 horse well (size 2) so would have to be a big AND thick horse to need a (size 3). SmartPak very helpful in measuring neck elastic to decide size.
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful breastplate! I am very happy with this breastplate! It is a little pricey, but it's worth it. It keeps my saddle in place without restricting my horse's movement and the blue-and-white elastic is very classy in the show ring. The quality of the leather is nice and it's quick and easy to attach the breastplate to the saddle and girth. The leather is holding up quite well and it should last a long time.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SHARP Looking Breastplate Again, not disappointed with Antares product. After my purchase of my Antares Jumping Saddle, I noticed my saddle slipping back. My trainer sent me back to SmartPak to find a breastplate and also a non-slip pad. I have to say, my non-slip pad fixed the situation but I am NOT giving up my breastplate. The Blue and White nylon looks so sharp and classy on my horse. I will save my breastplate for when I gain some confidence to step out of the sandy ring and begin to do a little cross country
Date published: 2011-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything You've Ever Wanted I received this breastplate as my one and only gift for my 15th birthday. It is extremely expensive: let's just get over that right away because it is seriously worth every penny. I've always admired them, horses just look so good in blue and white, and they are just as good as you have ever imagined. Leather is soft, doesn't oil real dark with Hydrophane but Antares oil could have different results. If I wanted it darker I might try that, but it's darkened a touch with use and it is beautiful. The elastic is super durable, just a touch of give so that the horse can use its shoulders. Holds up great, cleans up well. I bought a 2 for my 16.2 Thoroughbred, I would definitely go for a 3 for anything bigger than that.Buy it. Seriously, you will not regret it. It is effective, beautiful, and extraordinary quality.
Date published: 2011-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product Excellent product. Superior quality. Ease of fitting. Kind of pricey, however you get what you pay for. My horse LOVES it because my saddle does not slip any longer causing him back pain.
Date published: 2011-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous breastplate! This is a genuinely stunning piece of equipment. It's been beautifully crafted and there was not a stitch out of place! I love the look of the blue and white elastic against the leather, and it matches my boy's Antares boots perfectly. However, like another poster, I had some very small issues with leather quality. Unfortunately the breastplate did not oil evenly all over, and there were a few patches that appeared to refuse oil. They are not large - quite small actually - and hardly visible, so it hasn't been a big concern. It's still a beautiful piece of equipment! I am really looking forward to showing with it this summer.
Date published: 2011-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Showing! I bought this for my daughter to show in and she received so many compliments from everyone at the show. She entered in her first Mini-Prix Classics and won!!! What a day!
Date published: 2010-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very disapointed in leather quality This is my second review - my first was before I actually used the breastplate & it is gorgeous out of the box. I did oil it and condition it before using it but after only one event the leather is unevenly worn, colored and dry. I have been oiling it and conditioning it every night to try to restore it but a piece at this price point should be of much better quality.
Date published: 2010-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Breastplate I get excited every time I use this breastplate! The leather is so soft and doesn't need oiled the way it is. I love love love how every piece has an easy clip instead of buckles. Fits my horse great, looks great. The elastic allows just enough stretch to be comfortable for my horse, but not too much to let my saddle slip. I love this breastplate.
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful breastplate I was thrilled to get this breastplate for Christmas - it is a gorgeous piece of tack. I have the horse size for my 15.3h TB, I will need to punch a few holes to make the running martingale rings the correct length but the breastplate itself is slightly tight, which is good – a little room for the elastic to stretch as I’m sure it will as it breaks in so I’d say the sizing is pretty correct. It didn’t need much oil, the leather is very nice.
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality! Qaulity! Quality! I couldn't be happier with the quality of this breastplate! It more than lives up to the Antares name in tack. Nicely padded in all the right areas, supple leather and a perfect fit!
Date published: 2009-12-01
  • 2016-08-26T11:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_4726, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders