Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

AluShield Aerosol Bandage

Item #20749
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The AluShield Aerosol Bandage is the fastest and easiest way to protect wounds without having to wrap bandage on horses.  The unique aerosol formula protects wounds from water, dirt, debris, bacteria, and insects, while still allowing them to breathe.

Favorite Features

  • Safe for use on dogs
  • No need for a bandage
  • Allows wounds to breathe

Sizing It Up

2.6oz

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian ...
Description:
A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian Tea Tree Oil, Aloe Vera, Jojoba Oil, 1% Hydrocortisone, Benzathonium Chloride and Behenyl TMS in a soothing vanishing cream base. Aids in the treatment of 'scratches', girth itch, galls and sores, and ...
The AgSilver Line is now available in a ...
Description:
The AgSilver Line is now available in a cost-effective Daily Strength formula. EquiFit utilizes silver ion technology to create an all-natural alternative for the treatment and prevention of viral, fungal and bacterial infections such as scratches, rain rot, cuts, wounds, ...
Zephyr's Garden Healing Salve II is a MUST ...
Description:
Zephyr's Garden Healing Salve II is a MUST for everyday grooming, show tack trunks and horse first-aid kits. Use it on sores, cuts, abrasions, dry skin, rubs, cracked heels, anywhere your horse's skin looks irritated. It's gentle, yet effective. Zephyr's ...
Zymox Equine Enzymatic Skin Guard aids in the ...
Description:
Zymox Equine Enzymatic Skin Guard aids in the epidermal hydration, providing a temporary barrier against a broad range of bacterial and fungal microbes. This product features the patented LP3 enzyme system. The LP3 system contains Lacotferrin, Lysozyme, and Lactoperoxide. Each ...
?No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, thereby ...
Description:
?No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, thereby preventing frayed long hair, bald tail root and short, unsightly manes. With bio-sulphurous fluid and urea to normalise all biological processes, the hair thus becomes shiny and healthy! Favorite Features Quick and easy ...
Mane N' Tail Pro-Tect Wound Spray provides a ...
Description:
Mane N' Tail Pro-Tect Wound Spray provides a deep penetrating therapeutic formula. With unsurpassed effectiveness on organisms associated with Fungal and Bacterial Problems, Girth Itch, Rain Rot and Scruf. Safe and Gentle solution that will not irritate or stain Effective ...
Schreiner's Herbal Solution is a simple, safe and ...
Description:
Schreiner's Herbal Solution is a simple, safe and effective healing topical herbal application, endorsed and used successfully nationwide by veterinarians. The restorative formula promotes healing in open wounds, post-surgical sites, cuts, fungi and other skin disorders. By repelling pesky insects ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

AluShield Aerosol Bandage is rated 4.872340425531915 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wound spray of all. I've used this spray numerous times over the years. It is incredibly useful to have in your barn for cuts, scrapes, etc. I've sprayed this on wounds that were deep enough to be borderline suture/vet call. It is really impressive. It's looks like you are spraying on silver metallic paint and you think how can this work, but it does! Clean and treat daily till it's healed. I've thrown out any other wound treatments. Fantastic product to just keep on hand.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I was introduced to this stuff by my veterinarian when my grey had a melanoma on his tail that ulcerated (he swears by it). I was impressed not only by how easy it is to apply, but also how well it works to keep out dirt and debris while the wound healed. I was given another can by the surgeon who did the laser removal of the same melanoma two years later and it has been a staple in my barn ever since.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers easily Great to cover small cuts and scrapes stays on very well
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I couldn't be happier with how well this aerosol bandage works. I've been fighting with a fetlock sore on my guy's right front leg for a couple of months - despite deeper bedding and putting a wrap on at night - it just wasn't getting better. Until I started using this!
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Stuff! This is my go-to first aid product for cuts and scrapes. I have a very accident prone thoroughbred and keep a can of this in my grooming tote. I squirt wounds with a bit of hydrogen peroxide, pat dry with clean gauze, then apply this spray. Things tend to heal very quickly for me with this method. I love that it's not sticky, so it doesn't attract dirt and grime like ointments and creams do. It also stays on well. It usually lasts at least a day and is quick to reapply. I used it on one of my dogs recently, too (the can says it's fine for dogs). He had scraped open the top of his snout. It was an impossible place to bandage and he kept scratching it open and getting dirt in it. I was on the verge of taking him to the vet when I decided to try one last thing - I cleaned it with peroxide and sprayed AluShield on it and the next day the seeping had stopped and it healed very quickly after that.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick to Heal My quarter horse had a sore which was continually aggravated when he laid down. I used AluShield Aerosol Bandage and in three days it had healed up to 75% and one more use took care of his sore. It has not come back and he's comfortable once again.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go-to wound bandage Love this liquid bandage. This is my go-to covering for all open wounds. I usually clean and treat the wound, then spray this over it to form a flexible band-aid to keep out flies and dirt. Works and great and really stays on.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product and esdy to apply I love how easy this goes on and protects the wound.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Emergency Bandage I have actually used this product, years ago in human medicine. Works great. Sometimes the location of a wound does not warrant a dressing. this does the trick.
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great at what it does My horse had a run-in with a fence. Two layers of stitches (internal musculature & external skin). We used this to keep it clean and covered. It worked well and stayed put. I love alushield. It's a great product and I'm very happy with it. I've used it in the past and in summer, keeps bugs/dust out of injuries as well.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly effective My mare had a significant abrasion on the side of her face. After cleansing the wound site, someone at the barn gave this to me to try. Looks 'weird' when applied. Never used this type of product before. Well, the result was beautiful! The wound was well protected and remained clean, and allowed quick healing. Never a hint of inflammation or infection. Had to buy a can of my own for my first-aid kit to have on hand!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have First Aid After my colt was castrated my vet recommended using this to keep his incisions clean and tidy. It worked great! This is a must have in any barn first aid kit!
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AluShield Aerosol Bandage This product has done a great jub! I've tried 4 or 5 products, which have all failed, on a particularly hard cut/sore. There was no way to wrab it and the horse kept rubbing/itching it raw. This must have soothed it enough that it is starting to heal!!
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small cuts Living in Florida its a must. Once the summer sores are healing, I put that on to protect it from the flies, but found it was important to apply a few times during the day
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hard to bandage areas I've been using AluShield for years. My main use is on a horse who has photosensitivity on her white hairs (her blaze), and gets sunburned. While we keep a long nose fly mask on her year round, the AluShield is a great protectant under the mask. We also use it for scrapes and abrasions. When it dries, it's not sticky, so it doesn't attract dirt.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use. My trainer used this on my mare's leg wound, so I purchased another can to use when I brought her home. It works well on areas that are difficult to bandage. I used it twice a day and it kept the wound free from dirt and flies. She healed up well.
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on anywhere. I use AluShield on those hard to protect booboos that regular bandaging just can't cover. Wounds heal fast and flies hate this stuff!
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for fly sores I used this on fly sores and it's great. It keeps the flies off (even kills them if they're on there when you apply it) and isn't gloopy like the fly deterrent salves.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Super convenient. My horse could care less during application. Super results fast
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for grey horses I buy alushield regularly for everyday cuts, but its also great for when my grey show horse gets rubs or scars as it hides the mark.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works without the mess of balms I love this product it works wonders on small to moderate cuts and scrapes, heals them up quickly without the mess. I have a mostly white paint who's always getting nicks and scratches. My only complaint would be that the aerosol aspect of the product tends to clog after a while. That being said a can usually lasts me up to a year.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to apply; keeps scrapes clean I got this to use on my older Quarter Horse who often gets scrapes that need cleaning but bandages don't stay on well. AluShield is handy to apply after cleaning off dirt, etc. It stays on and keeps dirt and flies off the scraped skin.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product Helped a lot with a large hock sore. Kept out bugs and gave it a chance to heal from the inside.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is amazing!!! I seriously love this stuff for my mare! Not only do I use it for wounds, it works amazing for scratches/mud fever! My horse has horrible scratches and this has really helped. I love it and recommend it so much that practically my whole barn is using it now :)
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product for wounds!! I used Alushield for the first time last night after two of our mares got pretty banged up from running through the trees. This is the greatest product to protect the cuts and lasts through the humid weather we are having here in Central Texas! I am so happy my friend recommended it and will be adding this to our First Aid box!
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff!!! My mare had a sore on the back of her pastern that just wouldn't heal. She comes inside at night, but has 12 hours of turnout per day. Seemed like whatever was getting into the sore during the day prevented it from healing. Not wanting to put her on stall rest for a little sore, I tried all kinds of salves, kept it clean after turnout, and tried bandaging it. Nothing worked. Tried the AluShield (after thoroughly cleaning it and drying it)....one application was all that was needed!!! No more swelling or oozing. It healed right up!
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works fast My Trainer recommended this to my since my horse is so sensitive to flys
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool, Quick and easy This product is excellent for surface cuts and abrasions and does not inhibit regrowth of hair.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Helps with Healing It's rainy season here in Florida and my horse got a small cut on the bulb of this back heel, a tough spot to heal. I put a salve on the spot then sprayed with AluShield and the moisture was reduced greatly so the cut could heal nicely. This is great stuff!
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from must have This wound spray is great for "bed sores" on hocks and elsewhere. It lasts for a few days, and also keeps the flies away. It's a good value if you use it judiciously.
Date published: 2013-09-02
  • 2016-09-25T12:55CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_10749, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders