Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Alexus Waffle Tech 1/4 Zip Top by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20836
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Alexus Waffle Tech ¼ Zip Top is sure to quickly become a winter favorite! Features the innovative Alexus Waffle Tech fabric, this top provides the perfect combination of warmth and performance (with a little added style!). aesthetic. athletic. alexus.

Favorite Features

  • Smooth exterior allows for easy layering, so the top works great alone or also as a base layer.
  • Smooth exterior surface also won't snag or attract debris from the barn High/low interior waffle texture provides superior warmth.
  • All-way stretch fabric really moves with you Microfiber face wicks away moisture and dries quickly, keeping you dry all through your ride. 
  • Slim fit provides a flattering outline Fleece has high/low waffle pattern on inside for greater compression, airflow, and dry time ¼-zip neckline allows for easy on/off.
  • Fabrication: 93% Polyester/7% SpandexFinishing
  • Wicking and PeachFabric Weight:  320 g/m2  
Sizing It Up

XS (0-2) S(4-6), M(8-10), L(12-14), XL(16, 2XL (18)

out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Alexus Waffle Tech 1/4 Zip Top by SmartPak is rated 4.310344827586207 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just buy it -- it's like a hug I bought this a few weeks ago and was pretty on the fence about it. When it arrived and I put it on for the first time I was so glad I decided to get it!! This is sporty and cute enough to wear while running errands and such a great layer for the barn on a cool fall day. The fleece it is lined with isn't at all your typical fleece. Not staticy -- just perfect. I don't like my clothes to be restrictive, but I also don't want to look like a boy. This being said I usually go with a large. However I wanted to be able to wear another shirt or tank under it and got an XL. In my opinion the XL fits more like your average M/L. Snug to the skin, so no layering :/ I still love it, but I do wish the sizing was more accurate.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy and warm! I initially purchased the black top but loved it so much I came back to order the grey! I went up a size to ensure I wouldn't have a super snug fit. The fabric feels wonderful! I have a similar 1/4 zip top made by Under Armour and this one feels nicer than that! Can't speak for the durability since I just got them but they will definitely be worn a lot this Fall and Winter!
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super warm I bought this for a base layer to go under the many cute vests i have but it is so warm i can wear it by its self. very comfy, wish i had gotten both colors
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shirt, sizes very inaccurate I bought this shirt two sizes above my normal size because I wanted it to fit loosely. It barely fits me! It's a nice shirt and I will keep it but it runs significantly small.Buy at least one size bigger than normal. Other than that it is nice quality and comfortable
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shirt - can't wait to wear it I bought this at the end of the season on sale, and I have not had a change to wear it yet. I had to exchange it from a medium to a large because I felt the M was rather tight.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this top! Bought this top when it went on sale and love it. It is flattering on my curvaceous figure and extremely comfortable . The perfect weight for Vermont's cool Spring. mornings and evenings . Want more of these do they come in other colors?
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and great fit! I purchased this shirt solely for the purpose of receiving free shipping. It has proved to be one of my best purchases though! From being super comfortable to the fantastic fit it offers and ease of washing, this shirt is perfect!
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs long I am usually a small and bought this in a medium based on other reviews. It did fit close to the body but the sleeves and length were much too long for me (5'7"). I like the gray color a lot and would have kept it had the fit been right. It did seem like it would be a good layer for cold New England winters!
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite Love this shirt. It does run Small, but the extra long sleeve & overall length is perfect for riding. I'm 5'10" approx 150 lbs & the XL is just right. Haven't had long enough to know durability, but it seems well made & quality fabric. Warm for cool morning,but not too hot when it warms up. Ideal to layer under as well.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm in -10 degree temps! I needed more layering clothes for this lovely winter tundra we seem to live in on the North East. Received a $25 gift certificate from SmartPak customer care, same day as their Valentines day sale. Couldn't help myself! This does the job in -15 temps!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alexus Waffle Tech1/4 Zip Top -Excellent Top OUT STANDING Top! Keeps you toasting warm without layering. A must for riding horses in the cold weather.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs very small I bought this a couple of weeks ago and need to return. I ordered larger than I usually wear as I thought I would like it loose. It runs very small. Otherwise the quality of the material appears to be very nice.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good first layer in the winter This is a nice shirt overall. It's a bit long in the body so it's awkward to tuck in (especially into the zillion layers we wear up here in the winter) and the thumb holes aren't very comfortable. It could also use a zipper garage--the zipper pokes you in the chin. Other than that, it's comfortable and wicks well, and the silver color is a nice change from black or white.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alexus Waffle Tech 1/4 Zip I bought this under garment a couple months ago; and I'm glad I did!! I live in the Northeast; where it gets really cold...keeps me extremely warm without wearing layers of clothing. It's a MUST have item every horse person should own if you're riding in the winter cold months!!
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great top to layer, keeps me toasty! Brought this in a large and it was too long, the medium fits nicely without bulk, still a little long in the body but I can fold it under and still is comfortable. First extreme cold temps 0-15 this week and next so will give it a test again for warmth.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy top Got this top but it is very tight (can only put tight top or underarmour under it) May wear alone when weather warms up-very pretty and fabric wicks but order up from your normal size
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Very nice, lightweight, yet warm.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice top Good base layer but a little bulky for my liking. I should say I do get cold very easily and this product did wick moisture well but I did not find that this provided enough warmth under my polar fleece even in the heating barn/arena I was still chilled. Good fit and styling but just not very warm. I think it will be a great schooling top on its own in the warmer spring and fall months.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice layering top I love this top from Smartpak. While it is tight fighting, I had no problem fitting it over a layer or two as long as those layers weren't sweater thick. If you are right between sizes you may want to go up but I was fine fitting a long sleeve shirt under my size small.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this top Warm and comfortable, I couldn't ask for a better top to wear out of doors in the cold months while riding or doing chores. Nothing sticks to it (hair, shavings or straw) and it feels great next to my skin. Size-wise, it is very fitted, but quite stretchy. I ordered a second one, and went up a size, though it could go either way. I wouldn't try to layer anything under it, unless the under layer garment was ultra thin, but perfect under a vest or jacket if you need more warmth
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Top If You Are Tall And Thin I wish I could keep this top.It seems like it would be very warm and useful this winter but it is made for a tall, thin woman.The large fits like it's a size 4-6 and it is very long.
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but small I bought two of these shirts for a pas du deux. The description on-line said great shirt for layering. The fit is too snug to get much underneath and the shirt seems more like outerwear than something I would wear under a sweater. Nevertheless, they were a hit at the show. Understated but eyecatching.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice layering piece This is a really nice layering piece. It has nice long sleeves (with thumb holes!) and the waffle interior and smooth exterior don't attract fur the way a fleece does. I didn't rate it on durability since it just arrived but it seems to be very well made. I think it probably fits pretty true to size if it is going to be worn as a base layer, but if you want to layer under it at all it does seem to run slim through the torso so it might be worth sizing up.
Date published: 2012-09-17
  • 2016-08-28T12:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_10836, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders