Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Airowear Outlyne Body Protector

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #17161
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Outlyne body protector is the new soft and flexible body protector for women. Styled with a zip-front, Outlyne's design ensures women of different shapes and sizes can comfortably fit into a standard-sized body protector. Using the UltraFlex technology, the Outlyne vest molds around the body without relying on body heat to soften.

Designed for females of all shapes and sizes, the Outlyne is the latest body protector from Airowear. It has been developed through years of scientific research into how a body protector should fit the female figure. Outlyne combines maximum protection and unrestricted movement with a perfect fit and super soft flexibility.

Airowear is now breaking the concept that single-paneled body protectors are rigid, inflexible and uncomfortable! The revolutionary Outlyne body protector used the latest hi-tech materials which absorb and spread impact, thereby lessening the injury sustained from a fall or kick. Ultraflex technology is cleverly structured so Outlyne can spread around the torso, molding comfortably to the contours of the body.

Airowear's combination of Ultraflex technology with lightweight and perforated materials creates the ultimate in comfort for body protection.

The Outlyne body protector offers the maximum level of protection by fully meeting EN13158:2009 and BETA 2009 Standard Level 3. Airowear were the first and second to conform to BETA’s current safety standard. Outlyne is annually retested to give you peace of mind that the body protectors are consistently meeting the latest safety standards.

Favorite Features

  • Front Zip
  • UltraFlex Technology
  • Outlyne Body Protector
  • Unrestricted Movement
  • Meets the latest safety standards
Sizing It Up


Safety Vest Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The ...
Description:
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The Medici Paddock boot combines high-class European styling and precise elegance, with exquisite aniline calfskin leathers. This combination gives you a timeless edge to unrivalled refinement and enduring comfort. Tredstep 's specialized TMI ...
Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet ...
Description:
Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet in their extensive range, which continually evolves to provide riders with an ever increasing choice of headgear. Favorite Features The low profile GR8 style silhouette is covered with a microfiber suede material. ...
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
Description:
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
The Dressage Competition Saddle Pad is just the ...
Description:
The Dressage Competition Saddle Pad is just the right combination of class, glitz, and innovation! This premium pad features glittering piping set with additional rhinestone along the quilting. The functional fiber lining ensure breathability. And most importantly the 8mm foam ...
Tailored Sportsman's proven quality and style at an ...
Description:
Tailored Sportsman's proven quality and style at an affordable price. Four way stretch fabric with Tailored Sportsman's signature relaxed fit in a lightweight washable fabric. 73% cotton, 20% polyamide, 7% elastane. 1" wide waistband. Classic European leg seams, front zip, ...
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest ...
Description:
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level ofProtection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated toProtect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic logo is positioned ...
Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
Description:
Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8 Leather Look the latest choice in equestrianProtective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8 requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbialProtection against sweat and ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Airowear Outlyne Body Protector is rated 4.53125 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Felt Safe! I've honestly only used my vest once since I got it in March (been a rough summer). The first time I ordered it, it was very short and with the help of a SmartPak rep I determined I needed to order the long style. I don't have an exceptionally long torso, so I'm curious how the other style(s) would fit anyone. For my first (and so far only) cross-country schooling, it felt snug, and safe. I was a nervous wreck, and at times it felt a little too constricting, but I know I'd rather feel that way then the other way around (and I may have continually tightened it throughout the day...). But I love it, and can't wait to REALLY try it out.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you are Hard to Fit , This is your vest ! Worth every penny. I was exhausted after looking and trying to find a safety vest that would feel and fit me comfortably. This vest is the answer. Short with a short waist ..not a problem. I have to admit it seemed like it was to thick at first but it does soften up once in warmer temps too. I'm a fair weather rider only so I do not know how it feels in cold weather.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this vest! I have tried many to get the right one. First the cheap version which never softened and felt like a board. Then the Tipperary, which while looks great and is comfortable, did not protect much in a fall. Ribs are STILL sore, grrr... I then ordered the CO Kontakt, which is a nice vest but felt too bulky to me and hard to soften even with body heat. Last, I ordered the Airowear Outtlyne. Oh my gosh, I love this. It gets soft fast and is comfortable. It is better for a woman's build, but not if really busty . I am a C and I have to squish the sides when I zip it up to kind of shape it to me, and then it's great. Very comfy, can forget it's there. A huge difference from the CO to this is that under the arm, the CO just crossed all the materials - full thickness. Where the Outlyne crosses itself under the armpits, it is half thickness, so in crossover it's just one full thickness, rather than a double thickness as the others have been. Makes a HUGE difference in comfort - I can actually put my arms down, lol. I will say that is it hot in warm weather, but they pretty much all are. My husband calls it my bullet-proof vest, but I really am happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this vest! I was really worried about buying a protective vest without trying it on...but SmartPak is awesome and has free return shipping so I thought I would give it a shot instead of driving two hours to the nearest tack store and they may or may not have what I want. This vest meets all my needs as a beginning low level eventer. I take my lessons in it now and next year will compete in it. It fits great, and once it warms up (its takes about 15 min for it to mold to you...I wear it while I am tacking up to do so), I dont even notice I have it on. A long sleeve shirt and a thin windbreaker fit under it just fine, but anything heavier than that, you should wear it over the vest, its more comfortable. I am 5'9" and weigh about 155 lbs. For a size reference, my underbust is about 36" and bust is about 38" (a smallish B cup) and the L4 fits me just great....I am able to adjust it to be snugger without the panels hitting each other and then the vest being too loose. Nothing worse than a vest being too loose and you have a fall and your vest slides out of place! Its long enough for me without hitting the saddle cantle in back, and just sneaks past my bottom rib in front, which is just right. Plus, its Beta 3 tested, which is about as good as you can get, I think. So whatever level my horse and I reach together...this vest is good for it! Get this, you wont regret it!
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems great bought this vest a month ago and liked the fit and adjustability when I tried it on. It's a bit thick under the arms when tightened, but I didn't notice this at all when I rode in it. I imagine the thickness is a benefit when it comes to safety. I went XC at training level with no issues regarding the vest.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some good, some bad I found the vest to be very flexible, especially for my larger busted frame. The vest adjusted in all the correct places. Biggest flaw (and reason for return) was the vest was quite short, even though I ordered a long. I really wish it had been longer!
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One awesome protector Bought this for my daughter, 45. Had no idea which to get of the many offered. Talked with Jamie ( my rep) and this was what she suggested. So far, she has done a superb job with advise.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I was hesitant at first to purchase this vest. I figured I could order it try it on and if I didn't like it I could send it back. I fell in love with this vest when I tried it on. It fits very nicely. It's not very bulky at all and conforms very nice to your body once it warms up. I feel more secure in this vest than my tipperary. Very happy I went with this vest!
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels Solid I train and compete Arabs for endurance racing and recently incurred a grade 3 separated shoulder after being dumped from a young horse. I decided (after several such incidents) that it's time for some extra protection and chose this vest as it appeared to be designed to withstand some tough treatment and it's certified. I tried it for the first time this week and am very pleased with overall fit and feel. I like the amount of adjustment that's available as I'm 5'8" and very skinny so it's often difficult to get things that fit. I bought an L3 slim regular and it fits great. (I have a 34" inseam so most of my height is there.) It will take some getting used to the bulk under the arms but once the foam reaches body temperature it's not too bad. This is one of the more expensive vests, but it looks to be well worth the money for the extra peace of mind.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from awkward but effective I'm keeping it as I think it is the safest thing to ride in when my horse is having one of his "Mr. Hyde" days, but...I like to ride with my arms close to my body -- the wrap-around layers that overlap under the arm prevent me from doing this. Sitting the canter doesn't work so well either.I see the pictures in the brochures with the woman stretching in a close-fitting vest. Me not so much. It's supposed to be shaped for a woman, but possibly a flat-chested woman. I'm 38-30-38 and the fit is not at all what I'd hoped.Bottom line? If you're not too curvy it will probably be everything you want it to be. Not as comfy as a tipperary, but with a lot more safety. I have fallen off in it once -- flat on my back -- and was absolutely uninjured. If you hadn't seen me on the ground you'd never know I'd come off! LOL!!
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not good if you need the short back model. So the BP appears to be very well made, and is reasonably comfortable once warmed up. Sizing is the only reason I gave it 4 stars....I have a short torso and could not get this adjusted so it would stay put. It kept creeping up above C7, which kinda wierded me out from the standpoint of falling like that.Sent a pic to the manufacturer, and they agreed that I really needed the short back model - which isn't available in the States.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No way Heavy, stiff, clumsy. i cannot imagine riding in this!
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this vest I wore this for a week straight to make sure it was what I wanted- jumping, hacking out, dressage, and just plain old flatwork. I feel very safe in it and after a few minutes don't even realize I'm wearing it. I'm 5'9", 145 lbs and the medium was a great length and fit for me.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too Late! This a serious vest. It'll be challenging to wear it in South Florida in 95 degree weather come summertime. It's solid, and very well-built. Seems to cover the critical areas. Can't say for sure how comfortable it is to ride in, cuz I can't ride due to several fractured ribs from the last time I fell from my horse. Wearing this jacket is far better than this endless waiting time to get back in the saddle. Sigh.,,
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough but Hot After a fall landed me in the ER, I reluctantly put on this vest that I had purchased awhile back. Yes, it fits, and I don't notice any lack of mobility when I'm riding/jumping. Its just that I just boil in it. There is no air-flow, I am drenched when I get off my horse and fatigue much faster because of I'm overheated, even though I am very fit-but when its 80 degrees at 10 am, I have to look for another solution. Sigh. I only recommend this if you don't live in warm climes.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Protection This offers wonderful protection and great fit options. I like all of the adjustments especially in the bust and shoulder area. One I get it on, I really don't even realize that I'm wearing it and it in no way impedes my movement or range of motion. Just wish the price tag wasn't quite so hefty...
Date published: 2011-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! I just received my vest and it is very substantial and hardy! The foam on the inside becomes much more pliable with your body heat and it literally conforms perfectly to my body. The outside is a tough exoskeleton that completely deflected my husband's punch... no, no... I asked him to do it! Better that, than falling off my horse to test it! I am 5'6'' and 135 lbs. and the XS fits me snugly. My chest measurement was at the very maximum of the size chart range, but I believe the S would be too big, and I was correct. Once zipped and worn for several minutes... fits like a glove. The velcro on the sides makes the vest very adjustable. I am glad I invested the money in this piece of safety equipment. I never know when this vest may become "PRICELESS"!
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooooooooooo good I love it, love it I feel safe and comfortable with it after fews minutes I don't even realise I wear it.
Date published: 2011-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth buying I have just bought an Airowear Body Protector and wore it for the first time today. I ride many horses for other people and used it on different horses of varying heights etc. I found it lightweight and comfortable. BECARFUL when bying a body protector. I was in the UK and went to a tack shop where I was properly fitted for the body protector. At first I thought it was too small as I felt a bit crushed but after wearing it for a while I got use to it. I am small 5ft and weigh approx 110lbs. There were more sizes to choose from and I have a L3 short. I have read the other reviews and the lady that sent hers back to get a bigger size was probably because not all the sizes are available over here. Its so important to get the right size so it might be worth mail ordering from the UK. Also the more you wear the proector and your body warms up it will loosen up a little with the heat from your body just like your riding hat does. As odd as it may seem I cant wait to fall off to really test how protected I will be. In the tack shop there were many choices of body protectors available from over brands but this is the best for women.
Date published: 2010-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant vest! I used to be a Tipperary only person because every solid vest I had tried either was too stiff and I couldn't move or it was like a turtle shell. I needed a new vest so I began looking into "safer" vests on the market, and I kept coming back to this vest. After I saw SmartPak had it, I ordered one and it is fabulous. I really didn't know what to expect, but my hopes were exceeded as far as comfort goes.Unfortunately, I am between sizes and after wearing it decided I need a size up, so I will be returning it for a bigger size. It was my fault though.I am absolutely stunned I liked this vest and found it totally "wearable" after it warmed to my body.
Date published: 2010-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vest, Lil awkward for me though. This vest is fantastic but i think it's a little more bulky on me then it would be on most. I am 5'1", 100lbs, short torso Petite upper body. I ordered the smallest size a teen large. I had to put this on the tightest shoulder adjustments otherwise i could fit my hand plus some behind my shoulder blade. Since i have to make it so tight the material overlaps more making it bulkier in the shoulders. I feel that I look like I am carrying a tank on my back, but it's at least comfortable and I know that it's going to keep me safe. It gives quite a bit and is very flexible at the lower back. It would probably look nicer on someone that didn't have to adjust the shoulders as much. I do like that i have many optioins to adjust where i want to. I do have bigger hips in comparison to the rest of me so it's nice i was able to make the vest looser there, but tighter around my no bust/waist. This is a great vest and is thus far my favorite out of the few that i have own... Flex rider and charles owen. I like the flexibility of movement and adjusting options.
Date published: 2010-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't fit tall women Over the past six months I have fallen twice at small jumps and both times I hurt my ribs. After the last fall I decided to purchase a vest. I did alot of research and found that the Outlyne was the safest and incorporated the latest technology. Unfortunately the vest does not fit me (I ordered a medium). It is too big around and too short. I tried every way possible to adjust the velcro and it just wasn't going to work. I am 5' 10", 39" chest, 33" waist which would normally be a size large in a jacket or other clothing. So if you are tall like I am look for another vest that offers a tall size and even if you are not you should size down from what you would normally purchase. I am thinking about buying the Tipperary but it does not conform to the BETA 3 standards.
Date published: 2009-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Choice I sold my Tipperary and bought the Outlyne. Why? The Tipperary is comfortable and has the sporty dominatrix look that is a kick but I want the best protection available. I already suffered a back broken in three places along with a broken leg and foot when a mountain lion tried to dine on a friesian I was riding a year ago. NOTHING would have prevented the back injury because of the way I landed but my helmet saved my life. My husband and son researched vests (along with everything else they could think of) and encouraged me to order the Outlyne. It looks like a bruiser when you pull it out of the box. I ride on trails with it and can go back to the arena and do dressage work just as easily. It does not get in the way of me, my saddle or my horse. I can move without restriction. It fits well with all the adjustments. I have small bones and and a chest that made the measurement front to back at the waist WAY off. The adjustments allowed me to get the pieces where they need to be. I wear a small in both the Tipperary and the Outlyne. If you want a vest that is as protective as they get and still be able to move, this is a great choice. The bottom line, however, is to buy the one you will wear. These don't do a bit of good if you refuse to wear them, cut off parts or use other reasons to leave them home. I did not think I was going to like riding in this but it has more than exceeded my expectations for comfort. Kuddos to the photographer for making the model look good! You would not think that possible looking at it in the box. It is. Do your research and decide what level of protection you want. Wear the vest and your helmet and go have fun.
Date published: 2009-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outlyne Body Protector Bought this vest after reading "wows" on Endurance chat: "Ridecamp. ' I was willing to spend the big bucks because of the highest level certification from two different certifying entities. I've ridden in it a few times now. Its bulkiness is easily forgotten once I'm on my horse and working with her. I like the many means of adjusting the fit both horizontally & vertically. In fact, yesterday, after having ridden in it several times, I brought it home and completely refitted it to myself after having read the instructions for fit for the first time (a worthwhile read). I'm 5'4.5" and 145#'s. The seller tried to get me to take a size small but I"m always a women's medium so went with that & it's perfect. Having ruptured my spleen 6 years ago in a serious horse wreck, I've been very fearful about riding and am counting on this added protection to assist me in getting back out on the trails I love with my dear horses. My hope is that it never comes to testing the vest.
Date published: 2009-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind 6 weeks ago I had a bad riding accident with 2 broken ribs and a bruised lung. I ordered the vest to help prevent such an injury in the future. Unfortunately I have not ridden in it yet as I am not well enough to do so. It fits great and is well made . I can't wait to wear it. I bought 2 so I could try for size and send one back. Even though they are "ladies" vests my husband tried the bigger one and it fit great. He has been using it ever since and loves it!! He has been riding less experienced horses since my fall and it gives us both peace of mind.
Date published: 2009-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timely Purchase Having recently broken ribs in a fall I thought I should probably get a protective riding vest. I researched and thought that the Airowear Outlyne Body Protector would be the best. I'm happy with the fit, construction and level 3 certification. At first, when I received the vest I thought, "I can't wear this!" but my first ride in it was great and our second ride was even better, it's not heavy and it did not interfere with the saddle and I really feel good about this purchase, I don't think I'll ride without it. Things happen and if I can avoid a broken bone I'm happy with that! Thank you Smartpak. The Smartpak Customer Service was great, I had a bunch of questions and they answered everything, love them! Thank you Smartpak!
Date published: 2009-09-14
  • 2016-09-30T12:58CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_7161, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders