Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Absorbine Liniment Gel

- Item #11335
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Same trusted Absorbine liniment in a super-convenient gel. Relieves the pain and swelling of joints and muscles due to minor injuries, over exertion, and arthritis. Stimulates blood flow to the area applied. Eases fatigued muscles, joints, and tendons. 12 oz gel and 3 oz travel size.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Favorite Features

  • Relieves muscle and joint pain
  • Alleviates arthritis pain
  • Easy to apply
  • Comes in two different sizes

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat poultice ...
Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat poultice Is a highly regarded formulation of premium clays and choice earthen materials carefully blended with aromatic essential oils and select absorbent agents to remove heat, swelling and pain. A silky smooth drawing ...
Arnica, rosemary, menthol andfrankincense resin relax and rejuvenateboth ...
Arnica, rosemary, menthol andfrankincense resin relax and rejuvenateboth horse and rider and benefit the whole musculature. Works in two-fold fashion: firsta refreshing cool-down effect, followed by a soothing deeply penetrating warmth. Made in Germany.
RefreshMint is a natural body wash and brace ...
RefreshMint is a natural body wash and brace that safely cuts through tough dirt, grime, and sweat and leaves the coat clean and shiny with no soapy residue. RefreshMint's unique blend of Spearmint, Menthol, Witch Hazel, and all-natural grain alcohol ...
Reward you and your horse with relaxing aromatherapy ...
Reward you and your horse with relaxing aromatherapy while gently soothing sore muscles and tendons. The Absorbine Botanicals Concentrate quickly cools, soothes, and refreshes with 12 herbs and essential oils, including Aloe Vera and Arnica. Simply mix 1/3 oz with ...
Fungasol Spray is your quick and easy solution ...
Fungasol Spray is your quick and easy solution bacterial and fungal skin conditions. This leave on water based spray has been shown helpful for treating rain rot, ringworm, wound bacteria, girth itch and more! Contains Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf (tea Tree) ...
Betadine Solution is a topical, water-based antiseptic microbicide ...
Betadine Solution is a topical, water-based antiseptic microbicide used to kill bacteria, fungi and viruses. With povidone-iodine. 16 oz. Use Betadine Solution full strength for: Preoperative prepping of skin and mucous membranes. Preventing bacterial infection. Emergency antisepsis of minor lacerations, ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Absorbine Liniment Gel is rated 4.773333333333333 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on the Horse I bought this for my horse who has chronic back problems. It is simple to apply and thick enough it does not easily run off her back. I can apply it several days in a row without any skin issues. It is my "go to" liniment gel for my horse!
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! I'm very happy with this liniment. My horse and I love it and think it works very well.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major reaction :( My horse had a severe reaction to this product. We used it only for a few days, and then she got majorly sensitive and at first I did not know what was going on. I accidently used it for a couple more days, and then a major reaction happened-A Red very sore rash broke out. I threw half the bottle away. I do not want that happening to my horse again. Right now she is getting better. But one spot on her leg was so dried out from the rash that it cracked and bled for a little bit and it was a pretty tiny crack, but still this linament caused my horse pain, more pain than the soreness we had been battling. I am never getting or using this particular product again. My horse can be sensitive, but the ingredients are not too good neither. For there is propelyn glycol in it. That is anti-freeze. Would you knowingly put anti-freeze on your horse's body to soak in through the skin? I for one, will not ever again! I wish I had a photo to show you, but I promise this is true. I may try a different type of linament later, but only if it has completely different ingredients.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be without Absorbine Gel! Love the Absorbine Gel - stays where you put it! Easy to apply and doesn't run off the leg like liquid does.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product My horse has sore stifles. This product is great to be used year round. The gel makes it easy to put on and he seems to enjoy the relief it offers from soreness. I have put it on myself and it is like BenGay for horses! I wish it was a little bit cheaper but the bottle does last me a good amount of time as I only use it after hard workouts or when he seems extra sore.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this product! I been buying this gel for a couple of months now and love using it after a hard exercise, it really seems to bring the heat out of my horses joints!
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Absorbine Liniment Gel is one of my favorite products. I use it on my horse's legs and stifles before we ride, especially in the winter months. It helps him loosen up and keeps him comfortable. It is a quality product, one that I am proud to say is American-made.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I like this product and use it after I work my horse. He seems to the relieve that he feels once it starts working.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! My horse has had arthritis in his back hocks for a long time. I became his owner a little while ago. I wanted to take his pain away. He walked stiff legged, and drug his one hoof, he couldnt bend his leg to raise it off the ground. After applying the linament to his hocks daily for a week, I began to see a difference in him. He was moving so much better bending his legs and raising both hooves when he would take steps. His eyes were brighter and I could see his pain was so much better. He was even trotting around just for the fun of it! It was so wonderful seeing him feeling better.
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I bought his to help with my horses sore muscles and am using it also to help with stocking up in his back legs while he is on stall rest. This product has a wonderful scent and does the job. My horse is so relaxed after I have used this on him.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works on arthritic hocks I have a gelding with arthritis in his back right hock. He is always uncooperative at trim time. His last trim, I was going to give him some Bute-Less the day before and day of his trim, but I forgot, so I rubbed in some Absorbine gel instead about 1/2 an hour before the farrier arrive. He was an angel for her, and she wanted to know what was different. Applying Absorbine gel will now be part of our pre-trim ritual.
Date published: 2015-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Careful! Caused by horse to blister. I applied this to my horse's back and girth area after making sure that she was dry and well cooled after a lesson and the next day her back and girth area were very swollen and tender to the touch. A few days later, all her skin is peeling off in the areas where it was applied and her back is still slightly swollen. I got some of this liniment on my own skin and did not think it felt exceptionally strong but it was clearly too much for my mare. I would recommend using this product on a small area to test for sensitivity before using a large amount. I gave this product a fair rating because it was easy to apply and smells nice. I also know of people who have used it without incident.
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this gel about a month ago. I wanted something that would help sooth my mare's muscles after riding whether it be a pleasure ride or more of a training ride. I love this product and use it after every ride. I definitely think it is legit, and has helped her back. It says to use to product 3 times per day, which I haven't been able to do. However I still think it has benefits being used one time per day based on what I've seen. Highly recommend, easy to use and not messy
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the gel! Have been using this product for awhile- love how you can more easily distribute the gel than the liquid.
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horse and human! I bought this for myself and my horse. It's great for both of us!
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absorbine Liniment Gel I bought this product a month ago. I really love this gel opposed to the liquid. Much easier to apply to the designated area in gel form. and much less goes to waste. Absorbine Liniment Gel will be my choice from now on !
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to liniment I have this in my brush box at all times- I use it after particularly strenuous rides and put it in my horse's back legs when I know he will not get out of his stall for a while. I can feel the tingling in my hands after I put it on my horse, so I know it's working! The gel makes it convenient, and it smells amazing. This is a must have product for me
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best liniment easy to travel and easy to use This is the only Liniment I buy. Its super easy to throw in the horses travel bags. After a hard work I rub on the legs after hosing. Its also great to help with horses who stock up when stalled. love it.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for minor muscle pain We have used this for a while and we are always happy with the results
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Stuff My mare tends to stock up if not cold hosed after hard workouts.. This stuff smells and works great. Plus, no stocking up in the stall!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and SMELLS great! I have been buying this liniment for over three years now, and I will never buy any other liniment again! I have used this on a constantly stiff senior, and they never came out stuff while I used this! I also use it on a younger horse, about 8, and never have I once felt her come out stiff! Over all, works amazingly and not to mention it smells like spearmint which is a huge relief after all the liniments I have tried that smell horrid!
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to apply I have used the regular Absorbine liniment for years and always end up overpouring and losing a lot of the liquid before it makes it to the horse's leg, so I decided to try the gel. It is much easier to apply but doesn't seem to be quite as strong--I can feel that the heat it creates on my hands isn't as intense as with the liquid.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product to have on hand I use this frequently, after hard workouts, if my horse bangs a leg (he has a habit of kicking himself), etc. It is great to have on hand and a good value. I prefer Sore-No-More under wraps, and this if I am not wrapping or rubbing down something like hocks.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absorbine Liniment Gel I love this gel! It is the only one I use and it helps my 26 year old gelding feel good after a long trail ride or show day. It helps swelling to go down and relieves his old joints pain.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it!! love love love this!!! I've used it for 8 years or more I love this. my grandpa even uses it on his arthritis
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this liniment Easy to apply on all areas of the horse's body. Great smell and horse doesn't act uncomfortable after application. Makes my hands feel wonderful too!
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great this is a great linimentit is a great price, works great, and smells nice
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent before or after rides I love the gel formula of this liniment. I use it both before and after rides, depending on the horse. I love using it under the saddle for a horse that might be a little sore, and it's great for after riding on the back and the horse's legs. Excellent product and a great price.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learned a New Trick I am old school. I'm celebrating my 45th year w/horses. I've used Absorbine from the time that I got my first mare 40 years ago; it was still sold in a glass bottle! I've continued to use the Absorbine liquid throughout the years w/no interest in the gel. The last time I was at the local tack store all they had was the gel, I needed some so I reluctantly bought it. This winter one of my mares has had a recurring muscle ache problem. The Absorbine gel has been perfect--easy to use, NO waste, and I got little to no fidgeting out of this mare as I applied it, the way she would when I'd use the liquid. I'm hooked. Not only is Absorbine gel an excellent product to use for aches and pains, it has always helped my mares, but the gel, in my opinion is a much more effective and efficient product to use.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gel! I've used many different liniments when my horse has had sore muscles, this stuff works very fast and smells great!
Date published: 2013-03-30
  • 2016-10-23T11:58CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_1335, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders